We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“THE WHALER SUITE 802” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
KALAMA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE WHALER SUITE 802”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stay in 802, tower 1 every time we visit Maui...could not find a better condo...absolutely everything you would need plus an amazing view....watching the boats, whales and beautiful Maui sunsets.....excellent location..........we will definately be back

Room Tip: oceanfront with great wrap around lanai....perfect for watching sun set over the ocean and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATHYLONGKALAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    317
    69
    40
    14
See reviews for
281
507
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I had been staying at the Whaler and wanted to extend our stay for 2 more nights. The front desk was able to find us another studio available for our last 3 days/2 nights.

This unit has been renovated and it is very fresh and welcoming. The bed/linens are very comfortable and the space is well utilized. The drawers in the living room are very nice for putting away clothing. Great feature to have.

The kitchen is great and full of condiments and supplies which contributed to this unit being "homey".

The free WiFi was also very handy. It was a great unit to extend our stay at the Whaler! Thank you Patti!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were in Tower 1, in a studio room, with a small child. The hotel had excellent service and the location is amazing. The pool is pretty small, but it was never too packed to have a dip. The cabanas by the pool are a nice touch if you have a small child to keep shaded.

There's a path along the beachfront that we strolled every morning, watch for power-walking leather-faced oldies in pink neon! :D

Parking can be a little strategic as there's not enough spaces for everyone - it pays to be up early and back early. Our room was functional enough, if a little dated and with very thick carpet.

The bottom line: We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Check whether the construction is done on T2 first. Room decor/features seem to vary quite a lot, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in 1116 in Tower 1 - lovely large studio with a gloriously big lanai with plenty of chairs - a nice spot to watch the whales. I was worried about space when we booked a studio, but I shouldn't have been - there was lots of storage space ( a separate little room), a nice big sofa, a table and a big bed, and none of it felt crammed in. The kitchen area was very well-appointed, though we only used dishwasher and microwave. The shower was spacious and above a bath - - though a small request - could there a soap dish?? There was a nice welcome touch - water and pre-cut pineapple in the fridge, and a free wi-fi connection and safe in the room. Front desk was very friendly and efficient, as was the daily maid service. We were near the lifts, but there was no noise, and every floor had a trash room and a washing machine room handily placed next to the lift. In the underground parking lot there is also an extensive re-cycling station, and all the entrances are activated by key cards. The grounds are beautifully kept and u can feed the fish in the pond (food available at reception ).Lots of people seemed to use the pool - we couldn't see why until we got a couple of really windy days, when you were sandblasted on the beach!
The place is right next to Whalers Village for shopping and food - though eating is expensive there( apart from the McDonalds & pizza place in Whaler's food court) . If you've got a car, go to Teddy's burgers in the shopping centre opposite Lahaina Cannery Mall - absolutely beautiful burgers with an amazing choice of sizes, toppings, varieties - the works. We also had a great breakfast a Lu Lu's in the Lahaina Cannery Mall itself.
All in all, the Whaler is a great, value choice for this area - I would certainly go again, but maybe request an inner tower room, as the views are better from those sides of the buildings( not that ours wasn't nice as we had requested an ocean view and got one )

Room Tip: Request an inner tower room, as the views are better from those sides of the buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuthbertK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just finished a two-week stay at the Whaler. This was our third time staying at this property. The unit we rented was 579 in the South Tower. As with the previous times, we found the unit through VRBO, and dealt directly with the owner. The unit was a nicely furnished one-bedroom with stainless steel appliances. It also had an in-unit washer and dryer. The owner had also equipped the unit with beach chairs, swim masks and fins, sand pails and shovels and boogie boards.

We find staying at the Whaler a much better value than say the Westin (which we have also stayed at) in terms of space, and the flexibility of preparing a meal or two in the condo. To me, the only thing that you give up is the spectacular pool that most hotels have. If you like swimming in the ocean, as we do, then you're not giving up anything.

Our only criticism was construction related. There were construction vehicles and construction noise going on the south side of the south tower. Although the construction was limited to 8:00 am to 5:00 am, it still made sitting out on the lanai less enjoyable. The other issue was parking. Due to the construction, the Whaler has temporary lost about 40 parking spots. It was almost always impossible to get an indoor spot. But also the outdoor overflow parking lot was sometimes full too. On 5 occasions, the Whaler sent us to park next door at Whalers' Village. Although the Whaler provided us with a free parking pass for Whalers' Village, we were still required to move the car from the Whaler Village parking lot by 9:00 am the next morning, or we'd have to pay extra. If you added up the time to scour the parking lot for a spot, then find out there isn't something available, then get a parking pass for Whalers' Village, then park over there, and then retrieve your car the next morning, and then re-park it -- was about a 25 minute exercise! My request to have parking fees refunded fell on deaf ears.

It appears that the construction is about 2 to 4 weeks from being completed, so it is unlikely that you will encounter the same problems if your stay is from May onwards.

As mentioned before, this was our third stay. Twice on the north side of the north tower, and this time on the south side of the south tower. The north side units have a nice view of Black Rock. However, the units do not face the sun, and we found them to be dark. And, depending upon how high up you are, you may face into the rooms at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel next door.

This time, we faced Whalers Village. The unit had sun on the lanai for pretty much the entire day. Our unit was on the 5th floor, and our view was not obstructed by the buildings over at Whalers Village. Plus the Westin is far enough away that you really felt like you had some privacy on your balcony. However, a few times, depending upon how the wind was blowing, you could distinctly smell the smoke and cooking smells that were vented through the roof of the Hula Grill next door. If you're staying on the south side of the south tower, I wouldn't want to be any lower than the 5th floor, and certainly the higher the better. If we return to this property, I would probably pick the south side of the south tower again.

Our favourite activities on this trip:
*Trilogy sail boat trip (and snuba) at Lanai
*Flyin' Hawaiian zipline
*Kayak whale watching expedition
*Kupuhana Magic Show (for the kids)

Favourtie restaurants:
*Lahina Grill (pricey but worth it)
*David Paul's Island Grill (a close second to Lahina Grill)
*Colleens (in Haiku)
*Sea House (great breakfasts)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vactioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panora, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent 12 nights in unit 802 over spring break 2012. We have stayed at various units over the past 20 yrs and 802 has to be one of or is the NICEST condo at the Whaler. Its in near new condition, equipped with everything you need for your stay. Also the owner Janell is very accomodating to your wants and needs. This condo has the best views of black rock and Maui's awesome sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wego1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio unit in, I think, Tower 2. The kitchen and bathroom had been recently redone and everything was very clean and comfortable. They were finishing up construction/remodeling, so there was no patio railing on all the ground floor units, just a temporary metal fence, but that didn't bother us much (they gave us free DVD rentals to make up for the construction). The hotel is right on the beach and a few feet from the Whaler Village. This place seemed like the best deal compared to the more pricey hotels and resorts nearby. One drawback is that they don't have some of the amenities you would normally have in a hotel, like a bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing