We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Satisfied Owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Satisfied Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We are owners at this resort and have been surprised to see the negative reviews which differ so dramatically from our experiences. We have visited from 1-2 weeks each year for the past several years and each time we were treated quite well. The check in and out has been easy and we were treated with kindness, efficiency and respect. Each time we received maps of the grounds with our room location and the staff was amazing at getting our bags promptly to our rooms and unloaded. We found the staff all over the resort to be cheerful and friendly and when we had a question or concern it was promptly addressed. We love this resort and find it beautiful and well kept up and in a perfect location. The grills are cleaned daily, the pool chairs have not been a problem and we have always been able to reserve our designated view. We have enjoyed the restaurants and the helpful suggestions when we required reservations elsewhere. The shuttle is a wonderful way to avoid the hassles of local parking. We have already booked our vacation next year and are eagerly looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms are tied into ownership and availablilty. Owners receive priority, after all they purchased s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    955
    344
    161
    121
See reviews for
1,638
1,431
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We absolutely LOVE this place, which is why we purchased one week every other year. However, we are consistently told that our requested view is not guaranteed. Great. We understand. However, we've now used our place three times and have yet to get the view we want. When discussing with the current management we were told that we need to call as early as possible to reserve. When told that we did that, they said yes, we were the 8th caller that day (one year in advance). The EIGHTH and we still could not get the unit we wanted. Also, we asked for a later checkout and I mentioned we were gold members and the lady kind of chuckled and said all our owners are gold members (as in being one is nothing special) and we could have one extra hour (check out moved from 10 am to 11 am).

So while we love it here, it's getting increasingly evident that there is no benefit to buying here. It would have been cheaper to pay an owner to rent out their place than to pay the annual fees and the purchase price we did. (Yes, we understand the other benefits ownership provides.)

We were contacted by someone at Westin after my husband posted a negative review, but nothing could be done or explained to us to our satisfaction. They did give us a $100 room credit and 20,000 star points for our disappointment, which made us feel that at least they tried.

And lastly, most people who work here are absolutely wonderful, friendly and caring - particularly Dee Dee. Others need a basic class in how to handle stress on the job and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ofthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Aloha and thank you for both you and your husband’s review. We appreciate you taking the time to meet with our staff and share your reservations experience with us while you were here. Please know that we genuinely value your ownership and would be grateful for the opportunity to continue to work with you and allow us to provide you an outstanding stay that will help you experience the benefit of your ownership just as you have shared previously on Trip Advisor in 2010. Thank you for your positive comments about our associates and for recognizing Dee Dee. I will be sure that she is acknowledged. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being in touch with you again.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We are owners at the Westin Lagunamar but traded to Maui to allow some family members to visit Maui. This is a beautiful property on one of the best beaches in Maui. If you're into snorkelling, you will not be disappointed with the massive reef a few feet off the beach. This does make swimming a challenge however. Beach shoes a must!

Our check-in was quick and efficient without any orientation or direction to our building. We had to ask a guest for direction as this was our first visit to this property. We got a 2 bedroom lockout in building 2 on the 5th floor. The room was clean and met our expectations.

We had a few issues in our two week stay that were handled quickly and efficiently by the staff. We had a dryer that would not dry, a faulty toaster, and can opener. All were corrected in less than a half hour.

We discovered some water damage in bathroom, and a crack in the bathroom wall, but other than that the room was in good shape. We enjoyed the "heavenly" bed, and all the facilities spending most of our time snorkelling, and watching the whales play.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As owners since 2004, we have come to expect a poor reception each year when we return to our home resort. This year was no exception. Year after year the greeting at the front desk has become more & more impersonal. We cringe at being told, "You're next." No Aloha, no welcome, not even a simple hello. We have reached out to management on more than one occasion and despite being told that changes have been made and new management is in place, in our view nothing has changed. Why is it that non-owners are getting better service and placement than those of us who have paid a VERY high premium? At first glance the place might look decent but as previously mentioned by another reviewer it is a glorified Courtyard by Marriott - rugs need replacing and the units need a good cleaning - sorry, but I can't stand smudged mirrors and handprints all over the windows. And as far as that supposed Heavenly Bed goes - how about using bedding that fits the bed?

This year we continued our journey on to Australia, New Zealand and Fiji. Our stay at the Westin Sydney was wonderful. Friendly service, beautiful property. Sheraton Fiji Denarau resort - lovely, warmest greeting and service ever. Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas - you need to take a lesson from these Starwood properties. And to those who are raving about this place - Have you ever been anywhere else in the world????

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly disappointed to read your comments and hear that your arrival at the resort has not been a warm and welcoming one. This is certainly not to our Westin or Hawaii standards. Please accept our apologies and know that we sincerely strive to fill everyone’s welcome and stay with Aloha. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to contact you and personally discuss these occurrences with you. I have sent you a private message asking for your contact information so that we may reach out to you. Thank you for bringing this information to our attention, and rest assured that our leaders will be immediately following up with our team.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are timeshare owners at another location, but we always trade out to stay here. We love the location, the cleanliness and having our own kitchen. The resort and pool area is very well-kept and the snorkeling is great right in front of the resort. We actually stayed in another hotel in another part of the island. We won't do that again. (that's another review) I think we were spoiled . We will back here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hapi2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed In the North Villas for 2 weeks at the end of January into February, and loved it again (second stay). We love the layout of the resort, and had another great experience. We had a room on the 5th floor of building 6, and it was great. The only dinners we ate out were at Pulehu (twice), and had excellent meals and service both times. Do the wine tasting on Mondays, and you get %50 off of the wine list for every meal for the duration of your stay. They have an excellent wine list. Superbowl was great at the outdoor pool area restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwoodparkcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited here for a week with two families. Shared a two bedroom oceanview. Plenty of room and the two washer and dryers were awesome with the number of little ones we had. Great restaurants! Beautiful grounds. Pirate ship for the kids and waterslide. Beach has coral right at the surf and can be tricky. Great snorkeling right off the beach. Shuttles to everywhere are super convenient. Excellent customer service. Little things like knowing your name when you call and stuff.

Only complaint- we were in building 3 and had an airconditioning unit right outside our window so we couldn't hear the waves.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
7.6 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#2 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
39.1 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing