We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic (again)!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our 3rd stay with an Aston property (1st time at this location) and the 3rd time we were very happy (3 for 3!). The staff from the initial reservation, to those who greeted us upon check in, to the those who took care of the property (gardens and rooms) were all professional, polite and friendly. It was like staying at a good friend or close family member's home. We felt safe, secure and well taken care of. We stayed there from March 20 - April 3 and it really made our family vacation (again). We've stayed at 2 different Aston properties in Oahu and the experience was the same. Great value, great rooms, great staff, great location. Not sure what else you need on a great location?

Room Tip: Work with the reservation staff at the resort to find the room that suits your needs/budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is very comfortable with very spacious rooms and all the comforts of home with washer and dryer and kitchen with oven/fridge, dishwasher etc.

The pool is very nice as the beach in front is a little too rough and there is also a lot of rocks. If you want to use the pool when it is nice and quiet - try the early morning as there are no kids around. This is a family resort so be prepared for this if you are not travelling with a family.

The beach house restaurant is very good and the service is great. The shuttle buses are great for getting to Whalers Village and Lahina and I do recommend a whale watching tour. The shuttle buses are only a dollar also and two dollars for an all day pass.

All in all, great hotel and location and I would recommend this hotel to my friendsd and family.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank guch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great condo with all the amenities that we wanted. Sandy beach just steps away. Rooms are comfy and roomy. Ours was on top floor and most of the time quiet. Nice restarant onsite for a breakfast, lunch or dinner. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tba57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel hallways are so breezy, you feel like you are outside, when you are really inside. View of the ocean from the balcony. Beach out is front was pretty good. Snorkeling is ok in front, but nearby there are 4 beaches within about 5 minute drive that have amazing snorkeling! Two tennis courts on site in very good condition. Room nice and clean. I loved the free dvd cards. We watched a new great movie every day. Very convenient to the grocery store nearby. Myna birds were interesting, but didn't really bother me. Had a great stay, wife and 5 kids!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchnozzMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, it was for my wife and i to renew our wedding vows. The wedding planner was very helpful, and except for a large portion of the beach being washed away from recent rainfall the ceremony was very nice. Like everywhere in Hawaii the stay here was very expensive. Compared to the resorts of our relatives who stayed at nearby hotels our pool was very clean. We had no problems with booking the events we wanted to from the Expedia reps at the lobby, but looking back we would not have bothered listening to the 2-hour Time Share lecture, despite being told it was not a time share, and told by the staff that it received very positive prior feedback (I found that very hard to believe), just to save a few dollars on the car rental.

Overall, we were very happy with the service and facilities at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Logarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It's April 1st 2012 and this is not an April Fools Joke. We just returned from a fabulous 2 week Hawaiian Spring Break Holiday with the entire family. This was our first stay at the Aston Shores and although a great location in Kaanapali there were a few things they fell way short of our expectations for the $500 a night price tag for our oceanfront two bedroom condo. First, let's talk about the exterior and common areas. The staff did an excellent job of maintaining these areas and the grounds were beautiful. We noticed the pools could have been cleaned better. My boys and I took an early am diving class and I noticed right away the pool cleaning was lacking. Overall the exterior look and feel is pretty good. The only thing I would suggest is that they paint the exterior to give it a fresher, cleaner feel. The hallway carpets and paint could also use a refresher as well.

Our unit had a wonderful wrap around balcony with 180 degree views of the water and beach. All these units are privately owned and the management is responsible to maintain and clean them and on this they fell way short. The furnishings had a lot of wear and tear, some of the vertical blinds were broken and non-operational, some of the furnishings were sun bleached and the overall cleanliness of the unit was poor. To be honest the cleaning staff didn't really seem to care . Some days we had service, others we didn't, some times we had enough towels and supplies, and other times we had to make requests for what we needed whether it be paper towels, dish washing soap, or emptying the trash. Broken lamps were stored in one of the closets, the interior had a lot of wear and tear on the paint job, the bathroom sink fixture was loose and because of no fans the ventilation was poor therefore the sinks had a mildew/mold smell.

The service poolside was also inconsistent. Some days there was an attendant taking orders and other days he was nowhere to be found. I would ask to see a menu and never receive one. The other negative thing I would say it that we felt pressured to book activities directly through them. They do a daily "orientation" about all the tours available and then try to get you to commit right then and there as to what you would book. For example, we wanted to do a Luau and ended up saving quite a bit of money booking through a discount vendor so it pays to shop. You won't get much of a discount on zip lines but you can often get a free ticket for kids 12 and under on certain activities, or save by getting free rentals on snorkel gear, boogie or paddle boards by booking with Snorkel Bob's or one of the other island rental services.

All in all it was a great trip but I would recommend the Aston really take a good look at the housekeeping and guest services as they could really use an overhaul.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on north side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rand4679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

While we thank these visitors for sharing the feedback on their experience, our records indicate that they did receive housekeeping services daily, with the exception of one day when they had a "Do not disturb" notice posted on their door. In fact, there were several days during the stay in which they received more service than normally provided at their request. We will certainly revisit the level of cleaning with the individuals involved in this specific instance to ensure that they are meeting our high standards moving forward. We take pride in our more typical level of service at the resort and are known to provide efficient, effective and friendly service.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

In February I was happy to be able to return to Maui and again stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores.
Having stayed there before, I was really looking forward to it. This stay was once again most enjoyable. The condo was spacious and very clean and comfortable. It was a delight to sit on the balcony each morning and see and hear the ocean while enjoying breakfast. Grocery shopping was convenient with a supermarket across the road.Our living room and bedroom looked out on the ocean. The grounds are lovely and very well kept. The two pools were very inviting. The hotel staff from the folks at the front desk to those in housekeeping couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful or accommodating. My traveling companion needed an oxygen concentrator. It was delivered before our arrival and the bellman had it waiting for us. At the end of our stay, he again graciously took care of it until it was picked up. I hope I will have the opportunity to vacation there again and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Lahaina area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
1.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
0.5 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $295 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing