We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

After checking out of another hotel early due to discomfort, the Best Western Pioneer Inn was a wonderful change. The staff was so friendly, they made you want to stay.

The bed was very comfortable and the rooms have a nice refridgerator for your cool drinks.

Lahaina gets very quiet shortly after midnight and there are plenty of places with great food. Well worth the money.

A hugh variety of interesting shops.

Parking is close and free, along with free internet access.

The bath towels are thick and soft.

A very pleasant place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Make sure you have at lease one meal in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    357
    79
    24
    13
See reviews for
132
482
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Pioneer Inn, adjacent to the colorful Lahaina harbor, has always seemed a little seedy even though the site has views of the harbor boats, rolling waves and 125+/- year old Banyon Tree across the street. What a surprise it was for us as, on a whim, we decided to stay overnight before boarding our plane to return to mainland from Lanai, after taking the ferry back to Maui. Christine, a most efficient and professional desk clerk, was helpful, speedy and comforting in her competence. We booked before the trip out to Lanai, and checked in at 3pm with little fuss. We noticed an unobstrusive sign which indicated that the Pioneer Inn is a Best Western, of all things! We were offered a choice of rooms, and chose to look toward the square with the banyan tree, with the covered lanai, relishing the fact that the entire inn was reconstructed from the hotel built on Lanai in 1901, shipped back piece by piece to be re-constructed in its present location. The room price was a good value for a Saturday night $149 (plus 20% Maui bed tax) for a queen bed, air conditioning, view of the waves and 15% off all food in the restaurant (just ask for more discount certificates at the desk). First thing we did was get pupus in the bar at happy hour, because we were hungry and it was there! My expectations were low (we'd just been at the Four Seasons in Lanai) but the chicken wings were mouth watering! I waited as long as I could for my husband to come back from their upper computer center printing our boarding passes for the Sunday flight). As we sucked every bone dry on those wings, I thought, "boy, I am hungry!" But when I asked the server what bottle of spicy sauce they use on the wings, she said, "It is our own recipe." Granted, the cooks look a little unappetizing with all of their tattoos..but hey, what is life without hanging your heiny out a little bit, and the local color is worth the absolutely great location, very clean rooms (the tub/shower was pristine), comfortable bed, and GREAT front desk. On an additional note, find a reason to use the upstairs computer room. You get to go past the velvet rope, head into the upper story and view sagging beams, ancient wallpaper, a 100 year old, broken soup bowl mounted on the wall with an intricate compass impressed into its glaze, pictures of Kathrine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy, and antique doorknobs that won't turn for you as you speculate what is beyond all of those locked doors.

Room Tip: Decide whether to look toward the square with noice, and bus fumes, or the less interesting, but mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beckyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for one night. It is a very small room, but it was clean and the staff was very nice and the location can't be beat if you want to be on Front St. The lanai is large and comfortable and looks out on the action. Beware that the louvred bathroom door allows little privacy and that you will hear the street noise until around 1am and that it will start again early in the morning. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms have the "pool view" as the lanai does not face the street. Room 36 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CALag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I had a very unfortunate turn of events while in Maui and needed a place to stay late one night after discovering I was in the company of bedbugs where I was supposed to stay! Anne at the front desk was incredibly helpful and professional about the whole matter, and was able to accommodate me for the remaining two nights of my trip (minus my bags at first, of course. I thoroughly laundered and cleaned everything before my belongings rejoined me!).

Thank you so much to the Pioneer Inn for saving me! The hotel was clean, quiet (I was on the courtyard side), and very comfortable, and the location can't be beat! Although it is older, everything was very well kept up - I like the retro style!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Since we drive so much each day in our lives, we wanted to reside for several days without the need for a car.....The Pioneer Inn centrally located in Ole Lahaina Town was the natural choice. With the wharf just across the street our charter fishing trip was a few minutes away. The shops, majic show, restaurants, all within minutes of walking....The staff and adjoining restaurant and bar fit into our plans. The artesian and their wares under the Banyan Tree.....well the list goes on and on. Even more, if you watch at The Devil at Four O;Clock, with the exception of some modifications to the surrounding area it still looks the same....If you appreaciate the romance of Old Havaii, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed here after arriving from the Lana'i ferry. The location is only a few steps from the ferry terminal which worked great.
The view from the hotel is fantastic and the park next door is nice. The rooms are a little dated, but it is a old hotel.

Only negatives are the Banyan tree next door has quite a few loud birds during the day and early evening. Also the band playing downstairs can be heard loudly at night, unless your air conditioner is on.

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We chose this beautiful hotel purely from the Tripadvisor reviews, as last time we were in Maui we had stayed in a resort & this time wanted to stay (5 days) in a smaller place in Lahaina town. Very glad we did! The reception service was fantastic, everyone we came across was very helpful. Parking was across the road and easy to find, the rooms were a good size, very clean and the bed very comfortable. We loved sitting on the balcony in the afternoon & nights, watching the world go by. A little bit noisy but what would you expect being on the main street, besides, the noise usually finished about 10/11 pm. Being close to the harbour was great as we had a snorkel tour booked that left at 7am so we didn't have to get up too early. Heaps of great restaurants in easy walking distance and, of course, their own restaurant downstairs which we had breakfast and dinner in a few times (and get a discount if you're staying there), the food was really nice and sitting looking out to the harbour or street was great! I loved this hotel, it was just beautiful and would not hestitate in recommending it, would definitely stay here again, can't wait!! Cheers

Room Tip: Get a room on the Banyan tree side towards the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyCatsCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.6 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
14.5 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
8.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing