We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
Ranked #14 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

You wouldn't realize from the outside that this is the best breakfast spot. But it really is!!! There is always a line to order but it moves very quickly. The french toast made with Hawaiian bread is the BEST! Try it with pineapple and coconut!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alaska_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    693
    181
    75
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Get plenty to eat but a bit heavy and not cheap. Don't expect to stay on a diet and eat here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wench117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not sure what happened here but....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This place was a great local joint enjoyed by tourists and locals alike. Breakfast is their thing.

The last two time there the only left on the menu to our liking was the bacon - crispy and yummy! Perhaps it's under new ownership? Only a local would know this.

The eggs (over medium) for both my wife and I were almost raw with the whites uncooked and jiggly. The hash browns were uncooked (without seasoning or onion) greasy and cold.

The Caffe was a place for a good old value breakfast - fast and tasty, not anymore.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0adguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Busy but good.Food and coffee excellent. Can't go wrong on this one. Another must for maui visits.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sak625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food with island flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had heard from people on a snorkeling trip that the Kihei Caffe served good food at good prices. So I decided to give it a try. One day after a running race, I stopped in and had French toast, made with thick slices of Hawaiian sweet bread topped with bananas and mac nuts. All I can say is, Yummm! I'm not a cofffee drinker, either, but I thought coffee would be appropriate. It actually was good. Ithe Kihei Caffee is casual and low-key and not for those expecting fancy digs. But you feel right at home if you've come off the beach or as I had, a running race. There are plenty of outdoor tables with shade above. You place your order, then it's brought out to you by efficient and friendly servers. Portions are big. I stopped by another day after hiking and had the pancakes topped with the bananas and mac nuts. Neither day could I eat all of the food, the portions are that big. Wasn't disappointed with the pancakes, either. I looked around at what others were having. All looked really good. The caffe is actually an old Quonset hut that's been refurbished and built upon. It definitely has a bit of island funk to it, which makes it all the more fun. And if you're hankering for that island favorite, Spam, they have that, too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing