We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
boring-oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved the location. easy walk into town , lots of restaurants,bars,shops and cool art galleries.the hotel is a bit dated but this is lahaina ( an old town ) not kaanapali. bed was nice. staff was helpful, when we told them we needed another fry pan they had one there by the time we got back from the store. maid service was good they made sure you always had fresh beach towels. the pool / hottub area was clean with plenty of lounge chairs. have to use room key to enter onto beach which is a good security measure . the ocean out front is shallow, only waist deep not good for swimming or snorkling just cooling off, would be great for families with small kids.heard raves about Betty,s cafe happy hour I dont see why they only had 1 food item on it and very weak cocktails. a better deal was right nextdoor at Stumpytown they had 2 ahi-ahi tacos for 6 bucks all day long and reasonable drink prices.also check out Moose McGillicudy,s for live music and stiff drinks. sunrise cafe down by the marina had good breakfasts for cheap.( HAWAII CHEAP THAT IS) for real beer go up to Kahana and Maui brewing co.the only place I could find an IPA on the island , good food too.

Room Tip: if your on the mt. side choose a higher up room or it will be a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malibuman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    396
    95
    33
    20
See reviews for
151
647
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We mostly stayed at B&Bs in Hawaii - this was our only "resort" so I expected something a little more luxurious. They still use actual keys to lock the room, and they don't really have internet access: if your laptop still has an ethernet port, then you can access the internet that way, but I got the impression that it wasn't free. (I was told the ethernet cable connects you to the cable company, and after that, internet access is between us and the company.) Parking involved an extra fee.

All that said, however, I will report that the beds were quite comfy, and the view from the private deck was very nice. Our toilet wouldn't flush when we first arrived, but they sent someone to fix that pretty quickly once we complained. And they had a pool, hot tub, and beach access, which was nice.

So, I don't regret that we stayed there, but if we go back to Lahaina, I think we might try one of the other resorts.

Room Tip: Halemahina, Maui's norther volcano, is a much more interesting view than the ocean, and mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

loved the view of the mountains such a beautiful world.the housekeepers was very pleasant .The staff made us feel real welcome ,will definitely come back.loved it.

Room Tip: any room you get is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We arrived New Years eve exhausted after an 18 hour flight from the east coast. We were booked in and given our keys. Yes remember those? The hotel doesn't use electronic keys, a definite security issue here as they can easily be duplicated. We arrived at our room and were very pleased to see that they had upgraded us to an ocean view, but with a catch. Instead of two doubles, we were given was a queen and a cot. We immediately discussed this with the front desk. There was nothing they could do. It was New years eve and they were fully booked. Gee thanks. I sucked it up and took the cot. The next day i again discussed this with the front desk. I felt disrespected. They moved us to another room with two doubles as originally reserved and upgraded to ocean front. Thanks but i still feel disrespected. The first room was dirty. The hallway carpeting was filthy and stained. Cabenets wouldn't close in the room. The tub had a permanent dirty stain. The second room was nice. I was told that the rooms are condos and the owners decide when to do the upgrading. Good luck with that. Were we the brunt of an overbooking pratice? I'll never know. We met a couple from our fligtht the folllowing morning during breakfast, they weren't impless either and will not return. The renovated rooms are nice, make sure you get one.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StinkyandStinkpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

In the evenings we enjoy walking and poking into shops, reataurants, museums, bars that have some really great local bands. Lahaina Shores is at the beginning of a lovely walk along the water where you will find all of these fun things to do. There are also several walking tours available.
Lahaina Shores is so much nicer than the larger, boxier condos in other areas. The one we stayed in was kind of retro, very large and clean. I definetly recomment ocean view. The large verandahs are so peaceful and beautiful at night and in the morning for the first cup of coffee!
The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful!
Because we were on a 4 island, 15 day vacation this location was ideal as it had laundry facilities on several floors.
If you aren't into the huge condo complexes or the 5 star , expensive hotels this is the place for you!

Mahalo and aloha

Room Tip: Oceanside, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I will start by saying that I do not own a condo at Lahaina shores I have stayed here over 15 times ( in different rooms but all on the oceanside) in the last 3 years mostly long weekends from the West Coast.
The main complaints fall into 2 categories the construction noise and the room condition. The main remodeling construction of the lobby area and the external structure is now over so the construction is now contained to individual rooms
The problem with the rooms are that they are all privately owned and as such are in very different condition. Some are great some are terrible.I am sure most people are shocked when they get to there room after looking at the lobby they probably think they stepped into a different hotel. The lobby area and furnishings do not honestly represent the room space and furnishings you will stay in, in most cases.
In an attempt to correct the this disparity between the lobby and the rooms the ownership have made it mandatory to upgrade rooms for people in the rental pool , this will fix the problem but in the meantime there will be construction noise in individual rooms as they are being remodeled. I have stayed while a room close by was being remodeled and the noise was not that bad but then again I am in Hawaii so I spend most of my time on the beach during the day not in my room.
In conclusion I would say that Lahaina Shores is a great place to stay, the alternatives are huge resorts that give you the feeling you could be in any place in the world . I would suggest 2 things, first call the front desk directly before you arrive to make sure you are getting the room you want ,( they also have slightly higher priced rooms that have already been remodeled ). You can also book the rooms from the owners directly at VRBO and these tend to be nicer rooms but are also usually a bit more expensive as they charge a cleaning deposit. I think it worth it to spend a bit extra to go home with great memories as opposed to the people that commented on how bad their room experiences were.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank d j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The pics of this Hotel doesn't compare to when you see it in person. We walked in our room we had a spectacular view of the mountains. The sliding door was open we were so excited we were taking pics with our cell phones and texting our family and friends back home. Yes to make them jealous. ha-ha

The housekeeping ladies were so sweet. We had a studio with King bed. We originally were suppose to have 2 twins but we didn't care. The bed is comfy.

Everything is within walking distance. Would definitely return. Actually can't wait to return I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustanggirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
9.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
14.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
28.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
7.4 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing