We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay with a family on Kanapali!”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We planned a trip to Maui to get married and also the 50th wedding anniversary of my parents. We had friends and family staying at other hotels and condos along Kanapali, (14 of us in all) and by far, the Alii was the BEST! The staff, the cleanliness, everything was so perfect! Without a doubt the best place to stay for a relaxing retreat. The pools, the grounds, the tennis courts, the gym were superb. We highly recommend the Alii to anyone visiting Maui and we look forward to our next stay! Thanks to the staff at the Alii for all their hard work and dedication to making the Alii the best place to stay in Maui!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor condo that was absolutely spectacular! Close to pools and the beach for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location, beautiful unit, unbelievable view. We were in room 442 and would recommend it highly. This is our third trip, the first two being about 20 years ago. It's even better than I remembered. Love the outdoor grills and eating area. Loved the cabana with TV's to watch the Presidents Cup with other golf fans. Staff was great. Everyone always knew our names. We had family staying next door at the Westin, but most of the time they hung out at the Alii. Such a convenient location. I can't say enough....it was heaven!!!!

Room Tip: Building 4 ocean view was great. You get a great view of the ocean and a beautiful view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We've been to the Kaanapali Alli several times and look forward to spending Christmas there this year as well. This is a perfect location and place to stay for families. We are a family of four and the two bedroom two bath units are fantastic! We dont even rent a car as we can walk all around the area and there is so much to offer everyone.

The beach is beautiful and clean. Just walk out front of the Alli and you can swim, surf or just lounge. They have chairs and even Cabanas you can rent for the day. It was a treat for our family to have a cabana for a day while we were there. The pool was recently renovated and is beautiful. They offer both a quiet pool and a family pool. It's great to have options. The pool is open late and they have BBQ's for you to use. They even clean them and have the utensils and all needed. Fantastic!

They offer a concierge service by the pool. Beware of Wendy! She is rude and will quickly talk about the person she just helped as soon as they walk away. I saw and experienced this a few times. If Wendy is working, we go out of our way into the little pantry store and have someone else help us! The lobby is nice and the staff otherwise wonderful!

The workout facility is great and included with the price. The hours are long as well. If you are on Eastern time it's great to get up early and workout before the sunrises! Great early hours! They can even arrange a massage if you ask! Great staff!

Love the ability to use other hotels and charge back to our room. We can even charge at Whalers Village and have it on our room bill when we go home. It's all we could ever ask for! Cant wait to return for the holidays! We've stayed at several places in Hawaii and found this a perfect fit for our family!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PANJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We have stayed at the Kaanapali Alii many times. This is our first trip back since they renovated the pool area and built a new work out facility. We had a one bedroom 2 bath ocean view unit. The den had been converted into a bedroom so we really had a 2 BR 2 bath unit. The unit(191)was beautifully furnished and had everything we needed when we decided to cook in. The complex has 2 pools and 2 jacuzzis and a nice wading pool for little kids. One of the pools and jacuzzi are designated as "quiet" areas. There is a large outdoor room adjacent to the pool area with two big screen TV's so you don't miss any of the big games. There are plenty of chairs around the pool and at the beach and a pool staff ready to help you. There are several very large barbecue grills near the pool that are meticulously maintained by the staff. KA is close to Whaler's Village where there are many shops and restaurants if you don't want to cook or barbecue.
Kaanapali Alii is perfect for families or couples. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We recently returned from our girl's vacation booking 1 premier ocean front and 1 premier 2 bedroom oceanfront. I have been vacationing at this resort for over 15 years with extended family and friends, so I am familiar with many of the rental units. This was the first time we experienced a small but disappointng decline in the units. One unit #464 was lacking kitchen equiptment. The other unit (#482) was also lacking decent kitchen bowls pans ect.and was very out dated. When we mentioned this the next day they did offer to move us, but we were already settled. Overall, the units were clean. Housekeeping was great. I think perhaps the owners have cut back on the quality of furnishings due to the economy?? I can remember staying in some beautifully furnished units, but when I asked if they were available, I was told they were already booked. I will probably return to this resort again, but I will check out the beds,kitchen ect. before settling in.

Room Tip: Check out beds for comfort, and be sure kitchen has what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our family of 4, my husband and I and our 2 children, 10 and 8 stayed at the Kaanapali Alli in December 2010. It is absolutely beautiful! The grounds were immaculate and well kept. I wish I could remember the room # we stayed in but cant....We booked through American Express and have no regrets whatsoever. It was a one bedroom with den (which was more like a 2nd bedroom with the sliding doors added for privacy) It was not considered the "premium" room and I was worried but it exceeded my expectations!!! The full size washer and dryer was an absolute lifesaver. I didn't realize how much we would appreciate having it until we were there. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. Full size stove/oven and fridge. The views were amazing! I know its more expensive but, if its possible, I highly recommend going during whale season. You don't even have to go on a whale watching trip to see them. We were sitting on the beach and glanced out toward the water and a momma and her baby both breached just off the wave break!! AMAZING!!! We watched whales from morning to night. This resort doesn't have a restaurant on site but its easily a 5 minute walk to whalers village for a lg. variety of restaurants to choose from. Oh, almost forgot, go the old Lahaina luau, its the best!

Room Tip: We didn't have a full ocean view room but the views from the lanai and the master bedroom were b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelemtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We splurged on an Ocean-Front, Ocean-View, 2bd, 2ba condo and could not have been more thrilled. The unit was clean and spacious, with room for our family of five to spread out. Having a fully-equipped kitchen made it easy to eat breakfast and lunch in, and our kids actually preferred their sandwich-on-the-lanai to the one lunch at Hula Grill!

Most of our days were spent going back and forth between the beach and the pools. When it rained, the kids went in the hot tubs.

Great location close to Whalers Village and the Westin (for the luau).

We definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: If you can at all afford it, get the ocean view. we had a high corner unit and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
9.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
505 reviews
37.9 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.3 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
36.8 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $620 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing