We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great happy hour at their enormous bar”
Review of Monkeypod

Monkeypod
Ranked #50 of 292 Restaurants in Lahaina
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Discounted drinks and 1/2 price appetizers during their late afternoon happy hour. A friendly atmosphere at their gigantic bar. They are behind Hula Grill in Whaler's Village on Kaanapali.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 42kRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beach front location is magic but despite the fact that this restaurant is run by Merrimans, the food was very disappointing. Our food selections included stir fry fish, Taco's

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrbigglestvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food served was excellent! All four of us had fish, and we all cooked to perfection. Two people got the ahhe crusted fish, and they thoroughly enjoyed their dinner. My husband and I had the evenings fish special, similar to red snapper, and it was flaky and juicy. We also had the Hawaiian appetizer fish, poke and octopus and lobster deviled eggs. These were excellent also. The pineapple sorbet was good, but the main meal was significantly better. Service was okay, but not outstanding. Water refills were sporadic. The waiter did take a group picture when he was asked.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 879beths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place in a good location. The food and service was very good. The noodle dish was excellent. The only issue was, it was very loud. If your under retirement age, this would be a great place. Older, not so much. Prices were typical for Hawaii's hotel area.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Gary4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The scrub farm pineapple sage soda drink is fantastic, it is bitter and sweet yet refreshing. I had the kale salad which was well balanced and a good way to start. I had the special which Hallandale to be Opakapaka which was pan seared with a jerk crust served over a bed a rice with a proper garnish and a couple of pieces of lobster. I thought it would be a strange combo but the lobster played of each other well adding a nice balance to the meal. Lastly the coconut cream pie which was a great way to finish. I will be back especially to try their Mai Tai. The only part that kind of sinks is its in a commercial mall space. Other than that the view of the ocean is wonderful and the wait staff is very professional.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mickey5751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monkeypod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing