We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oodles of noodles, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Noodle

Star Noodle
Ranked #12 of 261 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Fresh House Made Noodles & Asian Specialties.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
177 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oodles of noodles, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you live in a city with good Asian noodle restaurants, then skip this place. The menu is creative in that they've combined several styles of Asian noodles and other appetizers. The quality is good, the portions small, the prices moderately high. Staff is friendly, the interior is hip, modern, and noisy. But, there are too many other places to eat on the island that reflect the Hawaiian culture and cuisine.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HotRod_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,811
    572
    230
    71
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner - worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Friday night at Star Noodle is definitely hoppin'. We waited 45 minutes, but it was worth the wait. We sat at the bar, which turned out to be a great place to watch all the action and BS with the best bartender/food server in Lahaina, "Johnny B." He made great recommendations. The pork buns were excellent, as were the garlic noodles. The surprise were the brussel sprouts, which were definitely not like your mother made them. Grilled, then baked, with a tangy sauce. Topped off dinner with deliciious malasadas surrounding a scoop of banana chocolate ice cream. Don't go here if you want scenic views; but if you want excellent locally sourced food, this is the place.

Helpful?
Thank BanSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, Worth the wait, will return anytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Based on reviews I saw about this restaurant, I had to try it out myself. I'm not from Maui so I visited on my vacation this past March. Located in an industrial area across the Lahaina Cannery Mall, it was a bit difficult to find. Right when you think you're going nowhere, there it is!

We arrived there around 8 pm on a Friday noght an they were slammed. What appeared to be an hour wait only turned out to be 20 minutes so don't judge when you first look. It was worth the wait. The waiter was so friendly and helpful with suggestions.

We started with the steamed pork buns. Very delicious, everyone's favorite.... I had the Lahaina fried soup (which is a local favorite) it was soooo delicious--- chOw funn Noodles, ground pork, bean sprouts and green onions. My fiancée had the Kim Chee ramen which he thought was very flavorful and plentiful.

For dessert we had the malasadas which came with caramel, chocolate sauces and peanuts. They weren't the best malasadas I've ever tasted but with the caramel sauce it was awesome.

I had the Asian pear sake cocktail. Very yummy if you enjoy pear. My fiancée had the yuzu tea. Yuzu is a type of citrus fruit. Had a unique taste. Loved it.

The vibe and set up of the restaurant is very hip and upbeat. You wouldn't think you would find someplace like this in an industrial area but some of the best places are hidden away and thy definitely stand apart.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nawahine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty and Reasonable Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We got take-out here and brought back to our hotel to eat. I called and the employee was friendly and helpful. The food was ready quickly, and take-out was convenient, since there was a wait for seating. We got the crepe and some noodles - very tasty. There was no outdoor seating at all - the location is kind of tucked away in a more industrial area, so don't expect any views or ambience outside. The inside did seem nice, although we didn't stay. Our food was ready when we arrived and we were helped quickly and efficiently. Good food, and for Maui, very reasonable prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jules51r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Soon to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Ramen was excellent, staff helpful, friendly and fun. A little off the beaten path but totally worth it. Tried several dishes and cocktails...all delicious and unique.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Noodle also viewed

 

Been to Star Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing