We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly place to stay in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A heavenly place to stay in Maui”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Even though this hotel has not been renovated in a while and the lobby isn't terrific, the rooms are more than adequate, the location is superb, and the landscaping fantastic.
The hotel is on a perfect part of the west side of Maui, with a great beach, and for those of you who also like grass, acres of land with gorgeous flowering trees. The emphasis on Hawaiian culture really sets this place apart, with lots of opportunity for guests to learn about it. Entertainment is great, and the buffet breakfasts are also fantastic. Service was excellent.
Everyone was very helpful and nice. We met many people who were returning and we plan to as well. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: they have ones with ocean views and we will ask for one on our return
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NycRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,951
    1,332
    437
    193
    121
See reviews for
1,026
2,043
94
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodridge, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

. . . especially if you really want to relax, and not have to get in the car for everything! We stayed here 5 nights 1/30/12 to 2/4/12 and it was our first time at KBH, but definitely not our last. It really FEELS like you're in Hawaii. But if you're looking for glitz and glamour, and multi-level swimming pools with waterfalls, you're at the wrong place. However, our partial ocean view room in the center building was clean, and comfortable. We could even watch the free evening entertainment from our lanai if we wanted. Our travel agent lives on Maui, www.mauikay.com, and she suggested we get the package that included buffet breakfast, and it was so enjoyable, with a good variety and good service. She had steered us away from another nearby place because of construction, and we were glad for her advice when we saw (and heard) it. My husband likes to snorkel at Black Rock, so he loved being able to just walk there and not have to load up the car each time. Also, lots of great restaurants (and shopping!) to walk to nearby. My favorite feature of this hotel has to be the local crafters in the lobby every morning. It was so nice to be able to buy something made locally, not in China! Some of the crafters even worked on their items there and all of them were happy to talk about their craft and Maui in general. The KBH employees are very helpful and so pleasant. Yes, you still get a bill when you leave, but they also have a farewell lei ceremony, to which you receive a written invite.

Room Tip: There is one building that does NOT have an elevator, so if you have difficulty with stairs, definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Bloomfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I could hear the ocean at nite. The help there was more than helpful. It's like they knew what you wanted before you knew it. They taught me that you give a lei on departure not on arrival. They even gave me a kukui nut lei when I checked out. The Tiki Hut (I think that's what it was called) is for very casual affair (great hamburger & fries) located next to the outdoor bar. Island dance shows nitely. There's a variety of other types of dining also. One is a dinner/magic show. Use the valet parking. You've come this far - treat yourself. Have an aloha time...

Room Tip: Get the beach front. For times when you just want to kick back in your room - do it on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuffyLeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

spent 10 nights here feb 1 through feb 10th with two other friends,paid for a partial ocean view but apon arrival was given room 143(back of resort next to the parkade).was told the resort was full but we were moved the next morning to room 268(kawai wing),we were very happy with this room,our friends were closer to the ocean in room 280 but had a poorer view (because of foilage.the resort is definitely 70s dated(thought i saw Jack Lord hanging by the tiki bar)but still retains a certain charm.(just don,t take a walk down the beach walk trail to the left and see the sparkling new resorts).
The beach is what kannapali is all about and i would say that the k.b.h. has both the best beach and the best location in the entire area.The aquatic life here is unbeliveable!!we took the whale watching tour(trilogy) that leaves directly in front of this beach and it was well worth it,but we also saw tons of whales from shore with a mother and calve breaching right in front of us not more then 600 feet of of shore!!we also saw giant sea turtles swim right by us not 30 feet of off the shore passing right by swimmers who never noticed them!
Just a word about the surf.it ranged from gentle rollers on day one to 6 foot crashers by day 8.alot of people seemed oblivious to the power of these waves with bad results which included many getting hurt(although not seriously),wardrobe malfunctions,and even little childern getting dragged out into the water!I,m not saying stay out of the water,but a little common sense is in order.
the hula entertainment seemed to get better towards the weekend and was then worth watching.the tiki bar was worth checking out and is almost allways full.if you are 20 somethings and are looking for late night partying,this resort or kannapali in general is probably not for you as by 10.45 p.m. this place gets very quite as does all of kaanapali (including whalers village).try lahaina?
In general,we loved this place.we always look for value when we travel thereby allowing us to travel more often and that is what we received here.the staff were nothing short of fantastic,the food above average,and if relaxation and beauty are what you are looking for,this is your place!
p.s. take in the magic dinner show(again located on site).it was truly entertaining(and funny)and the family that does the show has a true passion for there craft.
The true mark of a good resort for me is wether i would return,in this case it is a big yes,enjoy.

Room Tip: if you are canadians living near the border,check out travelling out of the u.s.we got 10 days out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here from 2-2-2012 to 2-8-2012. Hotel is a bit aged, but is clean and everything worked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room had a balcony, safe, iron, refrigerator, hair dryer. Shower worked OK, but takes a little while to drain. Provide a cord for plug-in internet access for $9.95 for 24 hours, but I was able to connect to a free wifi connection from my room (not from the hotel). TV is a tube type 25 inch. The breakfast buffet is offered as a part of a package or pay as you go. It was adequate, but very overpriced at $19.95 pp, standard fare of fruit, eggs, sausage and bacon.. Most Hotels in the area are even more expensive for Breakfast, Better to go to nearby CJ's or a short drive to Lahania for breakfast. Breakfast much less expensive and much better. There is no natural shade on the beach. You can rent an umbrella/lounge chairs or cabana for $30 per day, or you can go by the pool where there are plenty of chairs and tree shade. Pool is mediocre (smaller than most resorts). Towels are provide at no charge on beach or pool. Alcohol is not allowed on beach, but I think this is a law Maui-wide. Tiki Bar, and Snack Shack are adequate, but small. The restaurant is just OK, with much better options in nearby Lahania. All food in this area is very expensive, average is $30 for your base entree unless you go very early and get the early-bird specials. Parking is $9 per day self-park, unlimited in/out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Got married while I was staying at this hotel in Maui. When checking in the hotel gave us an upgrade to a larger room that had some nice couch and dining room table in it. The hotel is a bit older and could probably use some upgrades to make it more modern but was very comfortable. Most of the other guests at the KBH seemed to be generally older so there was no worries about any late night partying or anything of that sort so we always had a good night sleep. This was the only hotel in our trip to Hawaii that you could really tell the hotel went out of their way to give their guests the "Hawaii" experience. They have a free breakfast with a little seminar explaining all the activities and events in Maui and at the hotel. They give you a free lei when you checkout. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accident, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel Jan 2012 and really enjoyed ourselves. The place started with great staff, always helpful and very polite and ended the same way. The breakfast buffet was included in our stay and it was very delicious. We never had to wait for anything here, the staff always was available and so very polite. Our only problem, which was remedied after the first night, was our room type wasn't available (2 Queens instead of 1 King). After talking with the front desk people and our travel agent, the King was available the next day. The pool was pretty little, but it did the trick anyway. The beach is beautiful there so that was a big hit with us. We ate dinner in Lahaina every night, and it was really very convenient. The traffic in this area of Maui is terribly congested, but the beauty of the area made up for this. Since this was whale watching time, you could watch the whales jumping out of the water at any time of day right from your balcony. It was spectacular. We also did the magic show at the hotel, very fun with a great dinner too. The concierge there was very informative for us, and she suggested the "Feast at Lele in Lahaina, which was a total blast. Great food and great hula and dancing. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyfletchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,510 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,002 reviews
1.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing