We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay, will def go back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay, will def go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay here. Loved it. Perfect location, hotel is a little dated, no wifi, no restaurant on site. But great lil bar next door and convienience store too. We loved that it was just walking distance from town and had its own little private-ish beach. Fantastic place to watch the sunset!
Rooms could do with an update, our was very old school Hawaii. but had eveything we needed.
No real complaints!
would go back and def reccomend people to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    401
    96
    33
    21
See reviews for
157
659
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Pros:
-LOVED the location - this was the best part. It is right in old Lahaina, away from the tourist trap up further north around the large resorts and the mall. There is a little restaurant right next door that has a great breakfast, and lots of restaurants dotted throughout Lahaina.
-The View - We had an ocean-view room with a lanai, which I think we had to pay slightly more for, but it was worth it. There was a luau at the restaurant next door, but the noise wasn't that annoying, and we could watch it (sort of) from our lanai.
-There was a kitchenette, which made a week's stay great! We could make some of our own meals and keep the cocktails cold!

CONS: The only negative was that the bed was a murphy bed that wasn't all that comfortable, but we are pretty easy to please so it wasn't a huge deal. Also, I believe each unit may be individually owned (? - not sure about that), and our unit's furnishings were slightly outdated.

I would recommend this place if you want a little better value than the bigger resorts, and enjoy being a little away from the toursity feel.

Room Tip: I can't remember how much more it costs for a beach view, but it was SO WORTH IT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in room 531 which was a premier room. Tile floors, granite counter tops and solid wood cupboards, very nice. Perfect location close to bars and shops, service & staff were very friendly. The pool was a disappointment to me, I found it very cold, but overall it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for premier room. Others were upset with the state of the carpets in some regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The ocean was a rocks throw away from our lanai, and the sound of the waves put us to sleep every night. My favorite part of our vacation was leaving the lanai door open and listening to the waves crash, and sitting out on the lanai each night and morning watching the beautiful ocean (during whale season people see many whales from their lanai).

The resort is pretty small which makes it very intimate, and I have never stayed anywhere where the ocean is that close to your room.

The condo style room was big and had everything we needed. The full kitchen was nice and we had a few breakfasts and dinners in our room.

The bed came down from the wall, which was nice because it gave us more room when we weren't sleeping. The bed was unbelievably comfortable which was surprising considering it came out of the wall. We have never slept so well in our lives.

The hotel is quiet and the views are breathtaking. The location is very nice because it is at the end of Lahaina, so it is not in a busy location, but it is only a couple minute walk to all the restaurants and shops. There are also some restaurants and stores right next door which is very nice.

The hotel welcome/information breakfast was very appreciated. We booked our excursions here. The Road to Hana tour, a snorkling excursion, and a Hawaiian Luau. We enjoyed all of the excursions.

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice and helpful.

The pool was also very clean and had a nice view of the ocean. It was small, but since it is a small hotel, it was never overcrowded and was just big enough.

The beach area does not have much sand and is very rocky and shallow. With water shoes, it is a nice place to take a quick cool-off dip, but it is not ideal for swimming. There were a lot of people paddleboarding though since it is the perfect location because there are not many waves during the day. Some people were also snorkling a little further out. There are some beautiful beaches pretty close by though so we rented a car and drove to some of the nicer beaches a couple of times. The view from our room and the relaxing atmosphere made up for the not so ideal swimming conditions.

The hotel is a great place to go for a relaxing retreat, either with friends or family. There is not much to offer for kids, but there were kids there during our stay and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. I would recommend it to couples, honeymooners, babymooners, and people that just want to relax and are looking for an amazing view.

It did not have the typical hotel feel, it was more like a home away from home. We would return to this location in a heartbeat.

We were very sad to leave after 6 days.

Room Tip: I would recommend an Ocean view room. The mountain view is also spectacular, but the sound and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My only negative is that there isn't wifi (I'm used to staying at places w/wifi), otherwise, everything else was pretty good! The location is great, at the south end of Lahaina's main "downtown" core. You can easily walk to the main shopping strip, where all the restaurants and shops are. We had a mountain view room, and the mountain view is great. I was a little concerned that I would regret not getting an oceanview room, but it was gorgeous. The studio had plenty of space and there was a balcony where I had breakfast each day. A Foodland grocery store is at the other end of the shopping strip (so we drove over there, to avoid having to walk back w/heavy groceries), but it's definitely walkable too. The room wasn't one of the newest remodeled ones, but was still fine. The towels were great, housekeeping did a great job each day. No complaints about the room, really.

Parking was $8/day, not too unreasonable I suppose. The price of the hotel even w/having to pay extra for parking still seemed worth it. The beach in front of the hotel area is really short (from the exit of the hotel to the water's edge is only a couple feet). You can watch the sunset over the water comfortably from the pool area, where there's lots of lawn chairs on the grass area.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank croelin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I searched long and hard for where to stay in Maui. We decided we wanted a place within walking distance of Lahaina shops, bars and restaurants. This was the only property that seemed to fit this. I was hesitant the the resort may be a little dated as the photos didn't do it much justice. I actually ended up booking direct with an owner of one of the studio apartments through VRBO (listing #48744). Her apartment was completely remodelled and very modern. Despite being a studio, it was very spacious and had everything you could possibly need. Washers and dryers were just down the hall and you could buy detergent (enough for 2-3 washes) for $1. Convenience shop was right nearby as well as dozens of amazing restaurants and bars.
Pool and spa were great. Plenty of sun lounges. Front desk were quite helpful. I'd highly recommend to everyone.
This was the highlight of my trip, which is strange since we stayed at the St Regis Princeville too. I think in terms of value for money, restaurants, location and amenities it just comes out on top.

Room Tip: Stay floor 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel while in Maui. I was extremely pleased with the service, room, location, and staff. The staff is what made this hotel so great. Although there are not a lot of amenities like room service and fitness area the staff makes up for it. The room we had was nice and recently updated. The Lobby has a spectacular view. The location is great for access to all of Maui and you can walk to many different restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
9.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,648 reviews
14.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
7.4 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing