We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
39
79
40
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
79
40
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street the trade winds obstructed view sound travels the kitchen nice breeze hot spa hear everything time share timeshare presentation two bedroom unit staff was very friendly and helpful star resort great place to stay well maintained and clean easy access washer and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018

When I read another review, I almost died! The review slammed this resort and we had just booked it. Turns out the other reviewer must have slept in the parking lot because our unit was great! Full kitchen, hair dryer and lovely views. Right, there was no air conditioning but a nice breeze off the ocean and ceiling fans. The staff were super pleasant and very helpful. Zia was so helpful and gave us great ideas for fun times. We would stay there again and love it.

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank cabomom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018

I went there recently with family and it was just so sad. The pool is nice and it is walking distance to a beach. Other than that, a Motel 6 or Days Inn or even a hostel is preferable - by a long shot! So bad it became funny. No A/C in Maui heat and humidity. So everyone's windows are open 24/7. Want to know all kinds of personal information about your neighbors' marital relationships? Want to smell every thing they eat for every meal? Want to hear when a couple sneaks into the pool late at night for sexy time? Want to welcome all the island's bugs through your always open windows? Neither did we! Just don't.

Room tip: The only decent rooms are on the upper floors and they are not great.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank campmarengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Aloha, campmarengo. Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and extend our sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

First, let me say that we are not that picky and have happily stayed in some pretty basic, even grubby places with no complaint. But we stayed only about 6 hours here, until we could find another hotel. Our room was in a corner on the ground floor and it was just beyond terrible. We can deal with shabby furniture, beat-up cabinets and '80's décor, but there was no air conditioning, which is one thing when you have a balcony on an upper floor, but another thing entirely when you are in the back on the ground with no way to catch a breeze. And it cost $449 a night for this awfulness. We were so exhausted when we arrived that we tried to make the best of it, (and I have to say the security guard was nice and very helpful - our room keys did not work and he let us in, there was no fan and he brought us one) but it was so unbearably hot that we could not sleep and we left at 5 in the morning never having checked in. Unfortunately, I paid in advance through Hotels.com and so far the hotel has refused to give us a refund for the nights we did not stay there. I do not like to give bad reviews to people who are just trying to make a living, but the bad reviews of this place are absolutely justified. It was so bad that I contacted Hotel.com and told them the place should be removed from their list of hotels.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marengonola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Aloha, marengonola. We regret to learn of your experience and extend our sincere apologies for your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I give them a three because some aspects of the place are really nice and other aspects are terrible. First and foremost ~ THERE IS NO AIRCONDITIONING!!! I am a woman who likes to get dressed up for dinner or an evening out. Forget it. It is so humid and hot that you can’t apply makeup without it rolling off your face, and forget a hairdryer or hairspray. Also, with no air, you must have all th windows open. This means you hear everything going on because everyone else has their windows open (TVs, crying children, early morning risers who have coffee and talk at 4:30am, cars, gates closing) You also smell everything everyone else is cooking. And it doesn’t cool off until about 4am. I was so hot I couldn’t sleep which doesn’t make for a nice vacation.

Kihei is not a fancy resort area. It is just a town. There are no breakfast establishments on site or within walking distance so driving is a must if you don’t feel like cooking. There is one sushi restaurant next door. There are several fast food restaurants, a Longs, and a grocery store, and many, many other regular stores within a couple of miles. It is just like a regular town, but not a vacation resort. Amigo’s had a great breakfast and Coconuts was outstanding!

The staff is very friendly, they were as nice as could be (and I wasn’t a happy camper). They have a nice orientation your first morning there where they giveaway several buy one get one coupon. Nearly everyone won one during our orientation and everyone in a couple of the others. The pool and hot tub are nice and the event planner is a joy.

Room tip: Higher up ~ more breeze, less noise, better view
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luiv2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Aloha, Luiv2Vacation. Thank you for your visit and candid feedback. We hope you will accept our apology for any discomfort you experienced owing to the absence of air conditioning. It is good to know our Aloha spirit made a favorable impression, and we are happy you enjoyed our pool, hot tub and orientation. Thanks again for choosing Maui Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

First of all, I feel like I need to disclose that I have been an owner at MBVC for over 15 years, so I might be a little biased. This is not a 5-star resort, but it fills our needs really well. The one-bedroom units are small. A couple of years we've invited another couple (who then have to sleep on a pull-out sofa), and it is pretty small for 4 adults. We have a son who travels with us, and the three of us fit just fine. The kitchen is galley-style and fits 1 person, tops. That said, we don't spend all that much time in our room as we're out playing all day at the beaches. The grills are great for cooking, and the kitchen is well equipped. The pool is shaped like Maui (albeit a little cold since it is not heated like most pools in Maui). The hot tub is hot, and one meets the most interesting people in there. The resort is across the street from Sugar beach, which goes on for miles and is a great place to watch the sunset (but not great for swimming). The staff at MBVC are nothing short of amazing. They really want each guest to have an amazing time. If you've stayed here before, they have fixed the elevator! It no longer is loud! We love staying here, and feel like it is our second home.

Room tip: Building 'C' is the one that is 6 stories high. It's hard to get a 'high' room if you stay less than 2 weeks.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wendyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soleil M, Manager at Maui Beach Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Aloha, Wendy! Thank you for returning to Maui Beach. We truly value your ownership and are happy you had another enjoyable visit. It is great to know you still enjoy your time with us after all these years, and we are delighted that you and your family think of us as a second home. It is our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next stay. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews