We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent a few days in Waikiki Beach, Oahu, before we headed to Maui. We were lucky, both SPG resorts were outstanding. This hotel was by far, one of the prettiest and most awe inspiring hotels I have ever stayed in, from the moment you walk in the door. The central gardens with waterfalls, flamingos, fish,etc. was just the absolutely perfect landscape to welcome you into Hawaii.
We had an deluxe ocean view room on the 9th floor in the new tower. The room was spacious and nice and the bathroom had two sinks and a separate area for the toilet which was also very nice. It had a nice sized balcony with a gorgeous view of the pool area, ocean, and Lanai off in the distance. Great view to wake up to every morning.
The pool area(s) we amazing! It winds around so it makes it look like there are separate pools, with waterfalls, slides, and even a hidden cave spa! There were always plenty of chairs and the area never seemed too crowded.
The beach is a different story. If you wanted a lounge chair you had to pay for it, so we never sat on the beach for very long. Towel service was nice and easy every day and was conveniently located by the pool and beach.
We are very active people, so we did the biking down Haleakala Crater, used Bike Maui, Kimo was our tour guide, and the experience was absolutely amazing! Got a wonderful tour up the mountain and he took lots of greats pics of all of us. Highly recommend the company and Kimo.
We did the helicopter tour of West Maui & Molokai, used Air Maui, also recommend them.
Right off the hotel there are a few boats ready to take you out snorkeling. We booked the Gemini, which was awesome because it literally pulled right up to our beach! We had a wonderful trip, swam with some sea turtles, and had a terrific hot lunch that the Westin provided.
Best thing we did was rent a Jeep and drive around on our own. Did the Road to Hana- AMAZING! Hike the waterfalls in Twin Falls. Our favorite little town was Paia, worth the drive over to that coast.
Bad thing about the hotel was the food selection or lack there of. We only had lunch the first day upon arriving at the hotel. Ridiculously expensive, as most of Hawaii is, and with only 2 restaurants, a pool snack bar, and a coffee breakfast bar, there were not enough choices for us, so we always went outside the hotel to eat. We got tired of paying $22 for two juices, or coffee, and two croissants. Went next door to Whalers Village to eat at the Hula Grille. Nice outdoor atmosphere, live music, food was ok. If you can, take the shuttle into Lahaina to eat or rent a car. It is well worth it.
Nice that the hotel has shuttle. IF you plan ahead and fly into Kapalua, instead of the main one, Kahului, the hotel will send a shuttle, or a nice suburban in our case to pick us up for free. There is also a shuttle that takes you into Lahaina, which we did use a couple times, and one that shuttles you between the other two properties nearby as well. We did the luau at the nearby Sheraton, so we walked the beach side there but took the shuttle back after. Luau was pretty good, we paid for the preferred seating and got front row and got to go in the buffet line first, so well worth it.
All in all this was a great hotel, we would recommend it and would stay here again. Really a beautiful property. And go see Shirley at the concierge, she is truly wonderful and extremely helpful!

Room Tip: I had read in past reviews to upgrade to the newer tower so we did. Room was average in size, alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,094 - 3,100 of 5,314 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

I did a lot of research before choosing my hotel. I chose the Westin after reading many reviews including those with bad reviews of the rooms. I was there at the beginning of their renovations and it didn't interfere at all with my stay. In fact, I never saw any renovations or workers my entire week stay. We didn't travel with our children nor were there too many kids. School was already in session o that probably helped. My favorite was the view from our room (813) and the beds! It was clean and well supplied. I heard great reviews about their breakfast buffet but I was not impressed. It was pricey (which I expected), $30 each. But the food was not that great and it was lacking in selections. I spoke to another guest who is a regular and he told me they have new management have recently removed 7 items from the buffet but haven't decreased the price. My only other complaint would be the front desk. I'm not sure if they were extremely busy, under staffed or what but I tried two different days calling the front desk several times and could not get someone to pick up until I finally had to ask for a manager to complain. The next day I tried calling and again no answer. It was disappointing to know that the hotel grounds and rooms are nice but if you actually need something from the front desk, it's a hassle. I would go back simply because the view was amazing!

Room Tip: Definitely with the money to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooleyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I needed some "alone" time so booked our stay at the Westin Maui. This is a beautiful hotel - the lobby and pool areas are amazing. Checkin took a very long time and we were third in line. There were only three available "windows", with one of those for Asian speaking guests only. The rooms are so-so - outdated and small, with an unusual placement of furniture. We were happily "upgraded" to a room with a pool view rather than the parking lot. Big plus in my book! The pools are lovely but a bit on the chilly side - however once you got in it was fine. The pavers around the pool get hot, hot, hot so make a run for the pool or leave your flip flops poolside. The pool was not cleaned regularly. At one point there was a lot of "stuff" on the surface - water bottle caps, hairbands (?), leaves, etc. When we mentioned this at 9:00am to a pool worker he said he would get to it. At 3:45pm he came back to clean - ugh. The slide in the main pool is fantastic! You do have to check in at the towel shack, and they ask your name and room number before you receive a colored wrist band. The colors change each day.
Beware the breakfast buffet! Food is waaaaaaaaaaaaay overpriced! $28.95 each? Yikes...too rich for my blood. Ask instead for a menu and then to be seated in the Tropica Restaurant with a beautiful beach view. The only problem there is you "get" to see all the people walking, jogging by your table and staring at you while you eat. Much more affordable pricing off the menu.
I would probably stay there again. It is very close to the Whaler's Village which offers more affordable food choices. The hotel shuttle takes you to various SPG properties and then also to downtown Lahaina. And seriously, you cannot beat Maui anytime of the year!

Room Tip: Any room facing the pools are great. Beware the rooms facing the parking lot - lots of noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Mahalo for sharing your experience. Your feedback is very important to us as it gives us the opportunity to address some of the concerns that you have mentioned. We are thrilled to read that you will return to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay in the future. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked four nights at the Westin Maui, and ended up checking out after the first night. The hotel was very busy and checking in took way longer than it should have. The rooms, as been said before, are not the best.....nothing horrible, but dated and small for sure. We even stayed in the deluxe ocean view room and were in the more updated tower. Our view was of the ocean, but also the roof tops of Whalers Village next door. We heard trucks loading and unloading all day long, and we were on the top floor. The balconies were so tiny with very uncomfortable chairs.

The grounds/pool are looked really nice however, and as we were only there the one night, we really didn't experience much else. We went to Lahaina Grill (fabulous) for dinner, and then came back and had a couple of drinks in the bar area of the restaurant. We met a nice couple there and had a good time. The bar closes around 11:00 pm, so not a hugh nightlife, but enough.

The next morning we went to the Westin Ocean Villas. Our breakfast package included breakfast at either the Westin, the Sheraton, or the Villas. We loved it at the villas (another review), and when we went back to the Westin, we asked if we could cancel our remaining three nights, and they had no problem with it, which was great. We moved over to the villas by noon.

We felt that for the money we paid, it just wasn't what we expected. Now to be fair, we had just come from the Fairmont in Wailea, which was fantastic. We paid basically the same for the Westin as the Fairmont, which is ridiculous. We did however, get a good deal (prepaid reserveration) for the Fairmont, but they don't even come close in quality.

This trip was for our 25th Anniversary, and for what we paid for the Westin, we felt we good had done better......which we ended up doing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Congratulations and happy anniversary! As we strive to create unforgettable memories for our guests, especially to those who are celebrating a special occasion, your review and experience is very important to us. Mahalo for your feedback as it allows us to continuously fine tune our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Rude guests made for a crappy breakfast buffet. The surrounding pools were dirty. There were tons of families with children and it was not a relaxing or romantic atmosphere at all. It just felt like a very busy, disorganized resort. Plus with the crowded vibe, I just felt like everything around me was dirty. The koi pond and flamingos were prob the best part.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Mahalo for your review. Your feedback is extremely important to us and rest assured we have shared your comments with our team. We do sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide a renewing and relaxing vacation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our Hawaii vacation, my husband was doing the marathon and this location was very convenient. To be fair, our usual level of accommodation is Four Seasons so we have been spoiled. We had a luxury ocean front room which was truly ocean front, right at the front of the property with expansive ocean views, lovely! The room itself was a standard hotel room, no wows, just a hotel room although the Heavenly Bed was amazing. The room was clean and in good repair. As Starwood gold members we were offered an upgrade from standard internet to premium internet. The premium internet was still painfully slow. On our first morning we had breakfast in the hotel and ordered off the menu rather than the buffet, unfortunately the food was very average but served by some lovely people. Next door to the hotel (2 min walk) there are breakfast options at a fraction of the price and much better quality. We were turned off by our breakfast and didn't eat in the hotel again but had some amazing meals in Lahaina (Lahaina Grill, expensive but amazingly good, Aloha Mixed Plate, dirt cheap, super casual and really, really good). We used the pool one day, the pools are pretty to look at but rather dirty up close (not unsanitary, just stuff floating, leaves, etc) and there is no service, no one offered water or a drink while we were by the pool. Common areas are quite impressive with waterfalls. A turnoff for me were the caged parrots in the lobby, they were in tiny cages, but luckily they were taken away at night hopefully to a more expansive space(?). The Westin was not cheap and after reviewing their website a lower level room at the Four Seasons Maui (our next hotel) was only about $100 more and the experience there totally on another planet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Mahalo for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We apologize for not providing our usual exceptional service in our pool areas and have shared your feedback with our team for improvements. Thank you for choosing The Westin Maui Resort & Spa for your Maui Marathon festivities. As your loyalty and experiences are important to us we look forward to your return. Malama pono (take care)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The grounds are beautiful, the pools are great and the immediate closeness to the beach makes this a fantastic place. Sure, our room wasn't as updated as it could be; still, it was lovely and very comfortable and had a great view. The koi pond is great...the gym is great...the tennis shoes rental is a steal (don't pack your workout gear....get it from them!) The staff was all great and super polite: with the glaring, surprising exception of a few of the valet guys. In fact, one of them was so rude, we thought of taking it to management. We didn't, but he/they was/were bad enough that I must mention it here. Otherwise, a really fantastic place that we would come back to in a heartbeat. The housekeeper Filomena (sp?) on the fourth floor deserves special mention because she was so nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for choosing the Westin Maui Resort & Spa and for recognizing Filomena’s aloha spirit. As the service that you experienced at valet was not representative of our standards, please know that we have shared your comments with our leadership team. We hope to welcome you back for another romantic getaway. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,329 reviews
3.3 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
2.1 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.3 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $483 - $1,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing