We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“just a cheap hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“just a cheap hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Somebody maybe is making money by cutting services to a minimum and running a bare bones hotel. If you need a bed to sleep in before taking a free shuttle to the airport, this place will do. I think they might could put a coffee pot in the lobby, so the folks catching early flights could have a cup, without impacting the overhead too much. It does have a nice little bar upstairs next to a cute little pool...except the bar is only open on weekends. There is a little patch of sand down by the ocean looking out on the harbor. Had to hike a quarter mile over to the grocery store to get something to eat on a weekday evening. I don't mind doing that kind of thing when I am on vacation, but I don't like having to.

Room Tip: upstairs has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Osc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    110
    188
    77
    60
See reviews for
96
202
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel for one night, 23 April 2012 before catching our flight at Kahului.

Our room was spacious and included a fridge, but no coffee maker. Unusually the room had both an air conditioner and WINDOWS THAT OPENED on to the attractive garden area below. Nice not to spend the night listening to a noisy air conditioner. The temperature on Maui is normally very pleasant day and night anyway and the fresh air was very welcome. Since our window faced the garden at the back of the hotel we also did not hear any traffic noise. There is a smallish pool adjoining the restaurant where breakfast is served.

The hotel is indeed on a beach, but a very small one, and it is on a harbour a couple of miles from port facitlities. It is further from the airport than I had expected - more like 3 miles than one, so it would be too far to walk with a suitcase. However, they have an efficient airport shuttle service in both directions so that is no problem. We had to walk about half a mile to one of the malls to find a restaurant for dinner since we arrived shortly before 9 p.m.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for a very nice overnight stopover. But for the experience of a Maui beach holiday this is not the place to stay. One should go to one of the hotels on the beautiful west coast beaches. However before booking at the Days Inn Kihei (as recommended by another reviewer) be sure to check out the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our room at the Maui Beach Hotel was about 4 times as large as those at Days Inn, and our view was better.

We enjoyed our short stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was a disappointing stay. What is touted as ocean view is a view of a shipping harbor, windows with broken seals, just a rundown feeling though very clean. If you are looking for economical with some ambiance, try the Days Inn in Kihei!!! Airport from Kihei is a piece of cake!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed one night before catching early flight.

This is a good priced hotel which has a free airport shuttle which runs 6am to 9pm but you need to book this early as it's quite small.
Also don't use the pay phones in Maui airport to call the shuttle as you'll waste your dollars as it never seems to connect you. Ask instead the information desk to call them or use your mobile phone.

There is a big shopping mall about 5 mins walk from this hotel which is very handy for eating out and doing a spot of last minute shopping.

Also it seemed when we were there that the hotel was running on the minimal amount of staff though there staff that are there were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is on 2 floors. We asked for a top floor room away from the car park and away from the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimboeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here one night waiting for my family to arrive at the airport the next day. The hotel was fine and the grounds are lovely. I have nothing negative to say about the room, it was clean and an adequate size. I chose it due to the airport shuttle service which worked great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveOmaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here just one night at the end of our trip to be near the airport. Big mistake! Since we have a child and a baby we asked for a room on the first floor that was easy to access with all of our luggage and gear we had to haul. The woman at the desk was very rude to my husband and she then put us on the top floor all the way on the back of the building. We couldn't even park near the door due to some trailers blocking half of the parking lot. Our room was really gross and outdated.
Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdxbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Upon arrival, the front desk person made rude comments about other guests to us.
There was leftover food from the previous guest in the mini-fridge.
The one ice machine for the entire hotel was on the opposite side of the building in the laundry room.
The bathroom was carpeted....with very dirty carpeting.
The key card did not work for the fitness center room so the same front desk person told me to go to the restaurant and call maintenance to get the lock fixed! I don't know. I guess I just didn't feel this was in my job description at $250 a night. I did it anyway.
After finally just running outside because I couldn't reach maintenance, I stopped by the front desk to charge a water to my room and the same front desk person said she was busy and to come back later. There was not one guest at the desk besides me.
The pool was closed for 4 hours on a Saturday for a baby's first birthday party!
I give this hotel one star for the SPECTACULAR VIEW we woke up to. After all, it IS Maui!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HomeGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.3 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
18.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
23.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
23.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing