We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
163
41
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
41
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach resident manager pool and hot tub wonderful condo beach towels green sea turtles amazing vacation air conditioning snorkel equipment minute drive a wonderful place to stay fully stocked kitchen grounds are beautiful little things master bedroom home away from home west maui
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 229 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We arrived at Hale Mahina on Friday, late evening. Opened the door to find our condo had not been cleaned. Towels on the floor, bathroom dirty, etc. Contacted owner, who was responsive and reached out to his housekeeping agency ASAP, who apparently had a mixup on the dates. Spent the evening washing sheets and towels etc. Housekeeper came the next day and thoroughly cleaned our unit. We informed the owner that his toaster was also broken. They were going to drop off a new one, but it never showed up. The location of the unit is lovely; greate view (we could watch the sunset from our lanai). The condo itself desperately needs some updating. It's kitchen is dated, the tile floor old and stained. Shower very outdated. The internet wifi is worthless. Not able to really use it. The TV required resetting as it would constantly freeze. I couldn't download anything to my laptop. Has a pull out bed but the mattress cover is stained with...I'm not sure. Kitchen sink is very old and needs replaced. Bed is quite decent, small, but quite comfy. Two beach towels only in the condo. The towels are stored in the musty bathroom cabinet below the sink. Oven is wobbly, but works. Overall, the unit is basic and serves basic needs, but don't expect anything fluffy or efficient.
Can't beat the view. The actual condo facilities are immaculate, pool and spa well-maintained, as is the private beach-we loved the beach! Turtles on the beach daily. Condo close to ABC store, TImes Grocery Store, Maui Brewing, Whalers Village, DT Fleming Beach just up the road, and so is Lahaina. Wouls stay here again, but hoping the owner will appropriately compensate us for our inconvenience.

Room Tip: Small airport RIGHT across the street. You will hear the planes.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lawRN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

First, you have to understand how these properties work. There are property owners and there are unit owners. The property owners do a fantastic job. The grounds are immaculate, the beach is awesome (especially when the turtles come up to sun in the sand) and the pool and hot tub are well maintained, although a bit too warm on the hot tub for my taste. There is free parking. It's a little tight but we managed to park our full size SUV doing some 8 point turning.

Unit owners are responsible for the condition of their unit and it's contents and this is where my negative review comes from. A403 is horrible and I strongly recommend you find a unit other than this one. People have complained about the upstairs bed and downstairs furniture for some time now and the property rental company continues to respond they are working with the owner to do updates. When I read those responses from a year ago, I rented assuming they would be addressed. They weren't. I don't blame the property rental company, but the owner who is obviously happy to take the income but put nothing back into the unit.

There isn't a single comfortable space to sit downstairs other than the lanai. We wanted to spend most of our time out there, but to have no comfortable options indoors to maybe watch a movie or hang out was really disappointing. The couch is beat down so low it's tilted forward and hard to even get out of. The cushions slide out from under you. It has tears in it. There are two old rattan chairs with worn, dirty cushions. The dining chairs are also rattan and have cushions so old and worn they have holes in them.

We slept in the king bed upstairs and one side slopes big time. And it's not the floor. The mattress and box spring are shot.

Despite all of these things we made the most out of our vacation and enjoyed all that the property had to offer. We just went home with aching backs and feeling like we got ripped off considering how much money as we paid for this rental.

Room Tip: All units have ocean views. Don't stay in A403 unless updated.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K9RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018


We stayed at this condo for 6 weeks, Mid-January to February 28, 2018, and we have stayed here previously. It has everything you could want. The view is spectacular. You can see one or two turtles on the beach in front of the condo almost every day. The location of Hale Mahina is very good for us- midway between Kaanapali and Kapalua. For me, the fact that the lanai is shaded in the afternoons is great (and necessary). The owners are very accommodating and quick to respond.
Our only complaints are with the whole property, not this unit. There are not enough parking spaces when all of the units are occupied. This is exacerbated by the fact that the resident manager has 3-4 vehicles parked there every day & night- he should only be allowed one space. And, because of the shortage of parking, the two places where smoking is allowed frequently have cars parked in the way. And the facilities/amenities for smokers are minimal and not so nice. If you are going to force smokers to use only these two areas, they should be nicer and not where cars are likely to park. Lastly, whatever spray is used in the elevators is pretty nasty smelling. I'm sure something with a pleasant scent or better yet, no scent could be found.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank dcraigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay at The Fish Condo. The unit has amazing views of whales and sea turtles, Molokai, and Lanai. The condo faces the west and we had some amazing sunsets. None of the condos at Hale Mahina have AC, but being a top floor unit, A406 had breezes that cooled it down each night. We stayed for a week and wished we’d stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank jdfrankfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Reviewing options for our first trip to Maui, and for a "milestone" birthday, I wanted somewhere we could use as a homebase for our activities but would also give us the option of being able to really feel relaxed and comfortable when we were there.

Hale Mahina is definitely it, and specifically, this condo! Walking in, it looked *exactly* like the pictures -- everything was immaculate and there are no better views than out on the lanai! All the other reviews basically say the same thing -- this place is even better in person than what you see in the photos!

We were even pleasantly surprised -- we had stopped at the supermarket on the way there to get some basics, and found many of them already there as thoughtful touches when we arrived. The kitchen is great for when you want to eat in, and the lanai looking over the grounds/pool/ocean were magnificent. It really looks like a postcard! Everyone we interacted with there, from the resident manager, to a few full time residents to other guests -- were very nice and all were friendly and laid back.

There's an elevator which is awesome, and will help those with limited mobility. However, be aware that I think all units in this complex have three steps down to the main living area (but they are very wide and our unit had a railing as well, which was very considerate). I'm not a senior (yet!) but having a dad who's starting to slow down with walking, I notice these things wherever we travel,, and this unit would have been fine for him to navigate with the wide hallways, the step in shower and open flow throughout the condo.

The location can NOT be beat. Less than a mile away is the Farmer's Market where we quickly got addicted to fresh coconuts and acai bowls. There's a handy folder with all sorts of menus and the owners' recommendations that was fun to look through as well. Lahaina is less than a 10 minute drive away, and we were usually there once a day to just grab one of our meals or wander, or hit up Island Cream Company for some fantastic dessert.

Typically, we scheduled one activity a day, then would come back to the condo to just sit and stare at the water and listen to waves, or go into the hot tub and pool. Even at this time of year, the ocean wasn't too bad, and you get used to the pool being a tiny bit chilly when you first go in. ;) Being from the East Coast both were still warmer than what we'd get in the Northeast in the summer!

From the lanai we even saw whales on the few mornings we thought to look for them and there were turtles 8 of the 10 days hanging out on the beach at some point during the day. We were there for 10 glorious days, and hope to go back!

Working with the owners was easy and fuss free and they have been fantastic in all our communication with them. I can see why the condo and this property get great reviews. Thank you SO MUCH for having such a gorgeous well maintained property! Mahalo!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Altosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews