We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Whaley great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whaley great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in 1116 in Tower 1 - lovely large studio with a gloriously big lanai with plenty of chairs - a nice spot to watch the whales. I was worried about space when we booked a studio, but I shouldn't have been - there was lots of storage space ( a separate little room), a nice big sofa, a table and a big bed, and none of it felt crammed in. The kitchen area was very well-appointed, though we only used dishwasher and microwave. The shower was spacious and above a bath - - though a small request - could there a soap dish?? There was a nice welcome touch - water and pre-cut pineapple in the fridge, and a free wi-fi connection and safe in the room. Front desk was very friendly and efficient, as was the daily maid service. We were near the lifts, but there was no noise, and every floor had a trash room and a washing machine room handily placed next to the lift. In the underground parking lot there is also an extensive re-cycling station, and all the entrances are activated by key cards. The grounds are beautifully kept and u can feed the fish in the pond (food available at reception ).Lots of people seemed to use the pool - we couldn't see why until we got a couple of really windy days, when you were sandblasted on the beach!
The place is right next to Whalers Village for shopping and food - though eating is expensive there( apart from the McDonalds & pizza place in Whaler's food court) . If you've got a car, go to Teddy's burgers in the shopping centre opposite Lahaina Cannery Mall - absolutely beautiful burgers with an amazing choice of sizes, toppings, varieties - the works. We also had a great breakfast a Lu Lu's in the Lahaina Cannery Mall itself.
All in all, the Whaler is a great, value choice for this area - I would certainly go again, but maybe request an inner tower room, as the views are better from those sides of the buildings( not that ours wasn't nice as we had requested an ocean view and got one )

Room Tip: Request an inner tower room, as the views are better from those sides of the buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuthbertK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    319
    70
    40
    16
See reviews for
284
514
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just finished a two-week stay at the Whaler. This was our third time staying at this property. The unit we rented was 579 in the South Tower. As with the previous times, we found the unit through VRBO, and dealt directly with the owner. The unit was a nicely furnished one-bedroom with stainless steel appliances. It also had an in-unit washer and dryer. The owner had also equipped the unit with beach chairs, swim masks and fins, sand pails and shovels and boogie boards.

We find staying at the Whaler a much better value than say the Westin (which we have also stayed at) in terms of space, and the flexibility of preparing a meal or two in the condo. To me, the only thing that you give up is the spectacular pool that most hotels have. If you like swimming in the ocean, as we do, then you're not giving up anything.

Our only criticism was construction related. There were construction vehicles and construction noise going on the south side of the south tower. Although the construction was limited to 8:00 am to 5:00 am, it still made sitting out on the lanai less enjoyable. The other issue was parking. Due to the construction, the Whaler has temporary lost about 40 parking spots. It was almost always impossible to get an indoor spot. But also the outdoor overflow parking lot was sometimes full too. On 5 occasions, the Whaler sent us to park next door at Whalers' Village. Although the Whaler provided us with a free parking pass for Whalers' Village, we were still required to move the car from the Whaler Village parking lot by 9:00 am the next morning, or we'd have to pay extra. If you added up the time to scour the parking lot for a spot, then find out there isn't something available, then get a parking pass for Whalers' Village, then park over there, and then retrieve your car the next morning, and then re-park it -- was about a 25 minute exercise! My request to have parking fees refunded fell on deaf ears.

It appears that the construction is about 2 to 4 weeks from being completed, so it is unlikely that you will encounter the same problems if your stay is from May onwards.

As mentioned before, this was our third stay. Twice on the north side of the north tower, and this time on the south side of the south tower. The north side units have a nice view of Black Rock. However, the units do not face the sun, and we found them to be dark. And, depending upon how high up you are, you may face into the rooms at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel next door.

This time, we faced Whalers Village. The unit had sun on the lanai for pretty much the entire day. Our unit was on the 5th floor, and our view was not obstructed by the buildings over at Whalers Village. Plus the Westin is far enough away that you really felt like you had some privacy on your balcony. However, a few times, depending upon how the wind was blowing, you could distinctly smell the smoke and cooking smells that were vented through the roof of the Hula Grill next door. If you're staying on the south side of the south tower, I wouldn't want to be any lower than the 5th floor, and certainly the higher the better. If we return to this property, I would probably pick the south side of the south tower again.

Our favourite activities on this trip:
*Trilogy sail boat trip (and snuba) at Lanai
*Flyin' Hawaiian zipline
*Kayak whale watching expedition
*Kupuhana Magic Show (for the kids)

Favourtie restaurants:
*Lahina Grill (pricey but worth it)
*David Paul's Island Grill (a close second to Lahina Grill)
*Colleens (in Haiku)
*Sea House (great breakfasts)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vactioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panora, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent 12 nights in unit 802 over spring break 2012. We have stayed at various units over the past 20 yrs and 802 has to be one of or is the NICEST condo at the Whaler. Its in near new condition, equipped with everything you need for your stay. Also the owner Janell is very accomodating to your wants and needs. This condo has the best views of black rock and Maui's awesome sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wego1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio unit in, I think, Tower 2. The kitchen and bathroom had been recently redone and everything was very clean and comfortable. They were finishing up construction/remodeling, so there was no patio railing on all the ground floor units, just a temporary metal fence, but that didn't bother us much (they gave us free DVD rentals to make up for the construction). The hotel is right on the beach and a few feet from the Whaler Village. This place seemed like the best deal compared to the more pricey hotels and resorts nearby. One drawback is that they don't have some of the amenities you would normally have in a hotel, like a bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Spent 7 nights in condo 473 which is an almost 2000sq foot condo with wrap around lanai. Our unit was on the fourth floor with mountain views although excellent view of the beach and sunset was also had!

Was traveling with a group of four friends so we wanted extra personal space hence getting such a large condo We each shared a bedroom with another person. My room had a larger than a king bed and the other room had a king bed plus a cot at no extra cost.

The layout was excellent with large living area and kitchen and dining room. I was worried that the unit would have dated furnishings but to my suprise was very modern and new looking. We had two washrooms both a nice size. The shower in the master bathroom is not senior friendly. There is quite the step to climb into and out of this raised combo tub shower. Alternatively the second bathroom has a stand alone shower.

The lanai was so large we didn't even use the rear section of it! The side section had a dining table with chairs
and a few loungers that were well used.

Maid service is daily and the place was kept sand less. Very respectful cleaning staff. The grounds of the property are maintained to a very high standard as well.

Most of the outdoor facade renovations seem to be complete however there was still some landscaping going on but the work was done at decent times as not to disturb guests too early or too late.

Check in was a breeze as was booking on the Aston website. No hidden fees on checkout.

Parking is a hot commodity with overflow outdoor parking which could be a hassle.

The pool and hot tub were clean although chlorine based. Large decks available as well as towel service and beach activity desk to make reservations.

Excellent beach although very wavy while we were there. I loved the waves, my friends stayed near the pool. The black rock near the hotel was fabulous for snorkelling.

The Whalers Villiage Shopping centre was convenient as were the restaurants nearby. There is a $1 shuttle from the entrance Of the villiage to the town of Lahaina a few miles away. Very convenient. Taxis are only about $12 to lahaina as well!

Would definately recommend this place and would stay again if I return to Maui!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Whaler Feb.22, 2012 for 6 nights in unit 1160. This was an awesome unit and the views were even better. Beautiful sunsets, fabulous resort and pool area. Friendly and thoughtful staff. We have stayed at the Whaler before and are never disapointed. Great beach and ocean views. Walking distance to anything you need. The Whaler is at the top of our favorites places to stay list. We love this place. Unit faces beach and coutyard toward Molokai. You may never take your car out of the garage. We liked having the option of cooking in our great kitchen or walking to great dining. You can wake up everyday and have coffee on you huge balcony and cocktails every evening with great ocean views. All views are good but ask for interior for awesome!

Room Tip: Get the interior if possible they have a better view. BBQ's on the southside are not as busy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Went to Maui for our 29th wedding anniversary and ended up at the Whaler because Ka'anapali Villas relocated us there. We loved the Whaler and highly recommend! Although there was construction going on in the tower we were in and our view of the ocean was obstructed by equipment it didn't matter. We were on the 2nd floor so it was an easy walk to the boardwalk area and the beach. The Whaler is in the perfect location next to the Whaler Village with shops and restaurants. Our 1 bdrm/2 bath condo was immaculate, huge and well equipped with everything we needed plus some! The staff was fabulous and we especially loved Michelle, who worked at the beach Kiosk. She is a true gem! She made our whale watching trip reservations and dinner reservations, sold us the cutest Maui Jim glasses and helped us with everything we needed for hanging out at the beach. Had a wonderful time in Maui and at the Whaler and highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing