We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

It really depends on the room you end up with as far as how nice they are. I stayed in an end unit that was not updated at all and Very pricey!! My sister and her husband had a room that was completely remodeled and it was the same price. I roomed with my cousins who had the bedroom on the street side of the condos and they said it was noisy. I got the hide a bed in living room. Very comfy for a pull out, plus the only noise was the waves. These are independently owned units and all decorated differently so it would be wise to browse the rooms on the website when making a decision to stay here. And be prepared to pay 2 to 3 hundred bucks a night. It's one of the only places right on the beach in Kihei so if that's a priority this place is great. My sis was getting married and wanted us all together or I probably could have settled for something more affordable.

Room Tip: make sure to look on website for a room that suits your needs. this place has a lot of older folks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarsh9235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    77
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
152
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Currently staying here...the unit is circa 1960--feels more like a Super 8 motel (and looks like it). The sofa or "sofa bed" is useless--the springs are felt while sitting on the cushions that list slumpl to the middle. I wouldn't even put a child on this bed. I did call the front desk and their suggestion is to write a letter so the owners will be prompted to upgrade. Irrelevant at this point. I understand the main beauty and draw to Maui is the beach, but it's equally important to feel comfortable, have a decent bed and have a clean unit. All of the furniture is low to the ground and hard (and very square). It's simply tired and outdated. Only wired Internet connections are available so bulky wires take up the precious dining room table space. The outdoors is fine and the beach is awesome...it is just unit #17.

Since everyone pays the same regardless of unit (and some are quite nice with upgrades, etc.)--keep looking. I hope this information is received as it is intended; updates are beyond needed.

MK Howell

Room Tip: Do not settle for unit #17
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MKHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Not the smartest condo we stayed in during our Hawaii trip but it was probably our favourite mainly for the location. There was nothing wrong with the condo (#19) just not up to the same standard as some others. From previous comments posted here it seems that the standard is variable. However for us the beach, sea, snorkelling, views, BBQ, proximity to shops and restaurants all combined to make this a great place to stay.

The condo was equipped with all the necessary. Meals were mostly cooked on the BBQ and eaten outside on the lanai – cool and great views! Good walk-in shower. AirCon only in the bedroom with fans in the living room and bedroom. The AirCon was noisy so we just used the fan at night.

For the best snorkelling turn left from the resort and walk to the rocks at the end of the first beach.

There is some road noise which could be a problem if you’re a light sleeper but the resort itself was quiet.

Like: beach, sea. Dislike: road and aircon noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent a week at HPH. Had a great room on the second floor of the low rise. Beautiful beach, warm ocean water. Well maintained facility, room is exactly as pictured on their web site.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay here and hopefully we will be back soon.
Took long hikes down the beach into other beaches and past other huge resorts, but the intimacy of HPH cannot be beat by what we saw on our hikes.

Room Tip: The web site has detailed info on each room,,I found this to be accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I must admit, the resort is in an ideal location. Not only very beautiful beach, manicured yard and ocean front, but within walking distance to many activities. The overall living unit was lacking. The bugs found in the kitchen were a bothersome, as well as the refrigerator constantly leaked and was not cared for when brought to the attention of hotel management. Also, it turns out there may have been bugs in other places, as during the trip our family was bitten. It turned out to be bedbugs, which ended up coming home with us, costing us thousands of dollars for extermination.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mj013112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

A group of us spent the week after Thanksgiving at the Hale Pau Hana resort--we loved it! It is a very quiet, safe resort with a real down-home feel. It is well maintained, and the staff is wonderful. ( I always got extra towel whenever I asked.) Within a few hours, we were all feeling the relaxation set in. The views were fabulous (we were in unit #26). Although the condo was just fine, I might request a different one next time (and there will be a next time!) just because the bedroom windows allowed some of the street noise to filter in. We played golf often and found it to be very reasonably priced. Not a real fancy place, but just so very comfortable, and very clean! There are many restaurants very close by from which to get excellent meals--we always just walked!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at unit #7 in summer of 2011. We rented the unit through VRBO and paid more than the going rate directly through the resort and we did not receive cleaning/towel service (resort room receive this service). The condo was so hot we could not spend time inside at all, cooking was not an option. The air conditioner in the bedroom was set so that if the bedroom door was open, the A/C would not turn on. The unit is located in the corner of the low rise building and is right next to a utility room that contains approximately 12 water heaters. This made the temp in the condo unbearable. The owners clearly spend much time in the unit as they have many built in cupboards that are locked. This left very little space for any food that we bought, clothing, or even our suitcases. The closet in the bedroom had a large locked plastic bin that took up the entire bottom of the closet and left virtually no hanging room for any of our clothes. The top of the closet was lined with locked cupboards. Unit 7 is advertised as having a bed in the main living area, which we assumed was a pull out sofa bed. This is not the case. It is a blow up mattress that is battery operated and did not work when we tried to use it. We bought new batteries thinking that that was the problem, but no such luck. There is hardly any space for anything that you may bring into this unit. We saw several other units in the low rise building which were much cooler, nicer and spacious. We would never stay in Unit 7 again.

Room Tip: This unit is so hot because of the location next to water heaters and the A/C is only in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anonymous39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,118 reviews
4.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.5 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
3.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.1 km away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing