We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all our needs”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nice place to stay-so close to places to eat and shop.Had 2 bedroom condo -only negative would be no porch furniture and only 2 stools for a party of four to sit on to eat.Very clean and cleaning and maintenance staff very friendly.Very positive experience !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy47Coldwater_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had to return to Maui, so got on a waitlist for the Aina Nalu. Was glad to get in! As before, fantastic location, awesome friendly people, great room! Parking cost was higher $15/day for parking in only 1/4 full parking lot, but I guess it beat walking to the closest cheaper parking lots. Aina Nalu us great as it is condo/hotel allowing you to cook on your own or walk to very nearby restaurants including the likes of Burger King or reasonable and higher priced restaurants of all sorts. We love walking down Front Street to people watch, shop and take in the great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasakidalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in the Maui Islander a couple of times and it was ok, but not great. The Aina Nalu is another story, the room was fantastic. House keeping keep our room spotless for the five days we spent at Aina Nalu. We had two bedroom, two bath condominium with full kitchen, it had all you need to have full cooked meal in your room, from pots and pans to wine glasses. I like to thank all the staff at the Aina Nalu for making our stay one we will remember for a life time.

Room Tip: Bigger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12,302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our first family vacation in several years so we anxiously awaited our visit to Maui. We travelled with 2 teenage boys and were never at a loss for something to do. The pools are clean and we never had to fight for a lounger. There is a great spot for evening cards by the freshwater pool, and the bbqs for guest use are well maintained. I completely agree with other reviewers that this is the place to stay. Great walking everywhere and lots to see. A short drive away we found our favorite family beach at Napili Bay. Shade is available, great snorkeling--we saw lots of sea life and sea turtles, and clean. Go early though as parking is very limited. Thank you Outrigger for the great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the freshwater pool as there was less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamamia1737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is my second time visiting the Outrigger Aina Nalu and I don't have enough good things to say about this place. It is a tropical oasis right in downtown Lahaina so you can walk everywhere you need to go. We rented through the hotel last year, but this year we rented through an individual condo owner which was significantly less expensive. The furnishings and decor are all top notch (and all the same, so you don't have to worry about getting a bad unit) because they were recently renovated. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which also has a pull-out couch in the living room so the unit can technically sleep 6.

There are two pools on the property, a saltwater pool and a fresh water pool and they are both delightful and the perfect temperature. There is also a hot tub, and cabanas and comfy loungers around the pools.

I would highly recommend staying here rather than at one of the pricey resorts in Kaanapali because you have the entire town of Lahaina to explore and enjoy, rather than being trapped in the resort area down the road. You can always visit the hotel area for lunch and shopping, but it is nice to return to the oasis of the Outrigger.

Room Tip: Upstairs units have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in Aina Nalu for six nights in early February and overall had a pleasant experience. The condos are centrally located in Lahaina only a five minute walk from Front Street and 10-15 minutes walk from either of the towns two beaches. The condos are located in two story buildings and ours was on the first floor in building B. the first floor condos do not have useable patios (certainly a drawback) the second floor condos do have small balconies. The resort has two pools, hot tub and two BBQ's all of which seem to centrally located, clean and not too crowded. As for the condo itself it was very clean, in good repair and the very basic cooking utensils were provided. The free WiFi is located near the pools, however wire internet is available in the rooms, but with todays devices iPad and Mac Air and iPhone that is of limited value. In our condo the AC cooled great but was extremely noisy had to be turned off at night. One other note, a rooster on a neighbouring property crowed throughout the night every night we were there, which definitely made it difficult to sleep with an widow open.
Generally a good experience, I would stay here again but would ensure that I got a second floor condo. I would also echo the comments of other reviewers, if you are looking for a high end experience stay elsewhere, probably not in Lahaina.

Room Tip: Select a second floor condo for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dupshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The condos are very small...but modern and in a great location if you are active. 4 of us spent 9 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo in January. One couple had the master bedroom, the other 2 guests were not a couple...so 1 person was in the 2nd bedroom (only one bed...even though i did online chat with a rep when i booked and requested 2 beds) and the fourth used the couch bed. There was no room to walk around the condo with the bed folded out....so we only spent time in condo when we were sleeping. We also asked when we booked to be by the pool...i believe we were possibly the furthest from the pool as you can be (although at the end of the day it wasn't a big deal).

Since we are "young" (30's) and active...we LOVED the location. It was perfect distance to shops, bars, restaurants and marina. We walked every from the condo!! Having expedia on site was also very helpful when booking excursions (although you can get the info from the rep and go to the companies website and book direct. most places offer an online booking discount).

The big pool was wonderful...but get there early if you want a lounge chair. very limited number of seating (i would guess 15 or so chairs). There is a big TV in the pool area so the boys can watch football while the girls sunned.

All in all...nice place. I wouldn't cram too many people in the condo. It's not that much money...when in doubt, rent a 2nd place!

oh...and if you are a beach lover...this isn't the place for you! We only went to the beach twice...the rest of the days we took excursions. You do need a car if you want to explore. All the beaches are public and there are tons of places to pull over and walk 5 steps to the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jesskamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#32 of 32 in Lahaina
243 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
923 reviews
0.7 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
6.9 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
235 reviews
6.1 km away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#21 of 32 in Lahaina
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $227 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing