We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey, it's not that bad.”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I did lots of research of this hotel and quite frankly was a bit concerned that my travel agent had booked us there. Rude staff and bed bugs were the main reason. However, I saw none of that. The staff was friendly, always smiling and the breakfast was not only free, it was good. I'm sociable but doubt that that was the only reason I had such a fun time teasing the staff...right from the painters, maids and receptionists.
As I cyclist who rode 5 hard hours every day, I would have liked a more comfortable bed. The location was perfect as a central hub for riding and I will stay there next time I go to Maui. The rooms were large. Sure they were dated but I didn't pay $300 a night. For those who didn't enjoy their stay, I'm certain they wouldn't enjoy much of anything. We walked 1 1/2 blocks nightly to Whole Foods for cycling style food. The restaurant across the street was totally acceptable when our legs were too tired to walk.

Room Tip: Our room faced another part of the hotel but it was quiet. Next time I'd rather face the pool b...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_kosub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Maui Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

this hotel was in a good location,very clean,safe,free parking.Nice room,friendly staff,close to airport,good beaches local

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed 1 night at Maui Seaside Hotel (to be close to the airport) in a room in the tower section. The rooms are older and the accommodation is basic however everything was clean and tidy. The hotel is located on a busy main road and is walking distance to a local shopping mall which includes a food court, department store, cinema and other specialist shops. There is free internet access in the main reception area which was useful and the hotel itself overlooks the water. There is parking available at the hotel however they charge $5 per night and it is on a first come first serve basis.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Its a great location being in Kahului. The supermarkets are handy, every kind of food option is close by, the Queen something something mall is around the corner. the Airport is handy. You are close to the roads heading to Hana and also the road up Haleakala.

The place itself though is old and you feel it. The rooms and bedding is dated and it feels like anyone could just walk into your room from the windows. We asked for a ground level room because we had two young kids and a stroller and didn't fancy having to carry them from the car up stairs, but sadly we couldn't get a room upstairs.

But in saying that you get what you pay for and we got a great rate and it was so handy. We had breakfast at the coconut grill which was good and overall it was a pleasant stay. We justified it by saving on accommodation and then spending on a rental car so we were never in our room except for sleeping.

We did feel like we missed out on the maui beach feel though by not being around kaanapali.

Room Tip: Ground level room is handy because you don't have to lug your bags up stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreaks4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were very pleased with our experience at this hotel (7 nights). The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. They were able to recommend good local food and took great care to satisfy our needs (they even provided us with a microwave at no extra cost - all we had to do was ask).

The room was somewhat small, but it was clean and smelled fresh. There was some noise pollution from outside our room, but it wasn't too excessive. We had no problems with the shower and the room temperature control was excellent. The air conditioner and refrigerator worked quite well, as did the television. Free internet access was also provided via computers in the main lobby area.

The hotel itself is located on a beach in Kahului Bay. I wouldn't advise swimming at the beach, though, due to rough water and lots of fisherman activity. The hotel does charge for parking, but you can opt to park in a free lot adjacent to the hotel (about a 2 minute walk from the front desk). The free lot is located just east of the hotel near a used car dealership.

One significant drawback of the location was that there was a foul smell in the air during some of the mornings. The smell was akin to dog poop and permeated the entire town of Kahului. We asked a zip-line guide about the smell and he told us that we were likely smelling seaweed from the bay. He said that it sometimes washes ashore and gives off an unpleasant odor. The smell went away throughout the day and was only noticeable in the early morning.

We chose to stay at the Maui Seaside because it was inexpensive and conveniently located in the center of the island. Our drives to Hana and Haleakala were much shorter than they would have been had we stayed in West or South Maui. The hotel certainly wasn't glamorous, but overall, it met our needs quite nicely. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel wasn't the cleanest but for the budget it was an okay hotel. It was easy to get around with our rental car to all the places we wanted to go. Don't expect nice beaches in the vicinity though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here knowing it would be pretty budget but we flew in late and didn't want to spend money on a higher quality hotel for only being there for a few hours and we also didn't want to spend the evening driving around so we decided to stay here one night and we would do it again for another night. The staff are very friendly and check in was very efficient. The restaurant has good food and we ate dinner there in addition to having our breakfast be included. The room was clean and the airconditioning worked well. The bed left a lot to be desired. It was pretty small and the linens were of low quality. The shower was very refreshing after a long flight into Maui. Again, pretty budget but safe and comfortable and good enough for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanioVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.3 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
542 reviews
2.1 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
18.8 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
23.6 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
232 reviews
23.6 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: $178 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing