We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston at Papakea Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$271
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$491
US$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$396
US$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$386
US$349
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$268
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
420
403
172
91
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
403
172
91
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaui dreams come trueputting greengrocery storesea wallocean frontliving roomshuffle boardsandy beachfarmers marketbeautiful groundstennis courtspools and hot tubsc unitground floorwasher and dryerthrough vrbofull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Me and my husband (25 years old) stayed at Aston Papakea in October, 2011. Till this day I can't forget this place. We booked garden view studio, but when we came, we been upgraded to oceanfront studio, which was simply amazing! They have whatever you need in a modern, fully equipped kitchen. Our studio was at first floor, so we have a huge glass door infront of breathtaking ocean. Every day you could watch amazing sunset at your own terrace and every night you can enjoy the sound of waves. Grounds was very beautiful and clean. Yes, there is no sand infront of this resort, but it's not a big deal, you can go to neighbourhood beaches. Loved to spend our evenings at jacuzzi near the huge palm trees, looking into gorgeous sky with stars and listening sound of the ocean. Sooo romantic!
Maui was our heaven on the earth.
Thanks Papakea for best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Get a oceanfront condo, it's 100% worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Papakea the last week of February. We chose it for the oceanfront studio location they offered and we weren't disappointed. Our room was 20 yards from the ocean. We got a ground level room so we could walk right out of the room to the beach (not that there was much beach.) The room had a window we could leave open at night so we could sleep to the sound of the waves. The room was okay, clean but nothing special. The pools were small and the grounds were nice grass and tropical plants and very tropical feeling. Probably because of the small pools, there weren't a lot of kids, so it was nice and quiet at night. It wasn't real close to the beachwalk on north Kaanapali beach, but since we walk a lot we were able to walk to the beachwalk and go for a way on that.

There was a grocery store and a few small eating places plus a Snorkel Bobs within walking distance, which was a big plus.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lvziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in unit G404 for several days and found it to be a wonderful, comfortable and well-equipped unit. The Papakea was immaculately maintained just as it was on our last visit in 2007. The kitchen had all of the tools we needed even including barbecue tools, dishwasher soap, microwave popcorn, coffee, and filters. Our unit was privately-managed (many others are managed by Aston resorts) but it was very clean, up-to-date and well-equipped. There was an air conditioner that we never turned on (when you're coming from the State of Washington in February you are soaking up every degree of heat you can possibly absorb) but just let the sweet-smelling trade winds blow through the unit. We played tennis on the beautiful Papakea tennis courts, putted mini golf, did some time at the shuffleboard court, soaked in the Papakea hot tubs (102F), and washed sand off at the Papakea sand showers at the waterfront. Mostly, though, we were off around Maui trying to visit every nice beach on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in this unit for a week in February and loved it. The owners have done an amazing overhaul on the unit and it is high quality top to bottom yet tasteful and comfortable. They are also very organized and strict with the cleaning which we really appreciated. Everything in the kitchen was classy and they didn't miss a thing. We kept discovering little extras as the days went by, it became quite the joke "and they have THIS as well!". We rented this unit through Chasin' Rainbows (a local agency) and they were very helpful with any requests we had.

They also supplied a couple of boogie boards, tennis racquets, putters, nerf ball and nice beach towels for our use. The pool and hot tub were very close (and quite hot, I was impressed). The lanai was directly over the ocean - and this may be my only complaint - I never thought the ocean could be that loud! It was just the way the waves crashed on the reef. What a complaint to have though. We slept with the lanai doors open for airflow so I just slept with earplugs but no one else in my group had any difficulties with the noise - they loved it.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, would definitely recommend the unit to anyone who wants a clean quality vacation unit. This was the highlight of our stay.

Room Tip: Units are individually owned and they range from the original 70s decor to very modern and upscale. Make sure you see the unit you are renting if it matters to you.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2Luvbrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Rented K401, 1 BR w/ Loft from a private party. The unit was nice and came fully equipped. Even had a couple of boogie boards and snorkel packages available for your use.

The views are beautiful and you can lounge beachside and watch the whales. Although the beach is unusable (coral reef) it is still great to sip a POG & Rum drink or slushy Pina Colada.

There are grills available for use if you wished to pick up fresh fish or steak at the local supermarket. (One across street and Safeway in Lahaina just 2 miles away).

Room Tip: Unit L is beach facing and offers the best views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5CMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews