We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on West Maui”
Review of Hale Napili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Napili
San Diego
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best place on West Maui”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Maui is our home away from home, and Hale Napili is that place. My wife and I have been coming to Maui a long time. Have stayed in other places on Maui, but this is without question our favorite. The views from the ocean front condos are stunning. The sunsets, well have your camera ready every night, awesome. The staff here is so very friendly, and Patty we are going to miss you when you retire, but we will be back for your party. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. Nice breezes in the afternoons fill your room, if you are in them. Shore break can get very big, fun but dangerous at times. Hale Napili is close to some very good places to eat, shop and get groceries. Try it out. Aloha!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Great location, right on Napili Bay. Excellent snorkling. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Full kitchen, laundry facility.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

This was a totally enjoyable stay, in a very special place. What makes it so special is the proximity to the beach and the privacy you get with a small area of grass and palm trees not that the beach is crowded, its not.

You walk out level from the back of your condo (First Floor) on this lawn area and then you step down about 3 steps to the sand. The beach is story book pristine. I snorkeled out to the reef a whole 50 feet away with my new toy (Water proof camera enclosure.) and took lots of pics of the amazing aquatic life and fish, just missed a turtle and I'll capture that guy next trip.

The room was a one bedroom and it was fabulous. Flat screen TV with cable and internet access from several WiFi locations provided free. Pretty roomy, clean as a new whistle, with plenty of kitchen area for a Small group. Great bed, roomy shower, private lanai or deck area.

Used the gas barbecue grills every night, never an issue to get in or find space to cook or if you wanted to eat beach side on the cool tile picnic tables. Grills were very clean every day by the great staff of Hawaiian women who take great pride in their work and making sure you have every thing you need.

Lulled to sleep every night by the gentle surf sound, was a real treat. We walked to the pancake place and stuffed our selves with macadamia nut pancakes just down the beach.
The pagoda or Gazebo I think. Lots of great views. Lani and Molokai islands are just across the way and every night the sun would set in between them, what a show of color.
The mornings were pretty and we saw several rainbows on different days. Lots of different birds, and flowers all really colorful and the smell of the flowers was almost overpowering, when the breeze was right.

Would we come back? You bet . . . we have already booked space for next year.

Only problem we found was the fact that we brought too many clothes as their laundry facility with great equipment was able to handle everyone's wash every day before 10 AM
So if you get to come here, bring way less clothes and you'll have less baggage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Planned a last minute trip to Maui HI and was lucky enough to get to stay at Hale Napili. Based on reviews from Maui Revealed, expected it to be very nice, but was really blown away by the beauty of the location and the friendliness of all the folks, especially the owners. This is a small (18 unit) condo complex, literally on the beach in the middle of the bay. You are only steps away from the ocean, which in the summer months is the most swim able beach I have found on Maui. Children of all ages can access the water with ease. Add to it, the two reefs about 25 feet out for snorkeling, and it is picture perfect. The complex is small, with free parking access at the back door and on-site laundry facility. All the units have kitchens that open from the back, with living space facing the ocean. Kitchen was well equipped, with full size fridge and stove. Maid service was daily to provide beach towels and change sheets etc. Had to do your own dishes, but didn’t seem like much of a chore. No air conditioning, but do have a very quiet overhead fan that provides steady air flow. Also with the placement of the units they get pretty continuous trade winds blowing through the units. During our August stay we were always comfortable. Everyone we met was very friendly and stopped to talk and provide recommendations on shopping, touring, food etc. Complex also has a very nice built-in outside barbque area that was really handy. Great place to cook dinner, watch the amazing sunset over neighboring islands and have a glass of wine with friends (new and old). Gardens were immaculate and very colorful. All ages represented while we were there and they all seemed to be having a wonderful time. I highly recommend this as an alternative to the high rise condos on Maui.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of the staff and guests
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizajDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Just got back from our 10 night stay at Hale Napili. It was everything I thought it would be and more. Small condos rule Napili bay, and this one is the very best! The Hale Napili has 18 condo units and is a 2 story building. The front of the building has waterview studios and one bedrooms, and along the side of the building are where the garden view studios are located. We stayed in a Garden view studio on the 2nd floor # 17. It was perfect!! little lani overlooking bananna trees. ( the bottom floor has cute ouside patios with lush tropical plants.) The lani has its own fan, there is a sliding door leading into the condo, but along sides of the door are screened shutters as opposed to part of the wall. Fully set up kitchen with every possible gadget you can think of....even a garlic press and pizza cutter! The decor was beachy and very outdated, but I almost liked that better as they aren't trying to hard and it just feels like a beach cottage. The shower pressure was great, and we loved the dvd player, vcr, and cable!! The views even from our lani were Amazing!! the condo actually rests up against the sand! the wave noise was very soothing and not annoying at all like some of the other reviews of condos in this area have stated. They have tons of beach chairs, 3 picnic tables, a big gas grill, and2 charcol grills. On the first night I was a bit worried that a large family group would be monopolizing the grill area all week, but that was not the case, and we had a couple of really great cook outs. What more can I say about Napili bay, it is simply the most beautiful beach on the island! Great sand, calm water for taking a dip on one side of the bay, and large enough waves to satisfy boogie boarders and body surfers. Besides the great condo and the wonderful beach the Staff really make Hale Napili special. The place is run by the cutest hawaiian woman I have ever incountered! We actually ended up seeing and talking to her several times a day and it was actually great, not overbearing and creepy as you may have incountered in the past. She knows everyone one staying in the complex by first name, and can tell you where everyone is from and how long they have been coming to stay at the Hale Napili. The housekeepers were top notch! are room was spotless everyday! we witnessed a couple checking out and then still found the housekeeping cleaning the room 3 hours later!! they were even taking down the screens in their room and cleaning them! We had fresh towels every day, as well as huge beach towels. There is also a great little market steps away from the condo as well as a place to rent snorkel gear and boogie boards. I just loved the place. We had 4 rooms total. We got Married on 12/21, and everyone in our party of 6 loved their stay as well. We will be returning next year, and hopefully every year from now on!!

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank katiedid26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2006

Hale Napili is one of the nicest places to stay along picture perfect Napili Bay on Maui! I have been coming to this location since 1975, and still find it most relaxing and accommodating. The eighteen units of this small complex are updated, spotless and provide all the normal amenities one expects in paradise! Hale Napili does not have a pool, but the beach is twenty feet away! Considering the reasonable rates here, why look any further?

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank napili00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

Hale Napili is a small condo on Napili Bay. I love Napili Bay, it is my favorite spot in Maui. Hale Napili was fine for what my husband and I were looking for (budget place on the beach). It is certainly not luxurious. Also there is no pool but the ocean is literally in the back yard so who needs a pool? Also, there was bit of a roach problem in our room. Every night we had one very large visitor. I don't think you can blame condo management because the place was very clean. I think it is just something you have to put up with in Maui. Having said that however, the last time I stayed in Maui, I didn't see a single roach in our room.

All in all, the place is fine and good price. If you're on a tight budget and just looking for an inexpensive place on the beach you will be pleased. If you are looking for something a little more upscale you will be disappointed. Despite the roach problem, I would go back since the price is definitely right.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sarki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.1 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in Lahaina
853 reviews
0.8 km away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Napili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Napili

Property: Hale Napili
Address: 65 Hui Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9008
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hale Napili 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Napili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Napili Hotel Lahaina
Hale Napili Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing