We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar beach #205”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very disappointing as it has not been updated since the 70's. Furniture and carpets in this unit are dirty and need to be replaced. The bed I was old and uncomfortable with terrible pillows and sheets Spa was out of order for three days. Location was the only attribute for sugar beach.

Room Tip: Ask if the suit has been recently renovated in the last
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

This resort was the spittin' image of every beach condo resort up and down the Carolina coast. I felt like I was back home at Nag's Head, complete with the sea foam green color decor. And I mean that in a nice way, it felt comfy and famaliar. This was no upscale place, just the basics, but it has a lot going for it. The full kitchen was what we were looking for on this leg of our trip.The beach in front provides miles of beautiful scenery and walking. Wake up to the canoe club launching their vessels. It provided some of the most picturesque "palm tree/ocean vista" pictures I took while on the islands.

Our room had a nice ocean view. In addition to the great view along that bay it had a great location to get around - to a number of beaches, to the town of Lahanina and to head out on the road to Hana.

The outdoor pool and jacuzzi offered a nice social area to swap stories and recommendations. The office provided internet access, helpful suggestions and lent us a CD to listen to on the road to Hana, since our Amazon-ordered explanation of the sights and stops along the road wasn't delivered on time. A small store and sandwich shop was a short walk and grocery and gas stations were right up the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We spent a month at Sugar Beach (Nov.) in a unit on the 6th floor (top).
this afforded good views, although not beachfront, pool/garden was in the mix.
I found the buildings tired looking, well, they are from the 1970's. Focus was
too much on the gardens, whereas the structure and specially the hallways
could have used more cleaning. But hey, this is not the Marriott.
Pool areas well kept, shopping nearby, if you dont mind getting ripped by ABC.
Beaches are long long walks, which is nice, but high tides produced that
uncomfortable angle at times. Swimming was to be studied for the best areas to
enter, lots of coral around.
People friendly, and about half have been coming for many years. No drunks or
unruly behaviors during our stay, which is always a bonus.
Bus routes close by, 10 min. max walking.
Our unit was nicely appointed, what I would call a 50 % update. Utensils galore,
owners must have been circus performers, I have never seen so many knives.
My biggest pet peeve, this property is located straight down the valley from the
aeroport, hence, the trades were sometimes relentless, for days. Some may like a breeze
I dont like it quite that strong.
Last two weeks of our holiday we spent in Wailea, and although more expensive, I would
recommend looking there. More updated and not so windy.

Room Tip: Corner suites are indeed quieter, and have an extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcarter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

I am glad you got to spend a month at the Sugar Beach Resort and enjoy the pleasures and views the property has to offer. You are correct in saying that many of the guests have been coming to this property year after year.

As for the trade winds, they can sometimes pick up in the afternoon, but many of our guests enjoy leaving their sliding glass door open and letting the breeze come in to the living room as they listen to the waves crash on the beach below.
We hope you choose to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort on a return trip!

Mahalo,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

... you realize how average this complex is.

It's been around for a long time and we stayed there many years ago. Decided to try it again when our first choice didn't work out. This is a big complex and pls see some photos of the unit you are renting ... some are not as good as others (talked to some people who were given a terrible unit and made a fuss till they were moved somewhere else.)

We were in PH26 - in the Plantation Building (oceanfront, 6th flr, one bdr, one bathrm) - which has been partially renovated.

Pros for Resort: elevator; clean heated pool and hot tub; good central location; big (but busy) parking lot; trash chute on each floor; situated on a long sandy walking beach (as are other Resorts along that strip)

Cons for Resort: this Resort is older and therefore worn and tired looking; you'll see whales if you're at the right time of year, but all the anchored boats out front make it so that the whales don't come as close as other places we've stayed in the Kihea Ma'ahla area); chilly/indifferent front-desk staff; BBQs power is not up to snuff and the brush/scrapers were gross

Pros for Unit PH26: clean renovated bathroom; lots of towels; good mattress; free highspeed internet; 2 dressers in the bdr and big closet
Cons for Unit PH26: bathroom fan is SO noisy - if you get up at night, either the fan or the noisy sliding bathroom door will wake up whoever you are sleeping with ;-); same goes for the dishwasher - run it when you aren't going to be around; stove/oven on it's last leg; although there is lots of kitchen stuff/untensils - some 'staples' were missing for us like a salad spinner, metal spatula/flipper for use on the BBQs (come on people! You really think we want to use plastic on the BBQs? Even tried to buy a metal flipper - everyone was sold out), larger glass/pyrex lasagne-type pan for marintating and such; black coating on pots and pans is peeling; basic older lanai furniture (no long lounge chair) and the table is tippy - we had to put magazines under the legs to even out the table.

Overall - there isn't any 'sparkle or magic' to this complex. Lots of elderlies (nothing wrong with that ... I'm near there, but just to let you know ;-). Depending on the particular unit and whether where you stay is 'just a place to sleep' or 'an important part of your day' ... Sugar Beach could be a good value for price. We won't be revisiting.

Room Tip: See current photos of the room/unit you are renting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sugar Beach Resort and in condo PH26, which we manage. I am glad you enjoyed the heated beachfront pool, whale watching from your private balcony, nightly sunset views, and beachfront barbecue area. I hope you had the opportunity to also walk along the five-mile white sand beach that fronts the hotel.

I am sorry that the unit did not come equipped with certain items you had expected, like a salad spinner and lasagna pan. We have a list of about 200 items that are mandatory for our owners to have and we may choose to update this list based on guest feedback like this.
We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We loved the ground floor beach front location, the pool and hot tub, the community BBQs, the free long distance, the initial supplies of paper products etc. to keep us going until we got to the store, the Sand Witch pub, and the friendly staff who tried to help. Loved watching the sunset from the lanai every evening. But - we were booked into unit 631 which apparently had a water leak the day of our arrival so we we were relocated - three days in 132 and six days in 115. Had to waste half a day packing up and moving between units - not fun on a short trip. Could not get onto the internet in either unit, finally the condo rental company provided a connection cord and installed a wireless router when we moved to unit 115. Very frustrating since I needed to check in at work each day. The units both had issues - paper thin towels in 132, several burnt out light bulbs in the bedroom (replaced the next day after we complained), one burner on the stove didn't work, and in 115 - original shower knob (that needs replacing), broken shelves in door of fridge, screen door came off its runner on our last evening, sofa bed quite old and uncomfortable, thin and few blankets. Both units should consider replacing the carpet with ceramic tile to freshen up. We won't be staying at this resort on out next trip to Maui.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthShuswapGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

AMAZING panoramic ocean view! Beautiful Maui sunset every night of balcony. right on the water! Clean and kid friendly, tons of kitchen supplies. All hardwood bamboo floor in unit, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: 420 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 8travelmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We truly loved our condo, our view was wonderful and the resort was beautiful!
Every morning we would enjoy our coffee on the Lanai and take in the peace and quiet. Will go back and look forward to staying at Sugar Beach again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
7.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
8.1 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
8.4 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#17 of 62 in Kihei
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 62 in Kihei
535 reviews
28.6 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
3.4 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $247 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing