We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a magic place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“what a magic place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a beautiful place is maui. We had the pleasure of staying five nights at the kaánapali beach hotel.We stayed on the ground floor of the kaui wing within footsteps to the beach. The staff were very friendly hung out by the pool a few times, but really enjoyed the beach area.Hired a car which helped us get around and do the touristy things.To the hawaiin people mahalo for your warmth and friendliness and for letting us share your magical island

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    1,260
    407
    183
    114
See reviews for
947
1,947
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Recommended by friends, turned out great. Selected "best of the beach" package. It included breakfast, rental car from Kahului, beach chairs and umbrella or snorkeling gear each day, free lunch by the pool (one day), and even more. Has a nice beach and pool and lots of lounge chairs. Nightly music and polynesian dancing. Very friendly staff and good suggestions for activities and ability to book for you and have added to your account at the hotel. Also made restaurant reservations.

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: "best of beach package" gets you an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillfrCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a great place! Hawaii's most Hawaiian hotel indeed. We felt like we were part of the family immediately. This hotel couldn't be anywhere else - it lives and breathes right on Ka'anapali beach. It has such a great sense of place and of culture - the nightly hula show didn't feel like a show as much as it did a natural part of the culture. Good food, great staff, perfect location. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Eleven years ago, our travel agent tried to book us here and was unable to at the time we wanted to go. Ten years ago, we made our first visit and have been coming back ever since! The Hawaiian hospitality is evident in every facet of your visit, from the time you arrive until the time you depart. The location is perfect - on the best stretch of Ka'anapali Beach and just a short walk to Whaler's Village.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel after christmas and it was amazing. I went on a big family vacation with about 9 of us staying in 3 rooms all right near eachother. When we arrived check in was so easy. We also started an inside joke with the manager about my grandfather staying here previously, with a women named Donna ( he's married to Gene Ann). So all of the free gifts my grandparents recieved said Jack and Donna on it, and that really made them laugh. The Tiki Tarrace has really great food, a bit expensive but everything in the area was. Our rooms where really nice and clean. My grandparents room was right next to the elevator and they never heard it once.
The pool is small, but we mostly used the beach. Bring towel with you is you wnat to have large ones or pay $20 at the ABC store for one. Next door is the Whaler village, and its a nice place to go for a quick meal or to just look around.
I would really reccomend going to the Aloha! mixed plate for diner and the Mammas fish house as well. Both were a great meal. Go to downtown Lahaina for some shopping or a meal. A safe way grocery store is near by. Pick up a membership (it's free) we are from canada and they allowed us to sign up. Saves money, on fruit, booze, bread, anything you need
The road to Hana is a definite must, (but take a tour) and if you're there during the right months go whale watching Pacific Whale Foundation was amazing, I suggest using them if you have a car, as you have to go into town. Some leave right from the beach.
My whole family had so much fun, and we really enjoyed ourselves. Can not think of anything we did not enjoy. The resort has so much to do, some hula lessons (where they give you your hawaiian name), to the excellent Sunday brunch (worth the price).
You pay half as much to stay here as other resorts on the beach and is just awesome. We aged from 14 months to 79 years old, and we all had something to do. Best vacation for everyone.

Room Tip: Go to the welcome brunch, its free and they don't sell you anyhting, Just give you the run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Sorry about the title, but we could have spent all 4 - 5 months the whales are in the area just sitting on our 6th. floor ocean front balcony watching for these beautiful, graceful creatures.

The higher up you are, the better the view. A jumbo jet at 35,000 feet (just over 61/2 miles) at 200 tons plus, is just a spec in the sky, the largest whale at 50 tons 6 miles out to sea is tiny.

Good binoculars, or around x40 magnification camcorder the action is terrific. From our balcony we could see whales frequently blowing, actually breaching (and not just the 'splash' when they have breached), and you can appreciate just how busy it is out there from time to time, when without such visual aids all looks empty.

Our one concern was the very ' temporary ' arrangement for dining. The Tiki Terrace restaurant
consisted of a permanent open to the elements roof, and extending out from that, a series of canvas structures, tent like that left areas where they met susceptible to catch water when it rained, and then cascade when overflowing, soaking anyone who got in the way. First night we
were there, my back got drenched very unexpectedly and other had to be moved while waiters pokes sticks into the canvas to unload the water from the roof.

Not what you would appreciate from a not inexpensive venue.

Nearby, 5 - 10 minute walk, is Whalers Village, a collection of restaurants and shops to suit all pockets and interests. Restaurants provide good value for money.

We went on two whale watching trip with Trilogy, which can be booked from kiosk in the grounds of the hotel. Our first two hour trip we saw several whales, but quite tame compared with second trip which was as the US say 'awesome'. Stately large female gliding along, being followed by two smaller males jostling with each other for the honour of which was to approach her. Just like a couple of wrestlers, grunting, groaning, blowing, snorting and pushing eachother around. Then, as always, quite unexpectedly, two breaches in quick succession.

This was just 40 minutes of a two hour trip.

Back to the hotel. FORGET the welcome meeting. Use your voucher for breakfast in the TiKi TERRACE restaurant. A one man band, praising himself and how great he is. Further the food is mediocre.

Room Tip: Obvious from the above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank footmananglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel before proceeding to our condo in Maui. It was great to stay right on Kaanapali and not have to worry about the limited parking for day use. The hotel room was updated, clean, and our "garden view" room actually had a view of the beach. The kids liked the whale-shaped pool and life size checker board on the grounds. The hotel prides itself on being truly Hawaiian, complete with taro pits and Hawaiian decor. It was easy to walk down to Whaler's Village for cheap food court meals for the kids, and there's also a Starbucks at the Westin and another nearby hotel. The hotel has a Tiki bar grill near the pool with good burgers that are reasonably priced. Their Tiki Restaurant was pricey,though. Kaanapali/ Black Rock is a great beach for snorkeling and boogie boarding, but it does get crowded. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is the most reasonably priced hotel on Kaanapali.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iluvbostons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
0.5 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing