We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, depressing, stay away!!!”
Review of Kahana Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahana Falls
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Sad old timeshare, also available for "hotel" style rental. Studio upgrade cost us $40 more. Original room had no windows. Studio bed can only be accessed on one side. Smoke alarm goes off when making toast. Badly in need of remodel!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Kahana Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We traded into this Timeshare through RCI. The hotel unit was small but had a large bathroom with double sinks. We appreciated the mini fridge, full size microwave and kitchen sink in the room. Towels and trash service was provided daily, very rare for a timeshare. Older building but maintained. Free plug in internet. Common room upstairs of reception with full kitchen available.

We moved into a studio size unit and it was much larger with full kitchen and washer/dryer. Even though it's advertised as 'Lahaina' it is about 20 minutes north of Lahaina town.

Staff were great and we would consider staying again

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrysalisTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My friend and I stayed there Feb.18 - 25. We thoroughly enjoyed the facility but our hotel room was small, cramped with poor ventilation. We had a time share but could not get an upgrade to a suite even though the place next to us was vacant for the whole week we were there. Towels were the best we had on our 6 week trip to Hawaii, room cleaned promptly each day. The pool area was great and the sand bottomed hot tub a treat but watch that last step, it's a long drop. One thing you must do is enjoy the Iron Imu BBQ truck that comes on Tuesday evenings. Fantastic value and great food. Do not be tempted to eat at the Sands of Kahana restaurant across the road....food is terrible, service is terrible and the bill will be huge even particularly after they add the automatic service charge to your check. There is a small shopping centre about a block away which has a Whaler's store, good for snacks. The Maui Brewing Co. offers good food at a reasonable price and there is a MacDonalds. Our only complaint and one that would prevent our return was the incredible winds that blew all week. There's no controlling the weather but we'd elect to stay more in the Kihei area because it is much calmer.

Room Tip: If at all possible, get a suite...rooms are just too small if you are there for more than 1 or 2 nig...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our 7th visit to Kahana Falls and our stay during the week of Feb 2 - 10th, 2012 was better than ever. The concerige was great and provided us with some outstanding trips and tours during our stay, most notibly the Maui Aqua Adventure. The cost provided to us was very reasonable and affordable compared to the high pressure vendors in Lahaina. My wife, who is deathly afraid of the water had a great experience in a very relaxed atmosphere, with great instruction...She was able to swim at Molokini crater on her own and enjoyed the time she had their...The newly renovated common area upstairs in the main building is a great improvement which was needed. The front desk and housekeeping staff were also very good with respect to the servics provided.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I came on a budget trip, solo, and my "hotel unit" room was satisfying. The room had a sink, refrigerator and microwave, so I could easily make myself breakfast.

Kahana Falls is in a good location
* Close to Kapalua (JHM) airport, I just walked 20 minutes down the hill to the hotel.
* Next to the hotel is a small convenience store: I bought breakfast cereal and pastries to eat in my room.
* In the same area there is a Boss Frog, where I rented a bicycle, which I used to get around. This was so much better than renting a car!

De-merits:
* The room had wired Internet, but wireless would be most welcomed.
* For this price ($100+tax) I didn't expect an ocean view, but the one window faced a walkway.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Visited KF Jan. 14-19. Room # 501 A&B. A being the one bedroom, full bath, mini kitchen. Nice clean, fluffy towels, Maui coffee a nice touch. Glad to have B attached but separate door for the living, dining and full kitchen. Sofa pulled out to a full bed which was more comfortable than a regular sleeper sofa for my daughter. Small patio with a view of the ocean This was a corner unit. Staff was very friendly and quick check in.KF is a nice resort but it was not our favorite. We prefer a larger resort with grounds for walking, and larger swimming pool, beach front or closer to town location. It has a Lahaina address but it is located in Kahana area meaning about 15-20 minutes to Lahaina town.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the front building.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

if staying in a hotel room then you will have very little room to do but sleep... window is over looking walkway ...so stays shut all the time---- on positive side ok size fridge,microwave,toster,coffee maker,nice washroom,cleaning only one a week since this is RCI (time share)propety,no restaurant,very good staff,nice bbq by the pool ,fitness room,good atmosphere, if you geting 1-2 bedroom you be happy,for sure. Place is right a cross the road from ocean,no water view from any rooms.. shopping at times supermarket 3min by car-a must in Maui, good luck!@!

Room Tip: dont get small hotel room upgrade to a 1 brdm...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romanles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.3 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
232 reviews
10.6 km away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,186 reviews
10.4 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.4 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
5.0 km away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#21 of 32 in Lahaina
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Falls

Address: Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9308
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $202 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Falls rests just steps from the beach on the west coast of Maui. Enjoy the lush landscaping, splashing waterfalls and wonderful amenities of this tropical resort. Each one- and two-bedroom unit offers a partial or full kitchen, air conditioning, lanai and much more. Our on-site activities desk will help you see the best of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahana Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Falls Lahaina
Kahana Falls Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Falls Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing