We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveller rating
775
380
86
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
380
86
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kaanapali beach black rock hula grill tower facing ocean view full kitchen underground parking abc store koi pond premium room pineapple studio condo through vrbo bath unit north side tennis courts daily maid service
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We enjoyed having our own kitchen and an on-site laundry for our visit to Maui. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and we appreciated the welcome bottles of water and cut pineapple.
The staff were friendly and helpful - from the front desk to the pool cabana. They kindly facilitated the delivery and pickup of our "beach equipment" rentals.
Loved the koi pond and the heated pool.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBearHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful property! Well maintained, friendly staff and right on the beach. Short walk to Whalers Village for shopping and restaurants. Laundry facilities on every floor and a fully equipped kitchen in the room was very convenient.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 982marilynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We were so pleasantly surprised with this condo. We got the one bedroom and it had 2 huge gorgeous bathrooms. It made it so convenient for getting ready after swimming. The kitchen and front room were a nice addition, although our kitchen had no pans for baking other than a bundt pan. That seemed kind of weird. Apparently we could have asked the maid and she would have gotten us one.

The whaler seems to attract the older crowd which was great for us as we are retired. No kids screaming down the halls, you aren't getting hit by a football as you cross the grass. We love kids in fact we have 6 of them, but I wouldnt say this is geared towards children.

The beach was so easily accessible. We paid a lot of money to go snorkeling at Molokini, the snorkeling was better out on the beach. Head towards black rock, just a 5 minute walk away and there is fabulous snorkeling with a wide variety of fish and even a large turtle that hangs out there. . Just make sure that if there are kids jumping off the black rock, you are out of there way.

I would definitely recommend staying here again. In fact we even looked at purchasing a place, but it was a tad bit pricey. Pool is small, but it was never really crowded (perhaps again because it was the older crowd while we were there.)

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank Pcehealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

This is the place! The Whaler has it all. From the time you go thru the inviting entrance and the security gates.... until you leave.......you'll be in love with The Whaler and never want to visit anywhere else on Maui.
Everything you need is right here.
Beautiful beautiful uncluttered grounds.
We found so many of the resorts on Kaanapali have so much landscaping and trees in their courtyards and around the resort it blocks the view of the ocean.
Why be here if you can see or be ocean front? Isn't that why we're all here?
The Whaler has incredible views from every condo .
Two buildings each with 12 floors and an incredible courtyard dividing them. A Koi pond that's irregular in shape with a natural wood bridge provides a wonderful photo opportunity. The Koi so interesting, lots of different colors and sizes. The grounds are perfectly maintained and a young man named Ely keeps the pond tip top shape and the fish very happy. As you register in the lobby you'll find another beautiful photo op. The incredibly friendly and professional receptionists begin your stay in paradise.
Also there are concierges that are very helpful if you need assistance planning activities, answering any questions about restaurants, LUAU's, hiking or anything you may be interested in.
The condos belong to personal owners that you can rent thru the Aston, VRBO, Home Away from Home and several more sites. Each condo is fully stocked and providing comfort for you time away from home.
There is parking on site, a $20.00 a day resort fee ( which is much less than others ) use of beach chairs, beach towels and washers and dryers.
Also available is valet parking if you prefer as well as Bell Men to help you to you condo. There's also an on-site SPA, a GYM and BBQ's for your use ....during certain times of the year movie nights for kids in the lobby, April 1st, East Day an upcoming Easter Egg Hunt ( look for the golden egg ) for a special prize. The hunt is done by age groups. Next door to The Whaler is Whalers Village. Full of shops, restaurants , a food court for more casual eating...too many places to name.
Who needs an on-site restaurant when we have full kitchens and The Village only a couple of hundred feet away.
Also, enjoy 3 miles of beautiful white sand beach for runner, walkers or just strolling in paradise. A good place for a wedding too!!!
And the sunsets....there aren't words.....the most incredible sunsets even if it's cloudy or overcast. It's not just the sun, but the reflections on the water and clouds that provide so many incredible colors. It's truly paradise. You can totally relax and do nothing, or you can be busy and do it all . It's your choice.

Room tip: If on the outside of either building, try to get a condo 8th floor or above. Any floor if on the courtyard side.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Clean. Nice views. Good work out facility. Free parking. Near pretty much everything.
Pleasant staff. Beach is ok. Not a flat area. No dining on site. But units have full kitchens. Market a couple of miles away.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank asolemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews