We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aged but Good”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Aged but Good”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We didn't need anything fancy. Other family were staying here so we stayed here. It's an older hotel but it's a clean place to sleep. We got the hotel room with breakfast included. Made things a lot easier. The buffet had papaya ... loved it.

The front desk staff is not the most cheery or welcoming. Really, they are the first-line of representation so they should be smiling. I know it gets old, but that's their job. Now the rest of the staff is just GREAT! The staff in the breakfast buffet are so accommodating, smiley and friendly. How wonderful it was to see Edward and Estrelita's smiles every morning. Housekkeeping staff always greeted us with a "Hi" or "Good Morning".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    122
    201
    86
    67
See reviews for
107
226
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

No answer from the front desk so I walked to the lobby and was told "we're busy" with no one in line. Really? Your paperwork is more important than a calling customer? More important even than a customer in person??

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srfndad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

In need of a one night stay in Maui before our next flight to the Big Island of Hawaii my wife and I booked the Maui Beach Hotel several months ago at a reduced rate which included a morning breakfast. We soon learned upon arrival that the shuttle service they advertise would not pick us up at the airport. We arrived in Maui at 9:30 p.m. and the service stops at 9:00 p.m.. Yes, we had to take a taxi because there were no other services available. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very busy receptionist who was handling multiple duties at the front desk while checking us in. It was easy to see that the hotel was very large. It was located on a very busy street, in a commercial business area and within a couple miles of the airport. The rear of the complex is right on the ocean. If it were not for the tropical foilage around the facility it would look very old in need of immediate upgrades to justify the significant expense. Walking to our room the interior appearance was consistent with the outside of the building. As we arrived at our room we were pleased to see the "No Smoking" sign posted on the front door. Once inside the room we paused in disbelief at what we saw. Although seemingly clean in the dimness of the light the carpeting was old and full of cigarette burn marks. The bedspread, drapes and surrounding furniture also had burnmarks and badly stained with "whatever". The bright side was that it did not smell of burned tobacco. The room was big enough to fit our kingsize bed we requested and little more. There was barely enough room to walk on either side of the bed. The television was very small and perhaps ten or more years old. There was a small refrigerator and microwave unit in the television cabinet. Standing outside on our balcony we overlooked the main highway. Yes, it was very busy and noisy. We did not sleep well. When morning arrived we immediately went outside to enjoy the beautiful ocean and surrounding grounds. There was a beautiful gazebo and lawn area at the rear utilized for weddings. The ocean was steps away. After a short walk we went to the breakfast area and were greeted by a very warm and friendly staff. The buffet style breakfast consisted of both hot and cold choices. We sat in the open seating area off the swimming pool. Our breakfast was very good. The staff very attentive and friendly. After breakfast we were taken to the airport by a very friendly hotel shuttle driver. We do not expect to ever return to the Maui Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing a roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Somebody maybe is making money by cutting services to a minimum and running a bare bones hotel. If you need a bed to sleep in before taking a free shuttle to the airport, this place will do. I think they might could put a coffee pot in the lobby, so the folks catching early flights could have a cup, without impacting the overhead too much. It does have a nice little bar upstairs next to a cute little pool...except the bar is only open on weekends. There is a little patch of sand down by the ocean looking out on the harbor. Had to hike a quarter mile over to the grocery store to get something to eat on a weekday evening. I don't mind doing that kind of thing when I am on vacation, but I don't like having to.

Room Tip: upstairs has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Osc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel for one night, 23 April 2012 before catching our flight at Kahului.

Our room was spacious and included a fridge, but no coffee maker. Unusually the room had both an air conditioner and WINDOWS THAT OPENED on to the attractive garden area below. Nice not to spend the night listening to a noisy air conditioner. The temperature on Maui is normally very pleasant day and night anyway and the fresh air was very welcome. Since our window faced the garden at the back of the hotel we also did not hear any traffic noise. There is a smallish pool adjoining the restaurant where breakfast is served.

The hotel is indeed on a beach, but a very small one, and it is on a harbour a couple of miles from port facitlities. It is further from the airport than I had expected - more like 3 miles than one, so it would be too far to walk with a suitcase. However, they have an efficient airport shuttle service in both directions so that is no problem. We had to walk about half a mile to one of the malls to find a restaurant for dinner since we arrived shortly before 9 p.m.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for a very nice overnight stopover. But for the experience of a Maui beach holiday this is not the place to stay. One should go to one of the hotels on the beautiful west coast beaches. However before booking at the Days Inn Kihei (as recommended by another reviewer) be sure to check out the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our room at the Maui Beach Hotel was about 4 times as large as those at Days Inn, and our view was better.

We enjoyed our short stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was a disappointing stay. What is touted as ocean view is a view of a shipping harbor, windows with broken seals, just a rundown feeling though very clean. If you are looking for economical with some ambiance, try the Days Inn in Kihei!!! Airport from Kihei is a piece of cake!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed one night before catching early flight.

This is a good priced hotel which has a free airport shuttle which runs 6am to 9pm but you need to book this early as it's quite small.
Also don't use the pay phones in Maui airport to call the shuttle as you'll waste your dollars as it never seems to connect you. Ask instead the information desk to call them or use your mobile phone.

There is a big shopping mall about 5 mins walk from this hotel which is very handy for eating out and doing a spot of last minute shopping.

Also it seemed when we were there that the hotel was running on the minimal amount of staff though there staff that are there were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is on 2 floors. We asked for a top floor room away from the car park and away from the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimboeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.3 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,061 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
18.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
23.4 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,073 reviews
23.3 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing