We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condo, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condo, Great Views”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Mahana the week of March 5th. After much rate research, we reserved the room directly from the Aston website a few months ahead and did get somehwhat of a discount for staying 6 nights. We went with the one bedroom 'preferred' condo. Their site will tell you this will mean one bedroom, two bathrooms and modern finishes such as granite counters in the kitchen,etc. We were in unit # 415 and it was very nice. One full bedroom and then a Murphy bed in the living room area. The unit is small but they made good use of mirrors which made it feel larger. Bathrooms were good sized and the main bath had a jetted tub. The views from this complex are unbeatable.You can't get any closer to the ocean than this. We came at this time of year primarily to watch the whales and although we encountered some record setting rainy weather, the views of the whales from the unit were amazing. We did get good housekeeping service daily. Parking at the building is easy and close. The pool is small, but the beach is right there so not really a concern. Only disspaointment was that the weather was not good enough to snorkel. Maybe next time! We did quite a few other things...Iao Valley State Park, The Maui Ocean Center Aquarium, Whalers Village and Lahaina shopping and some restaurants that I will review under their respective categories.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first or second floor if you value privacy. You can easily see directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTnLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    476
    96
    50
    11
See reviews for
434
1,034
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was one of our stops for our honeymoon and it was beautiful! We got a room on the ground floor which opened to a great beach! Service was great too. the room was fully equipped with a kitchenette, washer, dryer and all of it! Bathroom could have been bigger and better but waking up to a non crowded beach, ocean sounds and waves made up for it! Hotel staff was always courteous and efficient. All in all, great hotel and a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor which opens up to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HItesh_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Dumpy hotel with lumpy bed. No services and staff unhelpful. On a beautiful beach, but no beach chairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMarf18, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I have disputed this review as I do not believe it is a description of a unit at this resort. Aston Hotels & Resorts has a minimum standard for all units as people can ascertain by reading from the hundreds of other guest reviews.

Mahalo,
Mark Klaschka
General Manager
Aston hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I were a little leery about booking a hotel based on internet reviews. It seemed this particular Condo has two types of units, one is managed by the owners, the other a professional management company. Based on reviews we read on line, we went with the professionally managed unit. We also requested a recently renovated unit, which included granite counter tops, newer appliances, and in general a renovated bathroom and common areas. We were not disappointed. We were in room 508, and it was fabulous. The view was incredible and we could watch whales play right outside our unit. We had maid service daily, and Susie did a great job. We also had coffee replaced daily. The unit had a washer and dryer which was great, we were able to bring less clothes, and therefore less luggage. The location is also wonderful with access to the boardwalk where we spent a couple of nights at Duke's, enjoying Happy Hour and good food. There was a grocery store nearby, however the Safeway in Lahaina had better prices. We were also able to make arrangements for activities through the Local Expedia Expert, Susan. She was available in our lobby daily and she arranged our trip to Hana, our sunset dinner cruise, and a show which included dinner at Ruth Chris. We had a great vacation, and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would advise getting a room that is professionally managed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jikaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mahana Feb 12-28, 2012 and enjoyed it very much. Like everyone has mentioned you are very close to the beach and the views are amazing. We had stayed on the 10th floor and our unit had everything we could want. It was very modern and must have been recently remodelled with the granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer etc. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and helpful as was Susan at the conciege desk. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance if you want as there are none on the Mahana property. Dukes is about a 2 minute walk south, the Ka'anapali Shores (sister resort to the Mahana where you get a 10% discount) has a restaurant about a 5 minute walk to the north to name a couple. The Time Supermarket is about 3 blocks away (short walk) and has everything that you would expect from a large grocery store. Even a wide selection of beer, wine and hard liquor. Also things for quick meals like rotisserie chicken, sandwiches and salads which we enjoyed as it was just the 2 of us and we didn't want to do a lot of cooking. The Pizza Paradiso is in the adjoining strip mall which had great pizza, also Subway, Java Jazz (live entertainment) to name a few others.

We went to the Old Lahaina Luau as well as a couple of tours. The sunset dinner cruise (2 hours) and the Molokini crater and Lanai snorkeling tour (7 hours) which were all excellent. The tours were through Pacific Whale foundation and I would highly recommend each one as well as the Luau. We drove around the island quite a bit and explored a lot of the beaches on the west side from Big Beach to Honolua Bay. We didn't drive the Road to Hana as over 600 curves and 50 narrow bridges in 50 miles and then turning around and doing it all again didn't seem like a great way to spend a day to us. A lot of people we talked to really enjoyed the Hana trip as well as the drive to the top of Haleakela to see the sunrise.

I went snorkeling every day as there was lots to see right in front of the Mahana. We had walked along the beach to Black rock (where the Sheraton is) and beyond, nearly to Whaler's Village, a few times as the beach is perfect for walking. I saw at least 1 sea turtle 14 out of 16 days as well as numerous fish and rays. We even saw some sea turtles on our beach walk about 10 feet from shore as well as a few Hawaiian Monk seals that had come on shore to sleep. You can't really walk a long way north along the beach from the Mahana, maybe 10 minutes, as it gets too rocky. The walk to Black Rock from the Mahana must be close to a mile so a few times we just drove the car to Kahakili park which is about half way and went to the beach there. That was my favourite spot to snorkel and you didn't have to walk all the way. To get to Kahakili park from the main road you turn right on Kai Ala road which is the second set of traffic lights after you have left the Mahana and are travelling towards Lahaina on the highway. About a 5 minute drive and they have showers, washrooms, big parking lot and picnic areas as well.

We drove into Lahaina quite a few times, about 4 miles south of the Mahana, and enjoyed it. Lots of shopping and restaurants on Front street. A fun and safe place. Parking can he hard to get sometimes but there is a large free parking lot at the far south end of Front Street near the school. Overall we really enjoyed Maui and staying at the Mahana was definitely the right choice for us.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a balcony. Try to get one on a higher floor to get better views, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trader53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks at this condo resort. It was a great place to stay. The beach was nice and the views from the lanai were amazing. The staff was friendly and Susan was fabulous. Go through the gate and walk the path to Whalers. The walk will take you to some awesome beach locations. We will stay again on another visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our family enjoyed staying in this fully equipped beach front hotel. We stayed in many beach front hotels before but never felt so close to the water. The view was magnificent and it was so convenient to access to everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
6.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Property: Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. An array of onsite amenities include swimming pool, jet spa, covered outdoor barbecue areas, and tennis/pickleball. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing