We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Nearby Hotels
US$491
US$479
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$367
US$359
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$283
US$215
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$397
US$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$440
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$254
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,308
498
112
51
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,308
498
112
51
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowssusan ramosocean frontfull kitchengrocery storeliving roomwasher and dryerpremium studioeither directiongranite countertopslanai and molokaipalm treesour honeymoonroad to hanapool and hot tubjava jazzcoral reef
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was one of our stops for our honeymoon and it was beautiful! We got a room on the ground floor which opened to a great beach! Service was great too. the room was fully equipped with a kitchenette, washer, dryer and all of it! Bathroom could have been bigger and better but waking up to a non crowded beach, ocean sounds and waves made up for it! Hotel staff was always courteous and efficient. All in all, great hotel and a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor which opens up to the beach!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HItesh_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Dumpy hotel with lumpy bed. No services and staff unhelpful. On a beautiful beach, but no beach chairs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMarf18, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

I have disputed this review as I do not believe it is a description of a unit at this resort. Aston Hotels & Resorts has a minimum standard for all units as people can ascertain by reading from the hundreds of other guest reviews.

Mahalo,
Mark Klaschka
General Manager
Aston hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I were a little leery about booking a hotel based on internet reviews. It seemed this particular Condo has two types of units, one is managed by the owners, the other a professional management company. Based on reviews we read on line, we went with the professionally managed unit. We also requested a recently renovated unit, which included granite counter tops, newer appliances, and in general a renovated bathroom and common areas. We were not disappointed. We were in room 508, and it was fabulous. The view was incredible and we could watch whales play right outside our unit. We had maid service daily, and Susie did a great job. We also had coffee replaced daily. The unit had a washer and dryer which was great, we were able to bring less clothes, and therefore less luggage. The location is also wonderful with access to the boardwalk where we spent a couple of nights at Duke's, enjoying Happy Hour and good food. There was a grocery store nearby, however the Safeway in Lahaina had better prices. We were also able to make arrangements for activities through the Local Expedia Expert, Susan. She was available in our lobby daily and she arranged our trip to Hana, our sunset dinner cruise, and a show which included dinner at Ruth Chris. We had a great vacation, and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would advise getting a room that is professionally managed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jikaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mahana Feb 12-28, 2012 and enjoyed it very much. Like everyone has mentioned you are very close to the beach and the views are amazing. We had stayed on the 10th floor and our unit had everything we could want. It was very modern and must have been recently remodelled with the granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer etc. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and helpful as was Susan at the conciege desk. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance if you want as there are none on the Mahana property. Dukes is about a 2 minute walk south, the Ka'anapali Shores (sister resort to the Mahana where you get a 10% discount) has a restaurant about a 5 minute walk to the north to name a couple. The Time Supermarket is about 3 blocks away (short walk) and has everything that you would expect from a large grocery store. Even a wide selection of beer, wine and hard liquor. Also things for quick meals like rotisserie chicken, sandwiches and salads which we enjoyed as it was just the 2 of us and we didn't want to do a lot of cooking. The Pizza Paradiso is in the adjoining strip mall which had great pizza, also Subway, Java Jazz (live entertainment) to name a few others.

We went to the Old Lahaina Luau as well as a couple of tours. The sunset dinner cruise (2 hours) and the Molokini crater and Lanai snorkeling tour (7 hours) which were all excellent. The tours were through Pacific Whale foundation and I would highly recommend each one as well as the Luau. We drove around the island quite a bit and explored a lot of the beaches on the west side from Big Beach to Honolua Bay. We didn't drive the Road to Hana as over 600 curves and 50 narrow bridges in 50 miles and then turning around and doing it all again didn't seem like a great way to spend a day to us. A lot of people we talked to really enjoyed the Hana trip as well as the drive to the top of Haleakela to see the sunrise.

I went snorkeling every day as there was lots to see right in front of the Mahana. We had walked along the beach to Black rock (where the Sheraton is) and beyond, nearly to Whaler's Village, a few times as the beach is perfect for walking. I saw at least 1 sea turtle 14 out of 16 days as well as numerous fish and rays. We even saw some sea turtles on our beach walk about 10 feet from shore as well as a few Hawaiian Monk seals that had come on shore to sleep. You can't really walk a long way north along the beach from the Mahana, maybe 10 minutes, as it gets too rocky. The walk to Black Rock from the Mahana must be close to a mile so a few times we just drove the car to Kahakili park which is about half way and went to the beach there. That was my favourite spot to snorkel and you didn't have to walk all the way. To get to Kahakili park from the main road you turn right on Kai Ala road which is the second set of traffic lights after you have left the Mahana and are travelling towards Lahaina on the highway. About a 5 minute drive and they have showers, washrooms, big parking lot and picnic areas as well.

We drove into Lahaina quite a few times, about 4 miles south of the Mahana, and enjoyed it. Lots of shopping and restaurants on Front street. A fun and safe place. Parking can he hard to get sometimes but there is a large free parking lot at the far south end of Front Street near the school. Overall we really enjoyed Maui and staying at the Mahana was definitely the right choice for us.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a balcony. Try to get one on a higher floor to get better views, not obstructed by palm trees and a little less noisy (waves).
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trader53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks at this condo resort. It was a great place to stay. The beach was nice and the views from the lanai were amazing. The staff was friendly and Susan was fabulous. Go through the gate and walk the path to Whalers. The walk will take you to some awesome beach locations. We will stay again on another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews