We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked this place based on the great reviews it has here on TA. We were not impressed, however. On the plus side, it is right on the beach, with plenty of chaise lounges. There are also two pools. We had a two bedroom suite and the kitchen was well-appointed. On the other hand, there were a few negatives. First, our room wasn't ready for check-in at 3:00 on the day of arrival. This appears to be the norm because other people were also having to hang out in the lobby every day we were there. Seems that they need to hire more staff. Second, the rooms are very noisy: we could hear everything being said outside and the elevator bells. Third, the kitchen smelled like cooked fish. Fourth, the bath towels were only slightly softer than sandpaper. Fifth, the grounds were often full of litter. The worst was that they nickel and dime you even though you are paying almost $500/night for the room. There is a $10/day "amenities fee" that includes use of the safe in the room and WiFi, which didn't work. They also charge you extra to use the fitness facility. Overall this place was not anywhere near worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience of these guests. Our team does their best to ensure that suites are available at 3:00 p.m. However, often times the guests who are due to depart that day do not do so by the posted check-out time, which causes the delay. Sometimes they simply misjudge the time and are on their way back from an activity or attraction elswhere on the island. Many take full advantage of the complete kitchens that exist within the suites during their stays. It sounds like perhaps the guests who occupied this suite prior to those who wrote this survey cooked up a meal just prior to departing, which apparently led to some residual scent. This is the first and only time in the last five years and hundreds of reviews that I recall seeing someone say the grounds were littered. Our team is very cognizant of this in particular. Finally, we were sorry to learn that they felt nickel and dimed by the amenity fee. Most guests feel they receive a great value for the fee amount, but at times we do have folks who would have rather we built the fee into the room rate instead of charging it separately. We hope these visitors were able to enjoy our beautiful island overall and are sorry there were some disappointing moments for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our second stay at the Ka'anapali Shores in Maui and once again we had a great time there. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Very nice and clean rooms, beach is great for us (I know some don't like it, but we do), pool is great, and the food at the restaurant is fantastic. Snorkeling off the beach here is great, lots of different fish and other critters. We will be planning our next Maui vacation here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked through Hotwire's Blind discount rate and could not have been happier. The place was top notch and the staff was friendly and helpful. Having the beach right on the resort was the icing on the cake. Our stay was in November on 2011 and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Room in the corner is slightly larger, plus an ocean view without the up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ctallen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay. The motel was great, the staff where so friendly and helpful nothing was to big a deal. Our room was great, it was very large, very clean and had a great kitchen. The view from our room was nice and the motel grounds were very well kept. The beach was fine and the pools/spa were also very good and clean and we had plenty of towels. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good we never had a bad meal there. The location of the motel was also very good as it had a great supermarket across the road, subway and a couple of other food shops. there was also a very very popular and great pizza shop there as well. A car is a must on Maui. Over all a great stay (9 days) and we will be back....thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bx203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very nice resort. I agree that I was overwhelmed by all the paperwork I received at check in, but I won't complain about potentially helpful Information. the 2 bedroom was very nice and perfect for our large family. The beach is nice, but be sure to bring water shoes as it is rocky in the water. I do wish there was more shaded seating at the beach and by the large pool. I can't be in the sun much and would appreciate some umbrellas and beach chairs (other than the lanais you have to pay for). All the employees we dealt with were friendly and the room was very clean (this is the #1 most important thing to me). I only left with one negative feeling: we had a situation in the middle of the night and informed the staff. They took care of it immediately the next morning and we even received immediate follow-up calls. All this was great EXCEPT not once did we hear the words "we apologize". We were informed of what was done, but never got a simple apology for the situation and inconvenience. I am a former hotel front office manager for Marriott, and I would have apologized and sent a gesture of some sort (credited account for something, sent fruit, etc.). This surprised me. Overall though, a nice hotel. We enjoyed the free hula show on Wednesday night (not enough seating though...get to the pool early).
pool early).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our first trip to Maui. I'd say that overall our seven nights stay at this hotel was very good. Location is great - across from the hotel is L&L Bar-B-Q which we loved and Times Supermarket where we were able to buy our breakfast items and toiletries. The room that we got was 910 (the pent house floor) and had the ocean view as I had specifically requested. The staff members were all courteous and friendly. One minor comment I have to make though is about the towels. Some of the replacement towels had stains on them which made them look dirty and there was that one day when the cleaning person came in the morning as we were on our way out - she was there for less than ten minutes, I heard her spray something in the bathroom and then after that she said, she was done. But I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms could mean partial view. So if it is your first visit to Maui just like ours, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxiT993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

There are a lot of positive reviews for this, so I'm not going to recap everything that is good about this place. In short, the location is great, the pools are wonderful, and the room that we (eventually) stayed in was clean, well-maintained and had a great view.

This could have been a truly awesome stay but for a couple a minor and major problems. We booked a one bedroom with an ocean view. Be warned: there are two types of one bedroom units. The first unit we got was on the south side of the complex (room 746). We arrived very late and were pretty disappointed with our room, which didn't look like the pictures on the internet at all. The bedroom faced the parking lot, and had a teeny window at the top of the wall which let in no light. The mattress felt like a sack of potatoes and smelled funky. The bathroom was tiny and run down, had peeling paint, missing grout etc. The whole unit was run down and depressing. Since we got there late, we called the next morning to complain. To their credit, they moved us to a unit on the north side of the complex (room 611), which was larger, better maintained and actually looked like the pictures on the internet. I think they shouldn't charge the same amount for the two different kinds of rooms because they are not even in the same class. So be sure and specify that you want the larger one bedroom unit on the north side. Overall, I rated the rooms at 3 because our first room was a 1 and our second was a 5.

The second problem that we had was with housekeeping. Like most people here, we got up pretty early and went to bed pretty early. After a day outside, we would head back to the room around 3 or 3:30 to shower up and head out to dinner. 4 out the 6 days we were here, our room wasn't clean by 3 pm. Ironically, on one of days they showed up early, they didn't give us a complete set of towels so I still had to wait 30 minutes to bring the towels so I could shower. 30 minutes? Really? Most days we were lucky if the room got cleaned by 3:30, but it was usually closer to 4.

One bright spot of our stay was Gary, the pool waiter, who is not only a hoot but also seems to understand customer service. If they had a staff full of Garys, this place would be running like clockwork. This place was hit or miss on other small things too (internet, restaurant). I'm on the fence as to whether we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cablover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

We were glad to read that these guests were provided with a unit that met or exceeded their expectations the day after they arrived and that they enjoyed their stay overall. We appreciated their feedback regarding the unit first assigned them and have sent our service team to assess the maintenance and housekeeping needs. We maintain a high standard when it comes to quality control and will look into how this unit potentially slipped through the cracks, as it is not at all representative of our overall conditions. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,340 reviews
1.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
9.3 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $341 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing