We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting good food, great service and affordable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Noodle

Star Noodle
Ranked #14 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Fresh House Made Noodles & Asian Specialties.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting good food, great service and affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I went to Star Noodle the 1st evening we were on Maui based on location to where we were staying but also Trip Advisor reviews. There was about a 40 minute wait when we got there but we ate at the bar and only waited a couple of minutes for those seats. Bartender was great at explaining the menu and we enjoyed sitting at the bar area. We ordered Singapore Noodles, Yakatori Chicken and Malasadas for dessert. We shared everything. I loved the flavor and moisture of the Yakatori Chicken. The dessert was also very good and unique. Different than the donut type desserts you see at Chinese places. Noodles also very good and was large portion so we could share. The Yakatori Chicken is bit small to split but since we had other things it was no big deal.... that is the reason it is so cheap. If I went back I would order the Yakatori Chicken x 2 and then try another noddle dish. Overall I really enjoyed my time here and so did my husband. He would have convinced me to go back a 2nd time but we made rule ahead of time to try different places each meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kariensean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,918
    607
    247
    74
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hubby and I visited the Star Noodle the second week of March, based on reports given on chowhound.com, and were not disappointed. We ordered two appetizers: the pork buns and the tempura *colossal* shrimp (isn't that an oxymoron?). The shrimp were enormous, covered in a wonderful tempura batter and served with a delicious sauce, although there was very little of it on the plate. Would have enjoyed more. I didn't care for the pork buns (much too much breading for my taste) but hubby liked them. Then we shared a bowl of pho. This is not my hubby's favorite cuisine, but I love it so he indulges me. He enjoys Mexican fare and I hate it, so there you go. So if he's paying, it's Mexican; if I'm buying, it's Chinese or Pan Asian...tee hee. Arrive early as Star Noodle does fill up fast. And find out on a map where it is located, as it is a little tricky to find.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pilotgirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Star Noodle was the last meal we had in Maui before departing for home. We arrived when the first opened for lunch and glad we did. The place was packed shortly after, and a large group of people were waiting for tables an hour later when we left. My wife and I sat at the bar for our meal. Dane, the bartender was very friendly and did a great job of educating us on the menu and helping us make selections. Food was awesome, and we ordered plenty of it. We ordered several dishes, our favorite by far was a a noodle dish with Spam in it that was delicious. Only regret was that we didn't discover this gem earlier in our stay so that we could have been repeat customers.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NC_Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
338 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaraunt On Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a unique spot for pan asian food! Delicious, good quantities and relatively inexpensive for Maui. Try the Pork buns, or any of the noodle dishes. Also the tempura prawn starters are huge and delicious. Leave room for the "donuts" - sorry cannot remember the name. We went here two nights in a row we liked it so much. A little out of the way in Lahaina but worth the short drive across the highway.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Busy in evening..love it for lunch! It's really good! Like to sit at bar at lunch for an excellent meal!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pionuslahaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Star Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing