We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,671)
Filter reviews
5,671 results
Traveller rating
2,412
1,719
834
448
258
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,412
1,719
834
448
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolocean viewblack swanself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishabc storean umbrellafree shuttlean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
4,051 - 4,056 of 5,671 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I stood at the Westin August 26-29. Pool is awesome, rooms somewhat dirty, you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor is doing! Beach is nice, breakfast buffet is yummy. Make sure to utilize free shuttle. Overall good experience. Would stay again, just for pool! 

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kalani4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

In the middle of everything, great location. Walking distance to Black Rock for awesome beach snorkeling. (Get there early in the morning for best visibility and less crowds). The pool at the Westin is great with a fun water slide for the kids. There's also a large adult only pool. The restaurant was lovely. The rooms could use a little updating ours was on the back of the hotel with a partial ocean view and a beautiful view of the mountains. (You can't look at the beach all the time). Our room had a large counter with a refrigerator underneath that was convenient. They were recarpeting hallways when we were there so maybe renovations have started.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

There was just a lack of enthusiasm from everyone at this property. I reserved a room 6 months ago and asked for an upper floor with an ocean view. When I checked in a got the 3rd floor overlooking the parking lot. Yes, there was an ocean but it was unacceptable. After a lot of complaining I got the same location on the 9th floor. The restaurant was good...very good early bird and late 3 course special. Other than that there was nothing special at all about this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in the Beach Tower on a high floor overlooking the front...not the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chingala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigeCabacungan, Director of Sales at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Aloha,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you gave us an opportunity to meet your expectations on the floor, however we see that we didn't in other areas. Please accept our apologies and know that we take your comments and always aim to improve. It is uplifting to know that you enjoyed our outstanding special that is available in tropica restaurant for early and late dining - it is a great deal in an amazing location. With aloha, The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I booked this hotel because it was the Costco Buyers Choice. I would fire the buyer for that recommendation. The grounds of the hotel is a 1970s concrete nightmare. There are huge fake rock mounds with deafening water falls. Find a hotel that actually has some grass and not those stupid water falls. We visited the Honua Kai while we were there because it is rated #1. It had 10x the space and was far more beautiful. Attention Westin: Demo the stupid fake rock mounds and waterfalls. Just have pools and grass in your small common space.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here to continue vacation revolved around a wedding here at the hotel - which was beautiful by the way - spent first week at the Westin Villas down the road. Here we were not phoned daily to hear about the timeshare offerings which was a nice break. The beds are very comfy at both and the rooms, while older, are nicely kept up and amenities are nice. Coffee supplied daily and small fridge helpful. The grounds are lovely and the caged birds are great to watch with nice seating all around lobby and bar areas. The Starbucks kiosk is a nice plus too. The location on Kaanapali is the best - easy to walk to Sheraton for cliff diving event in the evening - Hula Grill next door - Whalers Village - beachwalk and other lovely resorts. We have stayed at several resorts along this stretch and this one is very comfortable and convenient to everything - the parking is a pain if you can find it, but they also have that great shuttle to several locations around. I was happier here than at their Villas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews