We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Maui Vista - room 1424 was great!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Vista Resort
Ranked #17 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Maui Vista - room 1424 was great!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I reserved directly with the owner Dorli and she was great. Very organized and made our visit to Maui effortless down to detailed instructions on how to get to the condo from the airport.

Everything was at the condo, beach towels,chairs,cooler, even toys for kids to play with on the beach. We were across the beach from Charley Young beach which is great. Not crowded and you don't have to drive to it.

The bed was super comfortable, the condo super clean.

Only complaint, nothing to do with our condo but with the front desk. These people hate their job, the lack luster service, and the fact the older lady was complaining openly to the younger girl about a condo owner was just so unprofessional. She didn't acknowledge my existence in front of her, just plan rude. If this is your first impression it would really ruin your trip. My advice, sign in, get your parking pass then proceed to your room. If you are lucky you can book a room with Dorli, check out her site. http://vacationinmaui.net/

Room Tip: Room 1424 - great for a family with kids, 2 large bedrooms with king size beds, or can make 1 bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiegirlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are not the management company for this unit, but we certainly are happy to hear that you had such a great stay at Maui Vista. Just like Dorli, our owners take pride in their units and want their guests to have the best possible stay. We have noted your comments about the front desk agents. These are not our employees, but we can pass your concerns along to the manager at Maui Vista. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you stay at Maui Vista again. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    92
    46
    26
    28
See reviews for
82
89
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

When we pulled up in the car, it was perhaps the most underwhelming experience I've had with first impressions as far as accommodations go in years. the key didn't work properly. The place was no well represented in pics on the Internet presentation. We were sandwiched between the loud highway only 100 feet away and the party-harders in the back. Don't bring a family to this place. Dirty. Loud. Tiny. No views. Not worth $140/night. Stay away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank generic1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. We appologize for your unpleasant stay while at Maui Vista Resort. The Maui Vista is in a great location as it is just across the street from charley young beach, one of Maui's most popular beaches. There are three buildings on the property, building 1 being in the front nearest to the street. Each building has its own swimming pool and tennis courts. Though it is not clear who you rented your unit through, our website does have many photos of the property as well as photos of the inside of our units so our guests can choose the unit of their liking. Guests can also choose a unit in one of the back buildings to ensure there is no road noise. Being able to see exactly what you are going to get will help alleviate any surprises. Our website features many photos and descriptions to help our guests have the best vacation possible. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kihei hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Valentine, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We chose Muai Vista because of the location, easy access to all the Kam beaches, and pretty much central in Kihei.
That being said, if you decide to rent from Paradise Vacations, be cautious. we originally rented a 1 bedroom with ocean views, after we had made deposit and received contract we were told that the unit we had reserved had been sold! They gave us a different unit with " garden views" this really means your looking at the parking lot.
We thought, okay no big deal, we don't spend much time there anyways.
When we got to our condo, it was FILTHY!! The shower curtain liner was so moldy I had to wash it immediately, there were cobwebs everywhere, and the carpet was stained and sticky. We put a large beachtowel on the broken down sofa so we could sit on it.
The hot water was lukewarm and only lasted thru one shower. We called to ask them to look at the hotwater heater. We were told that someone would come in the morning, and I think they did, they lukewarm water lasted thru both of our showers.
I did send an email to Paradis Vacations and was told that they didn't have time to clean the carpets, but if I wanted to leave the condo for a day they would come in and do it while I was there. Wait, what?! Where was I suppose to stay?
The condo did have comfortable beds, nice towels, decent linens. Also the kitchen was well equipped. They had some beach chairs, a cooler and beach towels, which was nice.
Overall the owners were trying, ( I think), but the cleaning service was definitely subpar. the best part was when they told us we had to be out by 10 a.m. to give them time to clean the unit. We saw some of the houekeeping "staff" while we were there. Thier cleaning equipment consisted of a mop, a bucket and whatever cleaning supplies they could fit in the bucket! I kid you not.
Next time I will stay at the Maui Banyan or Pacific Shores.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Aloha and Thank you for your feedback. We, here at Maui Condo and Home, were not your vacation rental manager, but we are truely sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at Maui Vista. All of our units are cleaned by licensed cleaners and each unit is inspected by one of our arrival inspectors before the guest arrives to ensure the unit is clean and in proper working order. We pride ourselves on this service and if a guest is not happy for any reason we will do everything within our power to remedy the situation. Maui Vista is a great property equipped with three swimming pools and six tennis courts and it is conveniently located across the street from one of Maui's most popular beaches, Charley Young Beach. We hope that you consider staying at the Maui Vista again. Our website does show photos and descriptions of all of the units we manage. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumiton, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Maui Vista Resort is a laid back boomers dream, a pool just outside your porch, that they call a lani and thats alright because whatever they call it, its a cool place to sit relax and take in the view. Every room has its own kitchen with pots and pans, the whole works for the best eatin place on Maui, if your wife is as good a cook as mine is. We was on the first floor, with my brother James and Jan his wife, let me tell you she can cook! The store is just up the street and stocked up for more baby boomers just like us, so come on over to Maui and stay a month or so, they don't care, you get a better deal I think if you stay awhile, you can't see it all anyway if you stay years.

Room Tip: Get the back rooms not the ones on the street if possible, baby boomers like me need our beauty slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kahunapule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at the Maui Vista Resort. This property is very relaxing and laid back, just as Maui should be. Relaxing on the lanai (patio) or next to the pool is a great way to spend your day. Preparing dinner at home is convenient and cost effective. Thank you for sharing your wonderful vacation experience with us. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived at 2104 Maui vista to be greeted by rat poop all over the sofa bed, inbetween the fridge doors, behind the bed and behind the dresser. We spent our first night scrambling for a hotel. The next day of our vacation was spent arguing with Grant from Maui vacation condo rentals. He kept trying to tell us it was gecko poop. Finally we called in the groundskeeper who was shocked and disqusted and we got ahold of Maui Vista managers. We were told that the condo was leaned the day before which we find highly unlikely as there was rat urine on the sheets and a ton of poop. The cleaner went screaming out of the condo when she saw the rat. We threatened to contact the health board. He finally moved us to another condo for 3 days and then to an amazing condo at Maui Banyan. They never did catch anything and he tried to reassure us it was gone. However, we chose to pay for another condo out of our pocket. We were too grossed out to stay there but we did use it to shower prior to coming home and found more poop. Grant from california reassured me that it was just gecko poop!!!!!!!!!!! He accused us of taking things from the condo when we did not even stay there. This was the worst vacation ever and I would not recommend renting from this company to anyone. We had to move several times, he only refunded one night which cost us double at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had heard good things about this condo complex but would not recommend 2104 to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just got back from Maui (Dec 29, 2011 - Jan 12, 2012) and stayed at the Maui Vista unit #3302 which we booked through VRBO and handled by Paradise Vacations. The unit was great!

Very well kept and relaxing with all the amenities that we needed.

Our unit was in the 3rd building on the 3rd floor which faced the water (units ending in 01 -18 face the water, and 19+ face the parking lot). We had a great view of the sunset each day. Building #3 is definitely furthest away from the water and is the quietest building. Very nice.

Each of the three buildings has two tennis courts and a pool and the groundskeepers are out every day by 7am keeping the property in tip top shape. It was literally a 4 minute walk from our unit down to Charley Young Beach. Beach was fantastic and you could see humpback whales breaching in the distance from the beach.

If you are planning on staying more than a couple of nights, you will need to pick up extra supplies (toilet paper, laundry detergent, dish washing detergent) as the amounts provided are only based on a limited stay.

For groceries, there is a Foodland grocery store about 1 km north of the Maui Vista (10-15 minute walk) and a Starbucks one block north of the Foodland. For other convenience items, there is an ABC Convenience Store less than 1KM (about a 5-10 minute walk) south of Maui Vista.

Restaurants and other shops are nearby in easy walking distance.

All in all, a great stay and would rent this unit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
259 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I booked the one week stay through Booking.com (and then it turned out to be Maui Suncoast that contacted me with arrival information so could probably rent directly from them in the future) but all units are individually owned so the quality may differ widely. We stayed in condo #1301, in building 1, 3rd floor at the very end of one of the corridors. The location in the building was good as we were not that close to the road (I can imagine that the low floor condos closest to the road can be a bit noisy) but still easy access to the office, tennis courts and the parking. There are two more buildings behind building number one.

The condo as such was perhaps not brand new but still it was more than sufficient. The style of furniture and design was not at all what I would have chosen for myself but does not really matter that much when on vacation.Key things were more that what we needed was there and in most cases it was. The kitchen was fully equipped with microwave oven, coffee maker, stove,oven, freezer, refrigerator, dish washer and all the knifes, forks,pots and pans needed. There were also base spices, coffee filters, detergent available.

The condo also had a TV with plenty of channels and washing machine and dryer was also available. The bedroom had a nice comfortable bed and a/c. There were also many beach things available (snorkeling gear, floating toys etc).

All in all most things were positive. The things I did not really like was that the condo did not come with any Internet included. Luckily enough it was possible to reach five or six WiFi networks from the balcony but still think it should be included. The office for the entire condo complex had very limited opening hours (we were there during holiday season so they started with staying being closed 3 days in a row) and they were not really helpful or service-minded when they were there either. Luckily I did not have a lot of need to interact with them (just need the parking permit and register as a guest).

The location in Kihei was pretty good as well. It is right across the street from the beach (preferably to the pool that was available as the water was too cold in the pool) and there are several more beaches within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants around (my favorites close by are Da Kitchen and Cafe O'lei, see my separate reviews of those) and there is also a Foodland close by. Staying in Kihei it is also easy to get around the island so from that perspective this was a very good choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.2 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
5.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.4 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#9 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.1 km away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.5 km away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#13 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Property: Maui Vista Resort
Address: 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8627
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing