We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay anyplace else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The joy of NaPili Kai is that they are still a bit of "Old Hawaii" in an area that is becoming a "little Cancun". Great staff keeps the place immaculate. Ocean View Studios in Lani building have been remodelled and are wonderful. Fully outfitted kitchens in the studios and gas grills on the property let you do some of your own cooking at a quality level. Happy Hour at Sea House can't be beat but sometimes it's fun to grill while watching whales just offshore.

Room Tip: Lani I & II don't have AC but do take best advantage of the trade winds with screened window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gopher-Vol_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I both stayed here multiple times as kids in the early 80s and loved it. We have been back three times since starting our own family and hands down agree its our favorite spot.

It is the only hotel I have ever stayed in without finding something to complain about. Napili Kai is what you imagine Hawaii to be like, low-key, beautiful, beachfront and relaxing.

We stayed in Puna 2 and the newly remodeled rooms were beautiful!! The bathrooms were very nice and modern, I loved the dual shower head.

The Sea House restaurant still puts out consistently delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is no need to travel around the island searching out the next great place, its right there in front of you. The onion soup and coconut shrimp are incredible

I cannot wait to go back this fall, we are counting the days!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnduranceIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Pure paradise. Great staff, great accommodations, fantastic views from your own private lanai. Our family loves it here and finds it very difficult to leave each year when it's time to go home.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenniferpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our first visit to Maui and boy did we land the jackpot with picking this resort. Our view from the lanai was breathtaking. It is steps away from the beach! The staff at this facility were fantastic! We would definitely return, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macfan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I took our honeymoon and stayed at Napili Kai. I had originally booked an ocean-view room, and when we checked in, they upgraded us to an ocean-front room (not even 15 yards from the sand!!!) The grounds are gorgeous, and the keepers take pride in their work. I was very impressed with the full kitchen (full fridge/freezer, microwave, stovetop, coffee maker) and the room was VERY comfy. Some of the pics I've seen make the room seem a little dated, but those must be in the older buildings, because our room was fantastic. The Sea House restaurant on property is convenient. The food is extremely good, and the servers (for the most part) are ok (some of the servers, especially during breakfast, seem pretty disinterested in providing good service), but that is literally the only thing I could have asked to have been improved. There is really no need for A/C at all, and even though our room had it, it rarely ran at all. We didn't spend much time in the room during the day, and the nights generally cool off into the mid-60s (we felt comfortable sleeping with the screen doors open). The beach is immaculate, and you can leave your sandals, towels, etc near your chair without fear of it being disturbed. The drive from the Kahului (OGG) airport is maybe an hour or so. It is a family-friendly resort, and I can see my growing family spending our vacation at Napili Kai for a LONG time to come. Mahalo and aloha!

Room Tip: Any of the newer buildings if you NEED A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Levi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My father took me here as a kid and it's beauty has not changed. My husband and I stayed here for a romantic trip away from the kids and could not have asked for a more perfect stay. The hotel maintains its charm throughout the years and accommodates couples, families, and retirees. Our room was in Puna II and had breathtaking oceanfront views. We slept every night with the lanai doors open listening to the waves. Our room had a small kitchen which allowed us to eat in if we wanted. My husband got a discounted round of golf on the Kapalua Plantation course and I enjoyed some time at the spa. The beach is perfect for snorkeling, playing in the surf, and even whale watching. I could go on and on but this is a great place to stay especially if you don't really like the busy, crowded, and over priced chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cbell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had an amazing week at the Napili Kai. The rooms were comfortable, full kitchen and great layout. The room we had did not have air conditioning but it was very comfortable sleeping with the fans on. The beach is perfect! A bit protected so the waves are not to frightening for some one who is a bit scared of the water. There are a couple hotel kitties which made it easier for me to be away from my cats at home. Staff would do anything to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant on site was our favorite, we had 3 dinners there during our stay. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yesterdayfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
8.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,209 reviews
6.4 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
9.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
41.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $456 - $1,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing