We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I can only dream about”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
From the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gryphonmo...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I can only dream about”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Koali Ranch was the best part of our honeymoon.. its worth every bit of the drive from Kahului to Hana. We started driving off from Kahului at about 4pm but luckily we reached the cottage at 7pm and passed most of the windy roads before sunset. It was not easy to find really.. as the GPS doesn't recognise the full address given,you will have to rely on the instructions given by the hosts to get to your destination. It's about 5miles away from Hana town where food , gift shops and a general store is available. Eating out can be expensive but luckily the cottage has everything you need to cook except the food. There is also a dvd player , cd player, flat screen tv and a selection of books including travel guides for those who have not planned enough. You'll wake up to cows eating grass and waves splashing against the rocks. The view here is picture perfect at any time of the day. At night you'll get lotsa insects on the lanai, if you really hate beetles then this might not be the place for u.

Hamoa beach, Waianapanapa state park, Kipahulu are all within 30min drive from the cottage. I will suggest to stay at least 3 nights to enjoy the surronding this place has got to offer. Stock up essentials before you head to Hana, Hasagewa General Store only sells beef and a small selection of vegs.. but you can get canned food, drinks, ice cream, toiletries readily from there. I will definitely stay there again if i have the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: flies in the bathroom, the cd always
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholle
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the best place to stay in Hana for the price”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third overnight stay in Hana and by far the best. It was so quiet and serene and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the pasture, complete with bulls, cows, horses, goats and the ocean.
Liked least: The 'boom box' kept skipping or turning off when you walked across the room without tiptoeing.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeniciaTr...
Benicia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Koali Ranch Cottage is an ideal Hana area rental for two people.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in a number of rental properties in Hana over the past ten years or so, and this is by far our favorite. As soon as we stepped out onto the deck with the sweeping view of the peaceful pasture and the ocean beyond, we were hooked. I could have just sat and relaxed with a good book and a glass of wine. And the sunrise, with the light at a perfect angle on the green grass of the pasture?...WOW!... Got some great pictures! But the location is perfect for a trip to Kipahulu or the wonderful beaches near Hana, Hamoa Beach and the Red Sand Beach. It is well equipped with a complete kitchen, wonderful tiled shower, and even a flat screen TV with
many channels. We will definitely be back, next time hopefully for more than three nights. We just loved it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: View, location, peacefulness
Liked least: can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesbe...
Monterey, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Thankfully we decided to spend two nights in Hana instead of simply doing the drive there and turning around to head back to more populated parts of the island.

We did have a bit of an issue finding the property (we ended up going to the residence just past the cottage), but once we found it, we were blown away by the view. The second you walk in, you will be greeted by a sweeping view of the coast and farm. Yes, it is as good as it gets.

Overall we found it to be very clean, a nicely stocked kitchen, and a wonderful place to enjoy either a meal or drink. Two nights is the minimum you should consider doing -- four probably would have been perfect.

Thanks for sharing this piece of heaven with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The fact we were only there two nights!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal61...
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adorable Cottage”
Reviewed February 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We overnighted in Hana from Kihei and stayed at this cute little cottage for one night. It was homey and clean and perfect. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Layout of cottage
Liked least: Lots of bugs on deck at night - can't do anything about that tho'!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
life_love...
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy and Inviting.”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We loved this charming little place. The pictures online make it seem really far from the ocean, which really isn't the case. If it weren't for having to navigate past a bull (who 'seemed' friendly) and some cows, you could actually walk to the water pretty easily. The view is breathtaking and the lanai is so private and cute. The cottage itself is adorable. We loved the clean white-washed charm with the bright green quilt and art. It was so cozy. We wished we had more than one night there. The pantry is also full of items that you might need when cooking but don't want to buy a whole thing of at the store. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. The best parts were the details! They left a bouquet of fresh flowers, plus fresh flowers in the bathroom, in the shower, by the bed (so welcoming!) plus a bowl of fresh fruit. The shower was really nice and they have the best soap in there; it's local, natural and smells amazing, this was the first time I have taken soap with me from a room, ever. We were also greeted with a nice "welcome" letter which told us to "just enjoy" ourselves. We also loved the cows (that part we weren't sure about going in.) They just quietly mooed the day away and it was relaxing to watch them relax in the shade and munch on grass. Then at night they went to wherever cows go at night. They weren't even back in the late morning, which allowed for a great sleep-in after a day checking out the local splendor. There were also a lot of cute, little geckos on the lanai (obviously attracted by the light we had on.) So lots of new friends to be had!
Overall, we loved it here. Charming, cozy, beautiful view and we just felt very welcomed. Oh, and we showed up about 3 hours early for check-in and the cleaning lady graciously let us in early, she was very nice. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness, charm and welcoming staff.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graceisen...
Volcano, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This is why they say Hana is heavenly”
Reviewed November 9, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
6
people found this review helpful

We opened the door and I just cried - this lil' cottage is SO beautiful. If there was ever something wrong with this place, my heart is sad for that reviewer's experience. THIS IS PARADISE for us. I got up and watched every sunrise with the horses and cows in the pastureland just below. Once there were a few cows that came very close and we were entertained for more time than we'd like to confess. Everyday we found the ocean and played and swam and enjoyed the slower pace on this side of Maui. One night we went to the grocery store and came back and lumbering down the other side of the road was a HUGE bull. The only time we didn't have a camera. There was a local in a pickup not far behind and my husband asked, "did you lose something?" and he said, "No, it's one of the neighbors." We decided you can take that both ways in Hana. Speaking of beef, buy some local meat and grill it up - here we are living in the midwest and we found THE BEST hamburger we have ever had at Hasegawa's in Hana. Crazy, huh? Must be the grass - you'll never see healthier animals than on the rangeland in Hana. The cottage had everything we needed and the nicest touch was some homemade soap by someone from Upcountry Maui. If we wanted for anything it might have been a second set of beach towels, but that is because we were always going to the beach. Most of our meals we cooked at the cottage - we did not have problems with bugs, but I've been to Hawaii lots and so we kept things in ziplock bags, cleaned up crumbs and kept fruit in the fridge. That's another sweet thing the owners provide - a basket with fresh fruit (even an avocado.mmm) and a small banana bread. I can see why someone thought the bed was a bit smaller than a queen size, but I don't think it is a double - it was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. We hiked into the "Venus Pools" and I got eaten alive by the bugs - I'm including a picture though because it is this beautiful and not far from the cottage. We also found a waterfall and I swam in the pool by the side of the road - we got there before anyone, including the barrage of vendors that set up their wares by the side of the road. Because you are staying on the Hana side you can take time to experience all the beauty that you rush through when you make the drive from the other side. Nahiku was beautiful and we hiked down and over to Hui Aloha church after visiting Oheo Gulch. We barely beat the crowds to Wainapanapa and Oheo Gulch, but that was because we treasured our mornings at the cottage. The Kahanu Gardens seem to charge a lot for a walking tour ($10 each), but to see a huge heiau and think about the rich history that we so often miss was worth it. I did cry when we closed the door to drive back to other side of Maui - we did not expect to fall in love with this little place, but we did. We are both thinking we need to save our pennies and stay longer here and less time on the "crowded side" of the island. We "splurged" on four nights, but it will be at least seven next time 'round. Mahalo nui loa for sharing this slice of heaven with the rest of us. We are forever grateful for our time at Koali Ranch Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace, the place - everything
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing