We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's a fantastic hotel - not a resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a fantastic hotel - not a resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I spent a relaxing week here in April. This is an older hotel; no frills, but full of authentic Hawaiian character. The rooms are decent, but could definitely use updating, especially the bath/sink area and the televisions, which are terrible. They are however well-kept, and the lanais (balconies) are large and welcoming. Our experience has always been that if you are holidaying in Maui, you are probably not spending a lot of time in your room anyway.
The staff is outstanding. We appreciated the friendly faces each morning in the restaurant - our reservation included the buffet breakfast each day - avoid the 'eggs', but everything else was wonderful and the menu changed a bit daily. We used the services of the Ohana desk (concierge/activities desk) and found them knowledgeable and were able to book a catamaran dinner cruise, as well as tickets to the Kupanaha magic dinner show in the hotel, which we would recommend as a fun evening and nice dinner.
The grounds are beautiful and someone is always working on pruning, trimming or raking. You can tell that the staff is proud of this hotel - they go out of their way to welcome you, or stop with a friendly word. The highlight for us was the nightly Hawaiian music and hula show from 6 - 9 each evening. A relaxing time to sit outside, enjoy a show, and have a few drinks from the Tiki Bar. Best Mai Tais in Maui, never watered down! The beach is wonderful, towels are free from the activity desk along the beachwalk and we never had to hunt down chairs, they have plenty. There is also bar/snack service around the pool area and surrounding lawns. Easy access to the other resorts along Ka'anapali and Whaler's village for shopping and great restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Starbucks coffee served at the Westin resort if you are like us and need that boost first thing in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    1,192
    387
    174
    106
See reviews for
867
1,817
82
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Since you come to HAWAII, this is the hotel in Maui you should stay at!!!
Great views, people, music by staff, and much more. Enjoy AND Relax - Your In HAWAII!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was there with my hubby and two children, ages 18 and 10. They loved the grounds, beach and activity center that was fun for kids of all ages, including my big 18 year old kid. Not sure why some of the reviews have incorrect information, but the beach towels are free and are given to all guests at check-in. You need to maintain a card as a deposit, but can get towels throughout your stay, and only requirement is returning key card upon check-out. Also, there was a nice size hot-tub and the pool was very huge. Beach access to and from pool was a plus and the grounds were very beautiful. There were a few gas barbeques near the beach that we did utilize, showers to rinse off near the beach, a great little pool shop that rented boogie boards and had many items needed for a day of fun in the sun, and a cool gift shop There were also a few vendors that sold great jewlery, plants and wood carvings when we were there for a very reasonable price. Market was walking distance and was boardwalk that connected to all other hotals, and the rooms were clean and comfty and our room was next to the washer and dryer, which were a a huge plus. Staff was aweswome and the overall environment was great for both couples and families. I would recommend to anyone as the newer hotels were stuffy and less family oriented.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel, although somewhat dated compared to the mega-resorts nearby, retains a charm to it that we found refreshing. Front desk was welcoming, the grounds are spacious and nicely maintained, and located next to an amazing beach. Rooms were clean and well appointed
The restaurant was just OK, there are better deals to be had elsewhere. A tiny convience store is tucked behind the front desk and has an outside-facing door—nice for random purchases. All in all a great bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a nice hotel for families and the elderly. The bedroom was nice and large and the staff was very nice. It was a bit outdated (wood paneling in the lobby, movie theater carpet). Be aware the mattress is really hard and the pillows really soft. Bring your one beach towel because you have to pay extra to rent. Overall the room was clean and worth what we paid. In the future I think we would pony up for a more updated hotel that has more couples and less children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

In April 2012 we made a trip to Maui and stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel for 9 days. We had picked this hotel based on our previous trip to Maui when we had gone to the Tiki Terrace for supper (the main restaurant) to have a very good traditionally prepared Hawai'ian meal. We were impressed with the meal, the grounds, and the free nightly entertainment. The hotel purporst to be the most Hawai'ian of hotels and they truly live up to that promise. The staff were the most warm and welcoming of any hotel staff we've ever experienced (especially Rance and Malihini). The warmth of the staff is the best thing about the hotel, and it is what we will remember the most about our trip. Despite the large number of tourists they must see their desire to share the Hawai'ian culture and be welcoming is amazing--we felt as if we were truly special. The 'ohana (i.e. family-oriented) activities were excellent and much appreciated by my entire family. The grounds and amenities were also well appreciated by us. Although it is an older hotel but we were happy with everything. The pool is a little small, but with close access to the beach was not a problem for us. Free wireless internet access in your room would be nice to have but wasn't really an obstacle as wireless access is available by the pool and in the lobby. Beach access was great--close to pu'u keka'a (Black Rock) with a decent beach right in front of the hotel. Access to Whaler's village was also good. Although checkout is 11am they offer the use of a hospitality room to shower and change in before leaving. Given that our flight only left at 10.40pm this was also greatly appreciated. In all it was a great hotel and I would recommend it highly for the price. We certainly plan to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: A room on the wing closest to the parkade is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel - it was part of a hotel/flight package, but it was good. We had a two bed ocean view room, which was nothing special - okay since we spent most of our time outside. We enjoyed the balcony - there was a mini fridge in the room which came in handy. The bathroom was somewhat dated and had some issues with the tub not draining well - probably as a result of all of the sand that came in on our feet and in bathing suits.

There is a deli store that sells wine, beer etc as well as sandwiches and crackers etc. We ended up eating alot of meals through this store . Hotel is well located for the beach - some tours leave from the beach which I wished we'd known rather than having to go back into town. We didn't use the pool which was pretty small. Restaurants were okay - geared to families and not as fancy as some of the neighbouring hotels.

Room Tip: I'd pay the upgrade for an ocean view - otherwise you wouldn't be near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdntraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
34.0 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing