We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palms at Wailea
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at the Palms at Wailea for 5 nights in August. The unit was excellent. We had no complaints or problems during our stay. The unit was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. Internet access would have been nice but we could get access at the pool area. We loved the pool and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. This is a great location for beaches and shopping. Overall we had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaughnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    121
    36
    26
    9
See reviews for
137
97
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA county, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We really loved our condo. We came to Maui for a wedding and out of our group 3 2 bedroom condos were booked. Everyone was very happy with their condo and the pool. For the price we payed I couldn't believe how big and clean the place was. Each unit is different but we loved ours and felt right at home. When we arrived they told us to stop by the concierge desk in the morning for a free gift which was a can of sunblock that smelled really good. The lady didn't pressure us to book anything but was very helpful when we needed to book a large group for a scuba excursion and had to split the bill amongst 4 credit cards. We didn't book our rooms together but coincidentally were all very close to each other. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, there's a nice dining table. Sofa in the living room was a pull out bed. The master bedroom was a good size with a large bathroom and access to the patio which had a nice grill and a large table. I liked the convenience of having my car parked right in front for easy access. It's a 10-15 minute walk to a small beach on Kihei road. I would just run there in the morning . The pool was nice and clean and had a nice view of the ocean. We had a wedding rehearsal at the condo with about 20 people. The only down side is there are no on site places to eat but there are plenty of restaurants and an ABC store up the road on Kihei. Exit the property going towards the water and then turn right to get to all the eating places.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saranicolexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Excellent place, very clean, large rooms (we were in a garden view 2bed condo, unit 1601-has great sunset views as well), close to moderately priced shopping, dining choices, daily farmers mkt, places for low price souvenirs and best of all, walking distance to excellent beaches. Hubby & I walked most mornings , sometimes evenings too on the beach right behind the condo complex. Short distance from the resort hotels so you can check them out too! Wailea is too far off from the main activity centers like Lahaina, Kaanapali etc. If you seek adventure and are up for evenings browsing stores, just walking by the beaches and looking up historical places, this place is far. If you are truly going to relax at home, just catch a swim or two at the beach but are most happy to lounge in the swimming pool of the condo, and happy cooking your meals during your stay, then this is the best place! Cleaning staff sometimes does not deliver what is promised, you have to be on top of that. Sun gets hot here, wear sunscreen!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We got a great package deal booked through Westjet.ca and I'm glad I chose this accommodation. I am a clean freak and was pleasantly surprised by the immaculate condition of 2 bedroom suite #1201 (lower level). No odours at all! Nothing masked but Febreeze either. No dings in the walls or chipped furniture. My guess is that it underwent renovations in the last few years. It is likely that the owners actually visit and monitor the property to ensure that the unit is well maintained. Some other units may have been inferior to #1201. It was about 85-90 degrees every day of our week long stay and the air conditioning unit in the master bedroom was powerful enough to cool down the whole suite adequately for comfortable sleep even in the livingroom so long as the ceiling fans are left on. The suite does not receive direct sun and faces the ocean to benefit from the relaxing breeze. The decor is not as dated as in the website photos. No tattered or dirty furniture. It was clean, comfortable and ample for our family of four. The lanai provides privacy and wraps around to offer a lovely view of the pond. We cancelled housekeeping services after the second day as it was unneeded, however whenever we called housekeeping for extra supplies and towels, they were at our door within 15 minutes. The multiple sliding door feature separating the second bedroom from the livingroom was useful and made the suite feel even bigger than the quoted square footage (approx. 1200 sq. ft.). There was a sunken living area and modern kitchen (granite countertops, new floor tile). We've been back in Vancouver for 4 days now and I REALLY miss Maui. Part of why we enjoyed our trip so much was because our accommodations were so great. I've read other reviews and can't believe folks said anything negative about this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverMissingMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Our condo was stylish, modern, extremely well furbished, and we had everything we needed except AC in the main room ...and a comfortable bed for our daughter! The metal springs in the sofabed could be felt through the thin matress. Everything else was extremely nice though!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSue_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great hotel! The rooms were clean and the service was great. I loved the spa. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NVanNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I'll preface this by stating that we stayed in a privately owned unit, not one of the Outrigger units. However, please read this because it will affect you regardless of whether you book with Outrigger or not.

My main complaint is with the state of the pool. It is waaaay too warm because the design causes hot water from the spa to flow into the "cold" pool. Due to working on Maui for the summer, we spent two full months at The Palms and the pool was in very poor condition virtually 100% of the time. The water was very murky and we estimate the average water temperature over the summer to be 85 to 90 degrees. Not refreshing in the least. Also, because it is a salt pool, at that temperature it is like bathing in someone's warm sweat - very unpleasant. I know a lot of people will say this is a ridiculous complaint since the ocean is just a few hundred yards away but sometimes you just want to enjoy a day poolside.

My second complaint is regarding the stench of dead animals that is pervasive around the grounds. There are lots of rats on Maui and, as a result, lots of traps. These traps were obviously not checked daily because most days we would catch a whiff of death and decay at some point - often around the front office. Also, a dead toad was left rotting on a rock by the pond for weeks. We saw it everyday so obviously the groundskeepers did as well. Why they didn't dispose of it is beyond me.

In fairness, Outrigger does not manage the pool or the grounds so this is not a critique against them. However, we have stayed at resorts on Maui (including Outrigger Napili Shores) with much better prices that did not have these problems. Something needs to be done. We will not return to the Palms at Wailea and would not recommend anyone else either. There is much better value out there, regardless of your budget.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tufa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
36.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Property: Palms at Wailea
Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing