We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Hot! Unit 122 ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waiohuli Beach Hale
Ranked #36 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Pros: Great location, great price, beautiful sunsets, comfortable pool, great gas BBQ, tons of frogs and geckos!
Cons: Too hot, loud window air conditioner (I wouldn't go so far as to say it's an air conditioner just a oversized fan.), old bouncy bed, security lights going off all night, curtains that are not blackout curtains, and uncomfortable couch.

If you stay here, be sure to come in the winter, drink a lot so you pass out at night, and be prepared to buy your own toilet paper.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed in unit 207 and loved how close it is to everything in town. Grocery stores, restaurants and pubs are all nearby, walking distance. Our lanai had an ocean view, and also a view of the well kept grounds, garden and pool. The pool was fantastic, never busy and the view from the pool is palm trees and the garden, which are beautiful. This particular unit was fully stocked with everything we needed from beach chairs, towels and umbrella to coffee maker (for your morning cup on the lanai) and fully stocked kitchen. The stretch of beach it is on is long and somewhat wide, great to watch the sunset and sunrise. Communication with property manager was quick and easy. I highly recommend this unit if you're looking to stay in the Kihei area. Aloha!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We recently stayed in Unit 223 at Waiohuli Beach Hale in Kihei. The Condo complex is conveniently located within walking distance to grocery stores, a drug store, and several restaurants. It is tucked behind a large church parking lot so was extremely quiet. Since it is right on a walkable sandy beach it was a delight to wake up to the sound of waves washing up on shore and the sunsets were incredible. The unit itself was clean and quite comfortable and we loved the view of the ocean from our lanai. The kitchen was well stocked with most cookware and the appliances were all fairly new. We found the bed comfortable and other than turning the air conditioner on for a couple of hours each evening, just opening all windows and screened doors was sufficient to allow the sea breezes to blow through. We found our first week quieter than the second week as there were more families with children staying due to spring break. The noise level in the complex went up a bit this second week. To avoid this we would recommend staying earlier in the season. The Manager keeps the complex clean and is helpful with any issues you may encounter. We highly recommend WBH to anyone wishing a quiet stay in Kihei.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nibbles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have been coming to Waiohuli Beach Hale for over 15 years and love the people, location and units here. The Resident Manager keeps things in great shape, the garden is beautiful, pool is always perfect, the laundry,, BBQ and shuffleboard areas are well maintained. The Resident Manager, Henry, is great and makes sure that everything is in good order. Units are well maintained and well stocked; our favorite is #205. Restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Golf is about three minutes away and there is easy access to many great beaches. This is the best kept secret in Kihei!

Room Tip: This is not a hotel; it is a condo comples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mary0hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 13 nites. The pros are: The condo was clean and the kitchen well stocked. Close to grocery store, Panda Chinese Restaurant and Fabiani's which were great. The parking is good.
The cons: bed is awful it's too soft. Air conditioner too noisy and small only one in bedroom. Noise level in this complex is awful. No privacy whatsoever. Sprinklers come on at 3am every morning. View from this unit not great. This condo can become very hot. The TV in unit is too small the furniture not comfortable. No boogies boards just beach chairs provided. Laundry too expensive. Not enough places to hang things. Beach not swimmable and rocky. Pool is a lap pool. Shower ok but you have to be careful as you have to step in then turn water on. Could be a problem for older persons. Grounds are well kept.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kokonut2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We stayed during Thanksgiving in condo #123. The place is perfect to say the least! The single bedroom condo is spacious, very well maintained and clean. It contains a large variety of items, including a fully furnished kitchen, fully furnished living room and bedroom, a couch that can be converted to a bed, TV, and wireless internet access. It is conveniently located on the ground floor with a small porch equipped with table and chairs. A clean and well maintained pool is in reaching distance from the condo and a beautiful Maui beach is just few feet behind the lawn extending in front of the two-story apartment building. There are also three fully furnished BBQ grilles available to the guest on the property.

In general, the outdoor areas around the apartments and pool are very clean and well maintained. The place is very quiet and perfect to relax. Waiohuli Beach Hale is located in the center of Kihei and in walking distance to a supermarket and a range or shops and food places including the delicious Nalu’s South Shore Grill. Within the next two miles South on Kihei Road there is a large variety of more restaurants and shops.

If you want to stay in the Kihei area, Waiohuli Beach Hale #123 is the perfect place to spend your holidays and relax on Maui! It is perfectly located for day trips to Hana, Lahaina or up the mountains to the peak of Pu'unianiau. Also, the condo is very affordable for all the amenities it has to offer to the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marc Cyrill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This two story 62 unit condo complex is directly on a long walkable beach in Kihei. Our condo #215 was a one bedroom (580 sf) nicely furnished with large shaded lanai overlooking beautiful property, pool and ocean. The king bed was comfortable and had soft bed linens. Condo came with boogie boards, beach chairs, mats, beach towels, and ice chests for our use. The unit was stocked with most items we needed until we could get to the grocery store, which is a block away. Also nearby within walking distance of a few blocks were plenty of cafes, bars, restaurants, shops, and Enterprise Rent A Car office.

Met many of the very friendly "regulars" who have rented here over the past 30 years. Enjoyed meeting them during their conch shell songs paying homage to the sunset each evening. Our unit only had air conditioning in the bedroom but not the living room, so if you can't stay cool (like we did) with the window louvers open allowing the breeze to come through then you may consider another condo complex. There are ceiling fans in bedroom and living room. The bathroom was nicely updated with one sink, toilet and large walk-in shower. Unit offered free private Wi-Fi and cable TV service. In the hall closet was a lockable safe for our valuables.

The heated pool seemed a bit on the cool side for us Texans, but I bet was fine for the Canadians or northwest US people staying here. Really enjoyed the beach walks or sitting on the grounds overlooking the water and beach. Often saw large turtles surface just off the beach here. There is a protective reef but the waves crashed right on top of them making for unsafe snorkeling conditions at this beach at this time of year. However, just a short distance away are several snorkeling beaches. Also close by is the Kihei Outrigger Canoe Club which we visited a couple of times.

We stayed 16 nights and had a rental car so we were able to sightsee or go out to eat any time. Of course we did use the kitchen to make breakfast or lunches to save money for our dining options at night (eating out is expensive here compared to our home city).

Here are the few items of concern: each day homeless people congregated near front entrance way; loud bird calls woke us up every morning around 6:30am (with windows open); sand/dust/ash from Big Island volcano blew into unit making everything dirty which made me clean unit more often than I wanted to; and the bar height chairs on lanai were uncomfortable if we sat in them for too long.

Yet there are so many positives about this condo complex that I would recommend it for good location and great value.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
1.0 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 61 in Kihei
422 reviews
2.5 km away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
4.0 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
4.8 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiohuli Beach Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiohuli Beach Hale

Address: 2463 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7285
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Waiohuli Beach Hale Hotel Kihei
Waiohuli Beach Hale Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing