We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Condos on Kaanapali Beach”
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaanapali Alii
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
120
Reviewed 4 April 2005

We recently returned from our 5th stay at the Alii; 4 of those visits we stayed in the same 2-bedroom unit. Our unit is privately owned (from what our rental agent tells, he/she owns 6 units in the Alii) and is beautifully decorated. I do believe that we have been lucky because our rental agent is very particular and requires the owner(s) to update/replace furnishings before they take it on as a rental. FYI: The rental agent is Maui Beachfront Rentals ----------- . I am most sure that Classic Resorts (who manage the Alii) also manages/rents a good number of units in the Alii; that is, could be those of which are less desirable. It boggles my mind that people owning condos costing 1 to 3 million dollars would let them fall apart, but.... Nonetheless, we have been spoiled by our wonderful stays at the Alii and plan to vacation there next year--in the same unit. You couldn't ask for a better location. Has anyone stayed at the Marriott since it changed to a time-share?

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2005

My family and I just spent 8 wonderful days at the Kaanapali Alii. We could not of asked for a better place to stay. We had an ocean front - premier room - expensive, but worth every penny! Our unit was well decorated, spotless and huge. The staff are extremely helpful with everything from bringing in the groceries to booking tours. The grounds of the condos were kept immaculate and very pleasing to the eye. Although the pool area is small, the pool and the area around it were kept very neat and clean and the fresh lemonade was a nice touch. Condos are situated right in the middle of Kaanapali beach which makes it handy to get around. We will definately stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank hummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2005

This place is not worth the money. Some of the units are dumps so beware. Each unit is separately owned so if you do complain about the unit their excuse is I'm sorry all units are separately owned and it's up to the owner to decorate it. You would think when a unit is looking pretty dumpy and hasn't been redecorated since the early 80's the resort management would tell the owner to bring it up to par or the unit would not be rented.

It feels terrible to walk into a unit you payed close to $500 dollars a night for and have your heart sink because the unit is just so horrible inside. This was or 4th time on Maui in 5 years and this is the most dissappointing place we have stayed and the most expensive.
The rooms are a crap shoot, they should have 3 categories premier, average and dump. Some units can be really nice though so if you do get a nice one you've hit the jackpot and the money is worth it. Go direct through owner to get a nicer one.

The reason I did not give this place 2 stars is because of it's one redeeming quality, the wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. When I was near tears because the room they put us in was horrid they managed to find us a much nicer room the following day, but still not worth $500 a day. All the staff were great from the pool staff to housekeeping to the front desk.

I would choose the Whaler over the Kaanapali Alii anyday.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank lovin'maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2005

11  Thank Marci_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2005

9  Thank CPNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brentwood, CA
19
Reviewed 10 February 2005

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2005

21  Thank northwestnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
9.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
523 reviews
37.9 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
38.5 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,121 reviews
3 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1990
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $569 - $1,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Alii 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing