We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveller rating
578
419
117
74
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
419
117
74
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaway cafebanyan buildingcoconut buildingaloha towerfull kitchenblack rockgarden viewwhalers villagefree trolleysmaller poolbeach walkmain buildinggreat beachonsite restaurantstudio condobeach towelsgeneral store
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Like others have said, every room is different so there is a definite lack of consistency. Our kitchen was not well supplied for plates, cooking utensils etc. They have beautiful barbecues that you can use but our unit didn't have a set of tongs to even flip with meat with! Our unit was 512 in the Aloha Tower.
If you can get a room near the main pool, that is definitely the best spot for families.
The staff was very good and very friendly. One of the gentlemen (he was a bit older-I didn't get his name) at the front desk was so sweet with my daughters. He had just popped a bag of popcorn for himself but when my girls started salivating, he gave it to them. As others had said in their reviews, don't be afraid to ask to see other suites. We looked at another one upon check-in but wound up going with the one we were assigned after all.
I think for the location, it's a very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first visit to Kaanapali Villas. We came here with our Kids and my Parents. My Parents have been to this resort 10 times and absolutely love it!!! This is why we decided to join them.
All in all its it nice, the gardens and pools are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. It is an ownership resort, so not all rooms look the same. Ours was nice, a little dated but nice.
It could have been a bit cleaner. I don't think they cleaned under the bed once while we were there.
The bedding was not great, I asked for an extra blanket and the blanket they brought me belongs in the garbage, it had so many holes in it.
I found the Gym a bit dirty as well, but thankfully there is a great beach walk there that lasted for some nice runs along the ocean.
The location of the place is nice, that beach is a bit steep, but 100 m down in front of the West Inn is a great place to snorkel. The beach rental place has all you need to go snorkel, Kayak or Paddle board.
Its great to have the free Trolley to drive you to whalers village every hour, its about a 20 min walk to get there.
The little beach restaurant has awesome breakfast, but the wednesday night pasta dinner was a bit disappointing.
All in all we got what we expected, we booked at a 3 star resort and got a 3 star experience.
It was a nice family vacation with the Kids and my Parents.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyistReiselustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms are dated and the furniture is... hmm... not my style :-)

anyways these are condos, so you have a full kitchen included. problem is each of them is different but not only in terms of furniture style but also quality.

ours for example had a sacking bed (really sacking). so we asked the front desk what they can do about it and they immediately offered us to change the room (they couldn't replace the mattress as it was 11pm). so we saw some other rooms and it kind of shocked me that you basically can get an awesome room or an ugly one. as i understand each of them is owned by a different person and aston is only administrating them.

although the location is great i would probably not book it again.

one very positive point: in the main building you had really thick walls (concrete) to your neighbours. so you couldn't hear them and it was therefore very quiet. definitely a big plus as most of the hotels in the US have "paper" walls.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We requested a studio, garden view, with two beds. We were told when we checked in that all the two beds were gone and we would have to accept a King. They said you can only request a category and not beds. If I had know this we would not have booked this hotel/condo. They did bring in a roll a way for us. The room itself was very big and great. The garden view was of the street and to see the garden we had to go outside. Just be aware that you probably won't get what you want unless you want a king size bed as they only have 4 studio garden view rooms available.

Room Tip: See my review
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sewsforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our fourth stay at MKV (and my sixth stay) and while it wasn't our best experience, we still feel it is a great choice. The best thing about this resort is its beach (gorgeous, less crowded) and the location - in the center of Kannapali Beach and within easy walking distance of all the resorts on the beach and Whaler's Village, and a short drive to Lahanina area. The property grounds are beautiful and we felt that the landscaping was the best we've seen it. The disappointment is with some of the rooms which require updating. We were assigned a lovely room (514 I think) at first, but it had two single beds instead of the king bed we had booked. We were then assigned room 404 which was very small with very dated and dusty/dirty decor and furnishings, and backing onto the parking lot with not much of a balcony. We stayed one night in 404 and were then lucky to get room 114 which was bigger, nicer decor, and with a nice patio area. The main issue with 114 is that the bed was very uncomfortable and the 4 pillows provided were very old, worn out and flat. Also the refridgerator froze everything, the AC unit was very noisy, the sliding door to the patio was very difficult (and noisy) to open and close, and the patio and patio furniture were very dirty. While these are all just little annoyances, we feel that some of the rooms could use a spruce-up. Usually the desk staff are excellent, but this visit we kept encountering the same grouchy desk clerk. We also usually love Castaways restaurant but had one disappointing breakfast so didn't go back this trip. The best thing about Castaways is not necessarily their food, but rather the gorgeous view from the tables located along the beach. All in all, we still love most things about the MKV, but we will pay more next time for what will hopefully be a better maintained room. We stayed in one of the rooms in the Dolphin building the time before (Feb 2011) that backed onto the pool area -- we were going to try and book this same room again directly through the owner, but were concerned about having to sleep for a week on the somewhat uncomfortable "Murphy" wall bed located in that room. In hindsight, that "Murphy" bed was much better than the bed we had in 114.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a balcony or patio area with room to sit out as some balconies are standing room only (no chairs). When you find a room you like, try to get the same room next time.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjmggftmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews