We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest folks on Maui.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendliest folks on Maui.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Bought a package off of a travel sight and thought why not?

The staff were very friendly which hadn't been our experience with locals on Maui in the past. The rooms were clean but a little dated.

The highest marks go to the location. Right on a beautiful uncrowded beach with ample beach chairs, SUP rentals and free snorkel gear provided by the resort.

The breakfasts at the Sea House Reastaurant were very reasonably priced and free Mai Tai mixer on Wednesday were some stiff drinks.

The resort was impeccably clean and the house keeping staff were always accommodating.

Finally two shout outs, Lorene was super helpful with dining tips and always seemed to be smiling.

And the best pillows ever.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McWonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    185
    49
    18
    18
See reviews for
243
431
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monona, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My Wife and I just got back from our first trip to Maui, it could not have been any better.Staying at Napili KaI Beach Resort.was a big part of it.We spent six wonderful nights there.We had an ocean view second story room in the main building.Great view of the bay.The resort had a peaceful relaxing feel to it. Quiet and spotlessly clean.Beautiful plantings and walkways.Great onsite waterfront resturant,Seahouse.Free mask and snorkel loan . Great snorkleing in the bay Free mai tai party,kids hula show,We also caught a slack key guitar show while we were there. Staff always very friendly and helpful. Our plane home was delayed a day and the airline put us up at one on the "fancy" highrise resorts on the south shore.We liked Napili Kai much much better! . We plan to make a return trip and wont stay any where else but the Napili Kai.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

All positive reviews about this property are right. We spent 9 days in one of resort's ocean view studios in late April/early May and loved our stay. The resort is large, comfortable property that includes several low-rise buildings with various room sizes, very good restaurant, swimming pool, putting green grass and other amenities.
Our studio was very comfortable and included kitchen and balcony. We managed to get good rate booking early with pre-paid option, but I saw that normal rates for the hotel are quite pricey.
The resort's main attraction is its location at beautiful Napili Bay with its sandy beach and great sunset views. The beach is protected from waves and is great for swimming, snorkeling and paddle boarding. You can see large turtles there and occasionally - which apparently is rare in late April - also whales.
The resort occupies northern part of the bay, which has calmer beach that middle section of the bay, which is bit more exposed to higher waves.
In climate terms, this particular part of West Maui when we were there got refreshing breeze and occasional showers - mainly at night or early morning. Thanks to that the weather was very comfortable - not too hot and not too wet as in East part of Maui.
In terms of guest mix, most visitors were middle aged but the property is also popular and suitable for families with children and for retired visitors. The property is large enough so it can take those different age groups without conflict. The hotel has some Canadian connection, so in addition to US visitors, there are also quite a lot of Canadians there. We also saw some tourists from Asia and Europe.
Tip: Napili Kai Beach Resort appears to be most expensive and nicest of hotels located at the Napili Bay. But there are also other solid but cheaper-looking hotels that share the same beautiful location. Those are: The Mauian, Napili Bay Beach and Napili Bay Resort. From what I saw those hotels have slightly younger visitors on average than Napili Kai Beach Resort. So budget-oriented folks may look at those without compromising on great location of Napili Bay.
Another tip: Napili Bay is located quite far from main Maui landscape attractions such as Road to Hana and Haleakala National Park - so trips to those attractions take at least full a day with Road to Hana being worth two full days. We also took a boat trip to neighboring island of Molokai, which is far less touristy than Maui, but laid back and also very nice. Just be aware that boat trip from Lahaina harbor to Molokai can get VERY bumpy so I don't recommend it for families with children or people prone to motion sickness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've been going to various Maui and Hawaii locations for years. Once we found this place in 2008, I have no desire to go anywhere else. The water is beautiful, with some waves but nothing to hamper daily swimming and snorkling. If you want bigger waves, the left side of the beach (as one faces the ocean) has them. The Beach House restaurant is on site and quite decent, plus it's open pretty much all day from breakfast time through dinner /drinks time. Other excellent restaurants are very close by, some -- like Merriman's -- are even in walking distance, as are the Gazebo and Cafe O'Lei. Plantation is nearby and also the Kapaula branch of Sensei, with great sushi and fish. We mostly relax, swim and gaze upon the water, but Napili is a great jumping off point for day trips to other islands (Kapaula airport is about 10 minutes away, if that) and other parts of Maui. The staff is very friendly and helpful and only pretty mellow folks seem to stay there. The only bad experience with staff was that one bartender was very slow on one occasion (so that wine and food were brought too far apart) and one time the maid forgot to lock our sliding doors. Overall, absolutely terrific and reliable choice for an outstanding break.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want. Nearer the ocean on the ground floor means nearer the pool and other pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I recently made our second trip to Maui and Napili Kai Beach Resort and can't wait to go back. Our stay there was awesome with a great beach, beautiful grounds and wonderful resort staff. The food at the Sea House is always very good and the sunsets awesome. The Napili grocery is nearby and you are only ten minutes from shopping at Whalers Village. We have already committed to return again and would not stay any where else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brijul329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for our 10 year anniversary and loved everything about our stay. The hotel is a great value and has everything you need. The staff was very thorough and helpful. The food at the Sea House was great and a good value. We snorkeled every day and saw 3 turtles, tons of fish, and could walk right back to the room and take a nap. The resort is also walking distance to another fantastic beach and a couple great restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to have an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliNJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed in Kapalua in the past and we would come over to Napili Kai to eat at their wonderful restaraunt The Sea House. Also we would come spend a day on Napili Beach. Finally we thought, "Why are we staying at Ritz Carlton, when this is where we love to hang out"? For about the same price as a standard room in Kapalua, you can get a lovely ocean facing room at Napili Kai. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean suite and it was really worth the extra money. The view was spectacular. The king bed is in the front room toward the ocean. Our two kids were in a seperate bedroom in the back of the unit, each with their own nice twin bed. There was a small kitchen with full sized appliances and beautiful new cabinetry and granite countertops. We felt seriously spoiled. The beach at Napili is crescent shaped, clean, and beautiful. Medium sized surf, great for kids to play. Excellent snorkeling right off the beach with a variety of corals, fish, and sea turtles. The grounds of the hotel are really pretty and well kept, staff super nice. Walk up snack bar where the kids to could charge lunch or snacks. They provide beach chairs and towels. We got a massage at their small massage facility, it was great. We used the putting greens and outdoor games, they were fun. I really can't think of anything more they could offer. It's a wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HiGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
6.2 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
8.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
9.1 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
7.1 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing