We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the El Dorado”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Loved it! Great location, quick 5 minute walk to beach or 10 minute walk to Whalers Village.
We stayed in a 1 bd/2bath partial ocean view unit booked thru Outrigger. It was beautifully updated and huge. It was just myself and husband but we could have easily fit the kids in there too. Daily housekeeping was a huge bonus along with the beach cabana that is reserved for El Dorado guests only. It was so convenient to be able to walk to shopping, restaurants, and the beach!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunriseonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Aloha odiefamily:

Mahalo for staying with us! We're happy that you enjoyed your visit. Our one bedroom units are not that much more expensive than our studios but are twice as large and make a couple's stay with us that much more like being at home.

We hope to see you (and maybe the kids, too!) next time.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is located about 150 yards away from the Kaanapali beach. The hotel itself, is older, though the room we had was newly renovated which was great. The room also had a full kitchen. The place was surrounded with different types of people, from young and older couples to families with their children. The service was good--one night our TV remote stopped working so we made a call to the front desk. Less than 5 minutes later, we heard a knock and an attendant was there to drop off some new batteries! The area was very quiet at night which we quite enjoyed! There was not much of a night life in the Outrigger but then again, there's not much night life in Maui period! We enjoyed our stay stay and may consider the Outrigger again for the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Hope and pray that you get a room that's renovated! It never hurts to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sm8ckd0wn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Aloha sm8ckd0wn1:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I appreciate your kind words about our service and also your recognition that we do host many different types of guests.

Maui is indeed very quiet and the Outrigger Maui Eldorado is a great place to stay if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We were in D100, and loved the location of the condo and the room ammenities. We enjoyed the full kitchen, laundry facilities and the large rooms. I appreciated the rides down to the beach, especially when carrying lots of stuff. The cabana was clean, and well stocked. The grounds were immaculate!
I would definiately stay here again. The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is highly recommended from me.

Room Tip: Our room had one king, and two double beds in the other. Ask exactly what kind of rooms are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KML87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Aloha KML87:

Thank you for staying with us! We're happy that you enjoyed your condo and our beachfront cabana.

The bed types in all of our two bedroom units are different; if you ask us, we'll always try to get the bedding you're looking for.

I appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My first thought about Maui Eldorado is that there must be great inconsistency in the condition of the units. Some of the reviews are fantastic, but our unit was not in good condition. It was actually somewhat disgusting. The entire unit needed painted (about 10 years ago) and baseboard work. We had water damage is both bathrooms and the bedroom. The tubs were missing large sections of porcelain and there were tiles missing and cracked everywhere. Counters were mildewed and missing tiles. Kitchen was just kind of old and yucky. The air conditioner unit in the bedroom was right above the bed and so loud and clanky we turned it off to sleep. Our deadolt didn't work, bathroom sink didn't drain and no lightbulb in outside doorway.
On the plus side, the area was fantastic. We had a beautiful, large balcony with a view of the golf course and the ocean. It was amazing to sit out and view the scenery. We loved the cabana and beach area. The pool area was big, but very cold. Overall, we would not stay here again, unless we got one of the great units that other people seem to review favorably. So beware what you may end up with. By the way we were in the building closest to the lobby and room 204.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ekh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Aloha ekh9:

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. I am currently working with that unit's owner on upgrades and repairs. I do apologize that you were not happy with your accommodations.

The next time you stay with us, please let us know if you would like to see another unit (or units) and we'll be happy to show you what other condos we may have available.

Thank you for staying with us. Please let me know the next time you are visiting and I will personally look after your reservation.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our unit D 202 is a total dump!!!. Cheap white painted plywood cabinets beat to Hell. Paint all chipped. Mirrors in bathrooms peeling on all four sides. Musty, mildew smell very strong in room. Broken lounger chair on balcony.Mildewed grout on tile in bathroom and ceiling. Plywood access panel(?) mildewed in ceiling in bathroom. Bug in bed, 2 in shower and 1 on curtains so far in this stay, EXTREMELY disappointing end to our 25th anniversary trip to Hawaii

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kansasfrieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Aloha Kasansfrieda:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your candid review. I apologize that your stay with us was not as you had expected.

We have repaired the air conditioner and have asked our pest control contractor to service that unit. Additionally, I have forwarded your comments to the unit's owner.

I wish you had let us know that it was your anniversary and that you were not happy with your accommodations as we would have been happy to find a condo that you would have liked better.

We'd like to see you again. Please let me know the next time you are planning to be on Maui and I will be happy to look after your reservation personally.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here last week. It was wonderful! My husband & I shared a 2BR/2BA condo with my Mom & Dad. We had unit B100. At first we were disappointed to be near the road & far away from the beach. But our disappointment turned to joy when we saw the inside of the unit. You know how the brochure or online pictures are normally the most beautiful unit & noone actually gets a room that looks like the picture? Well we got it! It was perfectly appointed, clean & modern. The walk from our unit to the beach cabana took less then 10 minutes in flip flops. We did take the golf cart back about half the time & while not required we tipped the driver a couple of bucks for the service.

We only swam in one of the 3 pools. The large one on top of the parking garage. The middle pool was a little small & cold and we just never made it to the 3rd one which was actually the closest to us. Pool towels prvided in your room, beach towels at the cabana. The cabana deck was awesome! Loved having a fridge to put our beverages in. The cabana also checks out beach chairs in case the deck is full or the sun isn't on the deck yet. Sun started hitting the deck about 11am.

Minor issues that could have been better; need more hangers in the closet, no fan in the bathroom to remove steamy air, tile floor needed mopping & the carpet might need shampooing because our feet or socks got dirty if we weren't wearing shoes inside. Small parking areas near the units fill up fast so you can expect to park in the garage & walk to your unit.

Loved eating at Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina. A short 10 min drive South & liked the Times Supermarket about 5 min North better than the Safeway in Lahaina. Also loved picking up the plumeria that fell from the trees to bring back to our unit for decoration.

Room Tip: Unit B100 was great. Did not hear road or parking lot noise & had a peekaboo view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauilover0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our third visit to Maui and our first stay at the El Dorado. We took another couple with us and rented a two bedroom condo. We checked in late and was assigned a condo in the D building which backs up to a busy road. It just did not work for us.The next morning I voiced my concern to the front desk and also the management.They acknowledged my concern and went to work finding more suitable accomodations.All their two bedrooms were booked for the rest of our stay but they were able to show us three studios that were available.We took one in the A building and the other couple took one in the E building.Even though we were not together it still worked out great.I want to thank the staff and the management for a wonderful stay and for going the extra mile for us,we really appreciated it.We look forward to coming back.Mahalo

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Aloha bob e:

Thank you for staying with us! I encourage my staff to be creative in finding solutions so you have the best possible experience with us. We appreciate your flexibility and I'm pleased to read that you were ultimately satisfied with your visit.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see all of you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.8 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
6.1 km away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,194 reviews
0.4 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.6 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
0.9 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $205 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing