We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahi mahi tacos to die for”
Review of Maui Tacos Napili

Maui Tacos Napili
Ranked #69 of 272 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: At Maui's Tacos, we've taken the best flavors of Mexico and fused them with the flavors of Aloha! A favorite for locals and tourists alike, Maui's Tacos serves Mexican cuisine with a Hawaiian twist. Join us for our famous fish tacos and our salsa bar.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Great spot. Wonderful fish tacos. Staff is very friendly. You need to, maybe, be wary of the salsas, some are smoking hot.

Thank JohnC1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Glad you like it, John! Hope our salsa didn't catch you off guard. Maybe we'll see you back again in the future?

Mahalo,
The Maui Tacos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

Face it, eating on Maui is expensive - whether you eat out or cook at 'home'. Maui Taco let's you grab a meal out at a reasonable price. This is a chain on the island and can be found in several shopping centers. Great place to pop in for a fusion choice of mexican, hawaiian or 'both'. Serves beer as well as soft drinks. We enjoyed a fish taco plate and a grilled fish bowl. Both were well portioned and fresh, served at the correct temperature and full of flavor. One of the few places on the island that won't break the bank for a meal. We'd recommend for lunch or dinner with a staff full of smiling faces.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ssbrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

We can't thank you enough for the kind words! It's great to hear you're a fan of the food and prices, and we appreciate the feedback. Already looking forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
The Maui Tacos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I really enjoyed my food at Maui Tacos! The first night I ordered one shrimp taco and one chicken taco. During the happy hour time the price was 50% off! The shrimp taco was amazing. They have a nice salsa bar including a delicious pineapple salsa. The next day we head breakfast there. The huevos rancheros were quite good and included rice and beans. We had to wait until 9:00 until they opened. Very casual but highly recommended.

Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

The pineapple salsa is one of our favorites, Regina! It's great to hear you loved the food, and we hope you'll be able to stop by for another meal again soon.

Mahalo,
The Maui Tacos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The meals are served quickly because the majority of the entrees are pretty much sitting in heated pots, just like many Mexican restaurants, prepared. But, it was not bad considering. If you enjoy viewing a parking lot, it is worth the cost of the meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Hi, Dave! Sorry about the parking lot-been like that for 23 years. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal overall. BTW everything is made-to-order with fresh ingredients and as a leader in the fast Casual space we do still try and make the meals as quickly as possible-that's teh key to fast casual. If you're in the area again, we'd love to welcome you back!

Mahalo,
The Maui Tacos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Had a nice meal at Maui Tacos today. Perfect thing to eat after being slightly jetlagged and desperately in need of real food after flying in this morning. Also it gave us the energy to get through the grocery store (five doors down) to stock up our condo where we are staying. Hubby got the #1 (fish tacos), I got the #2 with chicken tacos (one soft, one hard shell...get the soft, they are divine...I wasn't as impressed with the hard shell), and four year old daughter got the kids bean and cheese burrito. Hers came with a regular size drink and a cinnamon crispy tortilla for dessert. We had great, quick service and plan on coming back during our next ten days here in gorgeous Maui.

Have fun, everyone!!!

Thank DVCfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Happy to hear some tacos helped with the jet lag! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we're doing, and we can't wait to have you all stop by again.

Mahalo,
The Maui Tacos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maui Tacos Napili also viewed

 

Been to Maui Tacos Napili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing