We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
US$349
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$397
US$389
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$485
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$242
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$709
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,712)
Filter reviews
2,712 results
Traveller rating
1,294
925
310
130
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,294
925
310
130
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe beach club restaurantfull kitchengrocery storealoha suitegarden poolocean viewamenity feewasher and dryerstrip mallbedroom condoon site restaurantjava jazzparking feetennis courtsper daybeautiful groundsfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
2,155 - 2,160 of 2,712 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Just returned from a week stay at Kaanapali Shores. We had 5 people in a two bedroom ocean view condo. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Staff was the friendliest I have seen. Beach was ok for swimming and snorkeling was excellent. Also snorkeled black rock and that too was excellent. Grocery store across the street was good and there is an ABC store just up the street. There is a lot to do on Kaanapali Beach. Parasailing was good, but kind of boring. We took surf lessons from Royal Hawaiian Surf academy and they were excellent. I would highly recommend them. Kimos is an excellent restaurant for both lunch and dinner. We also ate at Moose Mcgillycuddy's and found the service was good as was the food. I was dissappointed in cheeseburger in paradise in Lahanina. They had poor service and the food was not that great. We did an 8 hour charter fishing trip with Aerial Sport fishing. They are located in the Lahaina Harbor. We had an excellent trip and caught a lot of Ono and Mahi Mahi. Also went to the Old Lahaina Luau. I would go if you can. It was a great experience. A little pricey but it does include a great meal and all the drinks you can drink...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfm1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I booked the condo through Hawaiian Air package. I paid extra for a oceanview unit. I got a free upgrade to a 2-room unit on arrival. However, the unit was on the building as the main entrance. It was probably 200 yard away from the beach. There were a garden, two swmming pools and a restaurant between our building and the beach. Eventhough we were on the sixth floor, we could only see some ocean from the lanai. I learned that the "Oceanside" units are the ones with the real view. Like other reviews pointed out, there were a lot of birds in the garden in early and late hours. You need to keep the window shut if you don't want to be awaken with the bird noises.
Everything was clean and in proper working order inside the condo. Having two bedrooms, two bathrooms and washer/dryer turned out be really convenient. The kids swimming pool is reasonable big. However, it did get cold in late afternoon when the sun was blocked by surrounding buildings. It was very windy in the Kaanapali area late afternoon during our stay. It was too cold for us to swim in the pool or the beach after 5 pm. The beach was very nice. The sand was soft and not too crowded. The width of the beach is a bit narrow especially in high tide. For swimming and snorkeling, you have to walk 50 yard south to find the opening in the rock/reef. Snorkeling was good especially for beginner.
What we like most was the surrounding area. It was pretty laid back compared to Kihei. We could get good value foods and groceries within walking distance. There is a good pizza/sub place, a large groceries store and a snorkel gear rental shop just across the street. 5 minutes walk north, you can get fresh poke from the fish market, good fusion chinese/hawaiian/western takeout and fresh produce from the farmer market. Line was short at all those places. If you want to stay put to relax, avoid the busy Kihei and don't need to eat fancy restaurants, this might be a good place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The place was very clean and well maintained. The condo didn’t have a blender but we asked and they brought one to the room very promptly. There is a grocery store across the street; I was told it was cheaper to buy stuff somewhere else but the prices to seem to bad and it was very convenient. The beach in front of the condo is very rocky but if you walk down a little ways you’ll find a spot to wade in and start snorkeling. Lots of fish and the occasional turtle if you enjoy snorkeling. Take a visit to Napli Bay for the kids and Black Rock for great snorkeling.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kickmyrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Our family of 7 people, including one infant and toddler, stayed at this resort for 10 nights. Overall we've had a very good experience with this place and would stay there again.

Pros:
1. Convenient location. It is located on a west shore beach within a walking distance to a convenience store. This was very handy as we had to buy food and supplies for our small children almost everyday.
2. Recently renovated rooms are very nice. Of course there is a chance that you may not get one when you check in.
3. Great view even from garden view rooms. We did not expect much from our garden view room, but upon arrival we were surprized to find out that the view was great and we could easily see the ocean from our rooms and from the balcony.
4. Clean and nicely landscaped hotel grounds that include 2 pools, hot tubs, small ponds, grass lawns, etc.
5. An excellent snorkelling place called "Kahekili Beach Park" is relatively close. It is about 20 minutes walk or a 5 minutes drive from the resort.
6. There is a free wireless internet access.

Cons:
1. The parking fee is $9 per day and there is a fee of $2.50 per day for using the in-room safe.
2. Hotel does a regular room treatment against cockroaches. We did not see any cockroaches before the treatment, but we saw a few small ones after the room treatment.
3. The public access printer in the lobby did not work when I had to print out the boarding passes.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rus5898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2009

From the welcoming lobby, plush grounds, spacious, comfortable rooms, and gorgeous ocean views, this hotel has it all! The room we had was beautifully decorated with newer appointments, full kitchen with cookware, washer/dryer in room, and romantic walk-out balcony to view the spectacular ocean sunsets. If you want to eat in, sit on the balcony and drink your coffee, or just lounge in one of the 2 pools or hot tubs, it's here. The beach was sandy and just on the other side of the hotel grounds. The on-site Expedia staff was more than happy to book you on a Maui adventure to snorkel, helicopter ride, eat at a luau or ride a zip line.

The hotel staff was accommodating and took care of everything from cleaning the room to delivering a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary.

The hotel restaurant served up decent food and was nice for eating dinner and watching the sunset.

The two outdoor pools were warm, clean and popular - very kid-friendly. Guests we met were generally friendly and helpful when discussing what adventures they found fun and which ones weren't.

Probably the only complaint I had was that the in-room TV's were a little small (< 25 inch) and not flat screen/LCD.

Heartily recommend this hotel for individuals and/or families.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67firebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews