We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay”
Review of Hana Bay Hale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Bay Hale
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Hana Bay Hale Ocean View Sweets
[--]
The wife stayed and I overnight when it was to late return to Lahaina at night. We relaxed completely at the cottage. Price is nice

1  Thank Seidomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Hana Bay Hale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

Arrived directly from the airport on Friday night and stayed 2 nights. It was dark when we arrived and we were having a heck of a time with the front door. Called the number given and they were very nice about the tricks to the sticky door. I picked this place because it had king beds in each of the 2 bedrooms. The bedrooms were kinda plain but very functional with dresser, 2 nightstands and comfortable bed. The air flow through the entire suite was wonderfull. All the floors are wood and with all the screens/windows open you could feel a bit of dust on bare feet. The kitchen was well appointed with everything we needed. The bathroom was a bit unusual. The first door led to the sink and toilet. A secondary door led to the room with the skylighted shower. Showering was a bit tough for my husband and his bad back. There were no places in the shower to place shampoo or soap. They either went on the floor or on the little cabinet outside the shower itself. The deck/lanai is very spacious with a lounge chair, outdoor table with 4 chairs, side table with 2 additional chairs, grill and jacuzzi. Due to the outside temperature we never tried to get all 4 of us into the jacuzzi. That might have been a tight fit but DH took a soak and loved it.

The property is indeed across the street from Hana Bay but you cannot see the road through the nice bushes planted right out front. The area directly across the street from the suite did not contain any buildings. OK - it became a running joke with us - but there are power lines in front of the building. Did they block the view? Come on - it's 3 lines a total of about 2 inches. They didn't disturb us one bit. Didn't see a single gecko or citter in the unit which kinda surprised me. I expect this staying anywhere in Hana. Location is less than 5 minutes drive to Hana Bay Beach Park and the Hotel Hana. Would rent this place out again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

It was ok. We couldn’t ask for more with that price. $198 a night for the 4 of us.

I wasn't very comfortable. They ask you to not wear shoes in the room but the floor was pretty dusty and filthy, difficult to relax walking on barefoot like that. The bathroom was disappointing, black spots on cracks around the bathtub. One night we did not have hot shower. I suspect it was because the water was heated by solar energy and that day rained all day.

Cooking was a bit difficult also because they provided a electric heating stove. Boiling water took forever.

There were quite a few geckos in the room, which were fascination until the droppings started coming down from the ceiling. Actually, just twice but one landed on my brother's leg.

We didn’t have many choices. Everything else we would had to book 2 rooms which could cost way too much.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lprisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I was looking for a place on the water with a nice view of the bay. We were very disappointed when we found the place across the street and the view blocked by a dozen power lines and quite a bit of tree growth.

The photos on the website don't speak the truth.

I stayed in the middle deluxe unit. The place however, was very large, rooms kept nice, appliances nice, basic satellite TV & BBQ, Towels, a few old beach chairs, etc. The hot tub is doughoy style and bit funky and the motor loud.

Flys on the deck prohitied an outdoor dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TXB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We stayed here overnight on May 2nd. After reading through some of the negative reviews on this website, I feel the need to give our updated, balance review. We stayed in both of the one-bedroom units. The units were very clean, which we were pleased about. No evident mold, major dirt, etc. (and we are very picky about cleanliness). The vaulted ceilings and room layout were very nice. The views were also nice (not oceanfront, but still lovely). You can walk to the bay and other restaurants. Although the cabinets were older, they did not bother us as we did not do any major cooking in the rooms. If we stayed much longer and planned to cook a lot, then they may have bothered us more. The microwave, coffeemaker, small refrigerator, and dishes were enough to serve our purposes. We were very happy and pleased with our stay. One other note- the bedroom is sectioned off by a large room divider; so, if you are looking for utmost privacy between the bedroom and living room, t this will not suit your purpose. We really enjoyed our sunrise at the bay, then breakfast on our deck. Also, we had a 17-month old with us, and he was able to enjoy running around without concerns about childproofing issues. We will definitely be returning next time for more than a one-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank katinSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

I had a chance to stay in the 2 bedroom suite in March 2008. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the view was spectacular. It was a few minutes walk to either the beach in Hana or the general store. There is a full kitchen in the 2 bedroom unit, making it really convenient to enjoy all of the fresh fish available. Be forewarned that if you are looking for a deluxe resort experience with a turn down service, this may not be the place for you. The feeling you come away with is that you have a second home in Hana, and that you are always welcome.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Really-Happy-Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed here for the sole purpose of needing a place to crash after doing the road to Hana. The rates were reasonable: a one-bedroom “suite” for $220 including the extra cleaning fee for one night stays. The Kauiki suite was plenty spacious, and it had a nice hardwood floor and high ceiling with ceiling fans. There was a decent view of the ocean, it was across the street, and some trees and power lines were in the way but not too bad. No a/c but we sure didn’t need it. There is an outdoor deck that has a grill, we didn’t use it because it was raining. The furniture was nice and it was clean.
Now the cons: The kitchen and bathroom cabinets are very old and kind of peeling. The kitchen counter is about a foot long—not too convenient if you were making a real meal, but adequate for just making coffee and snacking. The sliding door that separates the bedroom from the living room has a few panels missing, thereby defeating the purpose of privacy. The TV is quite small and quite old. The parking is really tight—you only get one spot, right next to the spot for the 2 bedroom suite next door. When we got there, the other guests, who evidently had more than 1 car, were parked in our spot. We had to go over and knock on their door and ask them to move.
Something that really annoyed me was that there was a little hallway between our suite and the one next door, and there was just a flimsy door at the end of the hallway. The neighbors were noisy, and we heard it all. Also that little hallway had windows, but no blinds, and you could probably see clear into our living room area from outside at the right angle. Biggest gripe: the lock code to get in the door. I thought it was the code to the lock box for the key. Nope, it’s the code to the actual doorkknob. And from what I gather, it doesn’t change! Now I know it’s probably unlikely that anything would happen to you in Hana, but it didn’t feel very secure to me that potentially anyone who had ever stayed there could just unlock the door and walk in at any time. No deadbolt or chain from the inside either.
I’d say this was an adequate accomodation for the short time we were here. If staying more than one night, I’d probably book someplace nicer.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank sweethomechitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
45.2 km away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
748 reviews
75.9 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.6 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,565 reviews
3.6 km away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
40.5 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Bay Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Bay Hale

Address: Hana Bay, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hana
Price Range: $185 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hana Bay Hale Hotel Hana
Hana Bay Hale Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing