We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet complex and close to Kaanapali beach area.”
Review of Kaanapali Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaanapali Royal
Reviewed 16 October 2009

A girls trip!
We stayed in one of two 1st floor units in Building E. Very spacious condo in a quiet complex. Plenty of room for us five crazy ladies. We had a wonderful time. The unit has a nice view looking across the golf course towards Whalers Village.
It's a easy drive to the beach or you can have fun dodging golfers and sprinklers and enjoy the walk.
Lahaina is a short drive.
The owners were very accommodating and the reservation process was easy and pleasant. The kitchen was stocked nicely and there were plenty of linens.
Even though the unit has not been updated in a few years, we would choose to stay here again.
Note: Even though this is a 1st floor unit, there are stairs. Luggage has to be hauled down/up to the unit.
If you like sushi - try Sansei's in Kapalua.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWinSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

We just returned from our stay in the Kaanapali Royale #J303 - our stay exceeded our expectations in every way.

The unit was updated with all of the latest and greatest stuff. The lanai is huge. Open the front door (it has a nice storm door) and let the trade winds flow through the unit.

The location is awesome - a 2 minute walk to a nice deli (with awesome shaved ice treats), a pay-as-you-go fitness center ($15 per day or $55 for the week) and we even used the "zip line" company that meets in the same complex.

Tip - after landing at the airport - stop at the Costco very near the airport and pick up the "bulk" stuff that you need for your stay. Eat breakfast on the lanai and save the $$ for your dinners.

The highlight of our stay was the 8-line zip line that meets very close to the Kaanapali Royale. FUN STUFF -

We are already looking forward to our next stay - recommend to anyone?? ABSOLUTELY!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheCandleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

From the moment we drove into Kaanapali Royal we knew we were in for a treat in paradise. The grounds are beautiful with yellow, orange, and pink flowers amongst others and unit J303 on the third level was perfect for us. This unit is exactly as it is described and very accomodating!

We loved the instant hot water, the views, the comfy couch and beds, and OMG the shower upstairs is huge! Actually we loved everything about this condo and we really dreaded leaving. We were able to park right out back of our condo and this was convenient for taking in groceries and luggage.

*Definitely book at least 7 days here on Maui, there is plenty to see including Lahaina, Honolua Bay, Molokini, Hana Highway and so much more. You can drive just north of Kaan Royal and park and walk down to Honolua Bay and snorkel for hours.. just take your snorkel equipment and a towel.

Maui is a beatiful paradise and this condo was a perfect home during our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank zzeternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

The condo itself is quite nice but very noisy from the highway that runs along side of it. My family (husband, wife two children ages 5 and 9) were harassed from the moment we arrived by people in the building about making noise. We were told to not talk on the lanai after 8pm nor were we permitted to sit out on the lanai past 9pm. If we were on the lanai past 9:01pm there was a knock on the door from security telling us to come inside and close the doors. Our children were accused of jumping in the condo when we were not even there. The pool closes at 9pm and at 8:30 we were told not to talk in the pool, jump or make any splashing noises. They even went so far as to call my husbands cell phone to complain about us. There are two old barbques and they are filthy and greasy.Today the children would like to go to the pool but the pool is closed for a condo meeting. This is very upsetting to us because we have paid a lot of money to use the facilities on our vacation. I would never recommend this location for a family vacation. This is a very unfriendly location and we will go back to Waliea next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
16  Thank NorthVancouverzigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Our family stayed at the Kaanapali Royal in July and though we certainly didn't let it ruin our vacation it was not a very good experience. We booked through Hawaii Vacation Condos, Inc. (has some affiliation with Chasin' Rainbows). We made a specific request for wireless access as I have business I must conduct in a 5 hour stretch one day a week while away. The unit did not have wireless access so I had called right away to remedy the issue. I was told "I'm sorry" by Hawaii Vacation Condos and it was suggested perhaps I could use the coffee shop across the street. For the task at hand and a 5 hour slot that would be impractical. Further I was told they would see what could be done and call me back. After waiting a couple hours I called back and was told Linda had gone home for the day. The wireless internet issue was never resolved.
The unit was also missing keys other than the one in the lockbox and had a very strong mildewing/musty smell. Eventually I was led to Chasin' Rainbows and was told by them that they are older units and the smell is normal. Yikes! On the keys I was asked several times to search the unit and at one point it was implicated that it was our fault for not waiting until the right check in time of 3pm. I'm not sure what the connection of check in time and missing keys is but I do know it states on the confirmation sitting on my desk the check-in time is 2pm not 3pm.
After resolving ourselves to the smell, missing keys and internet and seemingly lack of concern by either Chaisin' Rainbows or Hawaii Vacation Condos, Inc. we decided to grill some shrimp and steak. After preparing the food I went to the grill and found it to be absolutely filthy. We gave the grill a good cleaning only to discover there was no propane. It took 2 days to get the propane tank filled. We tried the public grills by the pool but were in no mood to clean them as they were just as filthy as the one on our lanai.
After finding the keys missing I went up to the office to inquire if they knew anything about the keys. The staff member present was much more concerned about her MySpace page on her computer than any problem I might be having with keys. I had to return with my car information to get a parking pass and she stated she should have locked the door because it was past closing. Yikes!!
Finally, on our 3rd or 4th night we ate dinner and wanted to use the hot tub. The unit information book in our unit indicated the hot tub/pool area was open until 9:30pm. We wandered over at 9pm only to be told by the disinterested security guard the pool area closes at 9:00pm not 9:30pm. In and of itself not a big deal but on top of all the other issues and lack of attention to detail it was just one more nail in the coffin.
Service businesses can have problems and we understand that especially when we vacation and measure them not by whether there are problems but how those problems are handled and resolved. On this account Kaanapali Royal and the rental agencies failed miserably. Our only salvation is to hope we can save another vacationing family from a disappointing lodging experience at the Kaanapali Royal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed for five nights at G 302. The condo was air conditioned and in beautiful condition. THe owner was accomodating and we had tons of space (1800 square feet). The unit was a ten minute walk from the beach and really very well located. We found this unit to be a great deal - lots less expensive than staying right on the beach. Very quiet (maybe a little too quiet0. I would highly recommend staying there. One slight detraction - no window treatments for those of you who need darkness in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shoshanna-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We just returned from a trip to Maui in June 2007. We booked a 2 br/2 ba condo at Kaanapali Royal condominuims in Kaanapali through [--]. The booking was easy on the internet and you can see pics of all the units for rent. Booking and checking in went very smoothly. The condos are individually owned at Kaanapali Royal and individally decorated, so its nice to see the pics on the web. We rented Unit G201. It was fabulous - even better than we expected. We had all the comforts of home and more. It was clean and apparently newly remodled. The kitchen appliances and fixtures, TVs and furniture were brand new. We even had high-speed internet access. There were 2 king beds and a king pull-out sofa. The unit slept 6 very comfortably and was spacious enough that we never felt cramped. The condos are situated on the Kaanapali golf course - not the beach. But we did walk down to the Whaler's village and the beach in about 10 mins. The walk back a bit of a hike because of a great big hill. In all the walk was not so bad, but there is a public trolley if you can find it! The condo property is quiet and beautifully maintained. The pool was lovely - even better than the pics. There are 2 BBQ grills you can use by the pool. I would highly recommend this property and unit to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 km away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
845 reviews
0.4 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.4 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.5 km away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#21 of 32 in Lahaina
848 reviews
2.9 km away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 43 in Lahaina
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Royal

Address: 2560 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1989
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $426 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaanapali Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase ‘N Rainbows (CNR) Real Estate, Inc. is a Maui based, family owned company established in 1980 with two divisions: vacation rental management and real estate sales. For the past twenty years, CNR has been offering visitors and Kama’aina alike, affordable and luxury accommodations at a very competitive price. All of its vacation rental units are carefully selected, meticulously inspected, attractively furnished and well maintained to the highest standards. CNR is committed to providing the finest product and unsurpassed personalized service in the industry. These condominiums come highly recommended by leisure, business, and family travelers with distinctive tastes. A significant number of satisfied, return guests speak for the company���s service commitment and quality product. Chase ‘N Rainbows is a proud member of the Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau (HVCB), The American Society of Travel Agents (ASTA), Maui Visitors Bureau (MVB), Hawaii Association of Realtors, Maui Chamber of Commerce, and Vacation Rental Managers Association (VRMA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaanapali Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Royal Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Royal Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing