We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveller rating
498
462
164
71
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
462
164
71
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front street parking fee the salt water pool washer and dryer cleaning fee two blocks living room within walking distance full kitchen per day larger pool hot tub downtown lahaina both bedrooms the banyan tree grocery store ceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If your looking for a clean room this is not the place to stay.The sheets and blankets were stained and felt dirty. There was also many different types of bugs in the room. We could not leave any food items on the counter tops in fear that we would be infested in the morning. It was a little noisy at night as well. But, the location of the hotel is excellent. Front Street is with in walking distance.You can park for free at your own risk on the street.

Room Tip: You can park for free at your own risk on the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dani w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just flew back home tonite and couldn't help but wish we stayed at a nicer place and made our Maui trip a little nicer. It's not that the Aina Nalu is not nice, it is definitely showing wear and it felt like we were living in someone's apartment (small apt).

The negative:
Upon entering the condo, you can't help but notice how dark and din it is. The counter next to the stove had a large chip in it. When I tried to put juice in the fridge door, the shelf broke off, it had a crack in it. The hair dryer didn't work, tried multiple outlets. We told management and they gave me another hair dryer to use but didn't fix the fridge. we put the shelf on top of the fridge and after a while, I think the shelf is behind the fridge now (management, this is room C-105). My husband complained that the living room tv was tiny and not flat screen. Although the tv in the bedroom is flat screen, it was low resolution, not HD. The front desk women were not very nice or welcoming, there was no aloha on arrival. Maxine checked us in and she seemed to want to get rid of me. I came back to ask Lala a question on a different day and she pretended she didn't notice me until I asked her something. We had a first floor condo facing the big pool area and the first night we were there, there was a large LOUD party. I waited til 10PM and called security and they quickly quieted everyone down. We were jetlagged and could not sleep. The $15/day parking is really annoying and you're not allowed to pay one day at a time, once you decide you want it, you have to pay for it the entire stay. I guess they know that once your figure out you can park on the street and how to do it, you might want your money back. Oh well, it was more convenient. It is not central A/C but one of those ones you install in the wall, so not the strongest thing and it was very loud.

The positive:
Great location about two short blocks to front street. This is nice because you can come home from your activities, shower and just walk to front street for dinner. Although our favorite places to eat in Lahaina needed a drive (Star Noodle and Aloha Mixed Plate). Cheeseburger in Paradise and Lahaina Pizza company were just ok. About a block from the hotel is a souvenir outlet shop with great gifts at low prices. The bathroom is nicely decorated with stone. The washer and dryer were great, key to getting laundry done daily, which is especially important with wet beach towels and a baby. Coming home, we had very little laundry to do. We wish they had given us detergent on the day we asked for it and not a day later. The cabanas by the pool were awesome. I loved lying in one with my 8 month old while he rolled and crawled around. One benefit of an uncrowded resort is that there was always one of the cabanas open and they were free to use. Bourbon, one of the hotel guys walking around was very friendly and he even remembered my name after our first encounter. Cheers to Bourbon for his aloha spirit. The Expedia people at the pool are really nice. Derek helped print out some of my vouchers and he is very pleasant. The internet worked well but it was not wireless in the rooms, which is annoying, because then you can only surf the net in the living room, that is where the wire is. At least it was free.

Some tips: Honolua Bay has the best snorkeling. Right side of Bay, about halfway out of the bay is the best coral, saw moray eel and large large fish. Also 15 turtles if you can swim all the way out to the edge of the Bay. Ka'anapali Beach is really nice, but hard to find parking and Snorkeling at Black Rock is easier but does not compare to Honolua Bay. Kapalua Bay snorkeling is easy, nicest Beach in term of amenities and the coral is smack in the middle of the Bay near shore. Best food: Aloha Mixed Plate, Star Noodle in Lahaina. The Crab club at Cafe O'Lei is really good in Kihei. The Maluaka Beach is awesome, it is down by Makena Resort in Wailea; 2 turtles swam up to the beach when we went.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although this is our third time staying at the Aina, I think we will try a different property on our next visit. This complex is ideally located, just three blocks from Front St. The grounds are well maintained and include two pools and a clubhouse. However, all of the units appear to be decorated the same, dark amd dingy. The furniture is uncomfortable and the kitchen and bathroom floors (including the showers) are covered in rough stone. Bring a pair of flip flops because the tile flooring is hard on the feet and the carpeting will soil your socks. There was an ant infestation in the smaller bathroom and bedroom but Maui Beachfront sent someone from pest control within hours of being notified.

Parking on the grounds costs $15 per day and you have to buy a permit for your entire stay, no daily permits allowed. Save money by either parking on the street in front of the complex or using one of the two lots on the corner of Wainee and Dickenson which charge $12 per 24 hours, including tax. We were able to park on the street 12 of 13 nights.

We rented this unit from Maui Beachfront Rentals and they continue to treat custmer service with a low priority. They overcharged us on the deposit and later forced through the remaining balance onto a credit card of ours that had been stolen and canceled even though we provided a different card number. They corrected the deposit error but not the charge to the stolen card.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dzhugashvili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Good impression is first established by arriving at the open concept registration pavilion in the evening, street is quiet and overall atmosphere of the town is quite relaxed. Lovely lighting around the row units and pools. Tropical plants abound. Full kitchen upon entry with Whirlpool branded stove, fridge, and microwave is adequate, though the mini dishwasher may suit for those who cooks less.

Rooms appear clean, but we found a colony of small ants under the soap dish, and later see their friends crave for our ripen Maui Gold pineapple. The third day I discovered the panel windows behind the bedroom and washroom blinds were open! No wonder the ants found their way in. So did the chatters of corridor passers-by. That and their nose-blowing were very audible, early in the morning like 6AM.

We reserved a 2-bedroom unit. I thought it'd be queen size but turned out they are double beds. One of the rooms is without A/C, the other had one that emits a dampened odor. So after closing the windows, we had to turn the living room A/C on and leave our doors open to sleep.

WiFi available only at pool-side and registration pavilion, so make sure if you need internet in-room, bring a laptop that accepts LAN line.

Walking 5-7 mins to reach downtown Lahaina, which comprises a nice tourist street. For food, the front desk recommended Kimo's. Don't go there, they are terrible. I'd rather have Shaka shaved ice or Lappert's ice-cream for dinner. Check out TripAdvisor or Urbanspoon to mitigate bad food risks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junkbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The one bedroom facing the large infinity pool most accommodating for the two of us.

Room Tip: The one bedroom facing the large infinity pool most accommodating for the two of us. Be ready to cover a daily $15 parking fee.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews