We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Nearby Hotels
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$220
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$405
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Kahana(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$222
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,710)
Filter reviews
2,710 results
Traveller rating
1,293
925
309
130
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,293
925
309
130
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe beach club restaurantfull kitchengrocery storealoha suitegarden poolocean viewamenity feewasher and dryerstrip mallbedroom condoon site restaurantjava jazzparking feetennis courtsper daybeautiful groundsfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,710 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2018

We had a 2 bedroom / 2 bath suite with an ocean view. Fully functional kitchen, washer/dryer, safe, balcony, free Wi-fi, free parking.

Comfortable living room. Kitchen and bathroom counters and cabinets have been upgraded. Granite counter tops. 3 TVs (2 bedrooms and living room). Ample parking connected to the building.

Beautiful grounds.

Lots of shopping (groceries, gifts, spas, etc.) near by.

Not sure if it's because I'm an Embarc (Diamond Resort) member, I had to check in first at the Ka'anapali Beach Club (building next door) before going to Ka'anapali Shores to get my room keys.

I was also told that guest staying at the Ka'anapali Shores can also use the facilities at Ka'anapali Beach Club, but not vise versa.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masiew2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Aloha masiew2017! Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our corner of paradise, and that your accommodations, view, and location all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again in the future. A Hui Hou! (until we meet again). Mahalo and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We visited Maui for a week in January celebrating a friends 40th birthday, we had accommodations at a private residence for the majority of our trip but stayed at the Kaanapali Shores our last two nights. I was impressed with he property, it was nicer than I was expecting. Check in was easy to our surprise we were upgraded to an oceanview one bedroom from the studio that we had reserved. The condo (unit 619) was perfect, nicely updated, spacious with a full living room, fully stocked kitchen and private bedroom and bath. The unit also has a washer dryer and two closets. It was perfect for needs. We were here in the winter, the surf was high and there was no beach, I would imagine that other times of the year there is a nice beach in front of the condos. The lack of a beach wasn't a big deal at all, there are MANY beautiful beaches with in 5-10 minutes of the property. The restaurant on site is nice to have, we ate lunch there one day and enjoyed it. They have a pool bar and serve food and drinks around each pool. Happy Hour specials daily 2-5pm. The staff was accommodating and kept our belongings prior to check in and again after checking out, we didn't want to have to worry about all our belongings being in the car. Only reason not to give the property 5 stars: The birds at night and early in the morning are VERY loud, also windows are very thin making the nice from the pool pretty loud. Over all I would for sure book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Aloha Lisa! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your stay, and that our staff, accommodations, entertainment, location, and dining all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

After staying here 8 Times, this visit I was put on the ground floor with view only of shrubs and sidewalk and heard noise from the kid’s pool. I also could hear conversations from walkers on the sidewalk. After complaining, they agreed to move me 2 days later. My travel agent specifically stated in my reservation that I had been there on numerous occasions but they had no record of this. This was very disappointing and I certainly expected more. Maybe it is time to reconsider my hotel choice in the future.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SouthernMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Aloha SouthernMarilyn, Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for the discrepancy on your reservation. I'm pleased that we had the opportunity to discuss this further the other day and that we were able to move you into another room on a higher floor. We wish you a very special birthday Hau‘oli Lā Hānau on this trip and truly value and appreciate your return business with us. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We stayed at the K-Shores Resort on the 8th floor. It was a beautiful 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo with kitchen and laundry. It was perfect for my family. Everyone had enough room and the kitchen and laundry meant we could make our own meals.
There is a supermarket (which is open until late) and other shops across the highway, access to public transport, taxis and Shopping Shuttle was really easy and it just made for a pleasant holiday.

The two pools (one with waterfalls and night time lighting) and spa kept my 7 yr old extremely happy, there was always pool lounges available (some with moveable sun shades) and the on site restaurant was handy and had nice meals. Look for the eel in the aquarium....it's HUGE! The pool bar (and happy hour) was a favourite amongst the adults also. Towels were easy to acquire and did not require a deposit like some resorts we have been to.

The view out to sea was really nice, we could hear the waves crashing on the sea wall at night and see whales playing out at sea during the day, but we also experienced nature at its best with the 6.30am and 5.30pm migration of the black and white minor birds. Nothing that can be done about it, but just be aware as they are LOUD!

Having an Expedia tour guide on site was a bonus, we planned to attend a Luau at a nearby Hotel but was offered the option of attending the Drums of the Pacific at the Hyatt Regency....WOW. Great show, delicious food and cocktails included and if you have a look around the grounds of the Hyatt, you will find birds, koi ponds, turtles and penguins! The Expedia staff were friendly, knowledgeable and willing to assist with anything that you desired to do.

Overall, the resort was beautiful. It did lack a beach, as others have said, but that was not a deal breaker for us. We found a very small section of beach at the northern end of resort, just off the footpath where the canal enters the sea, where we saw sand crabs and made sand castles. The water was very wavy with lots of coral and rocky outcrops which prevented us from snorkelling out from the Hotel, but we did go to Black Rock, a short drive away, and snorkelled there. Alas, no sea turtles on the day we went :(

Overall, it was a wonderful end to our US holiday and I would recommend this place to others, especially if you want a relaxing holiday that has a good blend of pools, sun bathing, activities and night life, with nature still at your doorstep.

Room Tip: The building is designed so each condo will have at least some sort of ocean view, but the higher floors may be more unobstructed.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Aloha Nicole and mahalo for sharing your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you got a chance to enjoy the spectacular ocean views. We're also glad that our friendly staff made you feel welcome and we appreciate your kind feedback. We'd love to welcome you again for another wonderful stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

The resort has a great location. It is right on the beach. The supermarket is across the street and very convenient. You can surf and snorkel at the front of the resort. The location is perfect for beginner surfer. The wave is not crazy big. More sandy beach is only a couple of minutes walk away. The pools and garden are beautiful. The apartment we stayed has new furnitures, which are beautiful. The view from the room is great. We saw whales jumping from the lanai.

We loved the boardwalk, which was a couple of minutes walk from the resort. We walked all the way to the Whaler Village. We have been this resort a few times. We were surprised to see new updates every time. We loved the new tennis court and the shuffle board. The kids' pool lit up at night with colourful lights. The other pool was so close to the beach, which was just like being on the beach. The garden is just renovated, which looks lovely.

The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Lee1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Aloha Lee1618! Thank you for a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your stay, and that our staff, accommodations, entertainment, location, and dining all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews