We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-Very Nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a great place. Older establishment but well maintained and well appointed. The room was clean. It's beach side so that was fabulous and there is a pool too. As everyone know Hawaii is expensive so to stay at a place that has a kitchenette is a pocket saver - the Napili's amenities was outstanding. The pots, pans, dishes, knives, blender, toaster, food seasonings (some of it better than what I have at home) and two bbq grills on the property. I'd like to say again how well maintained this property is and it is.
My only complaint about Napili Surf and I only have one is the bedding: the mattress and pillows. The mattress was soft like a marshmallow and the pillows soft like air infused cotton balls...HORRIBLE. Everything else at the Napili Surf was so wonderful but that bedding - ugh!

Room Tip: We did not have a room with an ocean view and we enjoyed our stay nonetheless, but if you could affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a home exchange in Hana and got tired of the rain so we sought refuge at the Napili Surf Beach Resort. What a great decision! Our studio was on the second floor, overlooking the ocean and was beautifully furnished with a well-equipped kitchen, a comfortable king bed and a lovely little terrace where we sipped our wine and enjoyed the sunset. Napili Surf is small and friendly and perfect for those who want to get away from the ubiquitous high rises on the west coast.

Room Tip: Try for second floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisontinsley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent three nights here after two nights in Wailea and enjoyed this place more. It was very quaint. We had a lovely view of the beach with our ocean view studio. Napili Bay is gorgeous and this resort is right on it. The staff were very friendly as were our neighbours. We were quickly invited over to mingle with our neighbours who return here every year and I can see why. It's a lot less pretentious than Wailea and just a more relaxing experience. Loved listening to the waves at night. The condos themselves are very well stocked. We didn't do a lot of cooking, but it would have been easy to. We had a murphy bed but it was very comfortable. The only negative is the light outside the main door lit up the room more than we like to sleep in, but we dealt with it. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a great little market to buy food a close drive away. We would come back here again for sure and would spend more than just three nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanioVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Well we knew it was gonna be good but it was better than we could have imagined. The setting is in what we feel is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Away from the city lights of Lahaina and the commercialism of Kaanapali. If you really want to party and kick up your heels 'til all hours by all means do it........ but please don't do it here. This is a very adult oriented setting. The folks that stay here want peace and quiet with the sound of the waves breaking on the beach on Napili Bay all night. The condo had everything we needed. The bed was huge and all the appliances were in great shape. We really enjoyed the location and views of whales breeching between Napili Bay and Molokai. That was a thrill.
The staff is friendly first and very professional. After a few days we felt like family. Scott, the General Manager, Mirissa, Alena and Shannon all are so guest oriented and friendly they could teach a course in hospitality. Mirissa makes the best corn bread on the BBQ on Friday morning coffee gatherings. Do not miss that. The maintenace crew is skilled and friendly too. They have a :"can do" attitude and if there is a problem they fix it immediately. We truly love the Napili Surf and the way we were treated as guests. This is a first class operation. We have already booked a reservation for 2013. Mahalo to the crew at Napili Surf.............you're the best.

Room Tip: Try to get in a condominium with a separate bedroom and a view of the ocean. Preferably 210 or 209...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ColoradoBrian5468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Our unit was a Garden Studio and extremely comfortable - very spacious for two people. The kitchen was so well equipped to the point of ridiculous - a full spice rack, a blender, a sieve - you name it!! There was a BBQ grill for the guests' use and we did this one night, because we found the nearby restaurants (with the exception of the Gazebo nextdoor, which doesn't serve dinner) to be of a poor quality and very over-priced. The unit was cleaned to a high standard every day and towels changed etc.

The only downsides I can think of (for us) is that being in our late twenties we were the youngest guests by at least 40 years. We wanted somewhere quiet - we don't like obnoxious parties and lots of noise - but we just felt very conspicuous! However everyone was really friendly, so this wasn't a big problem at all. Another is that the laundry of linens seems to take place in a truck that parks right outside the units and powers the washers/driers with a diesel engine. Not great for the air quality in the immediate proximity, but it didn't really bother us because we were out during the day.

This is not a criticism, just an NB: the pool and other maintenance begins at 6am. It is impossible not to hear it if you sleep with the windows open for the cooling breeze. But, Hawaii seems to be an early-to-rise, early-to-bed kind of place, so we just went with it and it didn't matter too much!

Overall, I would highly recommend this place - if you wish for a quiet, relaxing break on a great beach and don't mind driving to restaurants or making your own food, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

On a previous trip to Maui, my husband and I happened upon Napili Bay while snorkelling in the area and we thought it would be a good location for us to look at when we returned to Maui. It turned out to be even better than we could have expected. We thought the area of low slung condos on a nice bay/beach would be more our style than a resort or high-rise type place.

Our goal was relaxation and snorkelling and Napili bay offers both. A nice central area for checking out the bays on the west side of the island, walking distance to Kapalua and lovely views across the water as well. The unit we chose was a 2nd story studio that looked out toward the bay but is not considered oceanfront. The room was quite comfortable and offered everything we needed. It was nice to have a kitchen (all appliances were full sized) and we loved sitting on the lanai. One night there was a 'mai tai social' where we enjoyed complementary drinks with other guests as the sun was setting--we were somewhat surprised to find that many of the guests make the Napili Surf their vacation destination year after year. Everyone was so nice and you will likely find us here again....as one of the repeat visitors requesting the same perfect room.

A short walk by beach or street lands you at the Sea House restaurant which is a great place to enjoy happy hour and enjoy the bay view. Other restaurants within walking distance: The Gazebo, Merrimans and the Pinapple Grill. Grocery store also within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are well equiped and each has its own patio (1st floor units) or balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kristin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Our family has been going to Napili Surf Beach Resort for years. In fact, every time we're in the islands we stay here. The location is prime. The staff are great. And the hotel is perfect for a few days of relaxation. Though the beach directly in front of the hotel can be crowded at times, the snorkeling is still fair. Walk around the southern point of the Napili Bay and you'll find even better snorkeling (and many many turtles) with a bit of a rougher entry. The staff are helpful and there weekly happy hours, and weekend lei making for the kids. The hotel is very calm. The noise from the beach never really reaches the grounds. It's a perfect place to just relax and enjoy being in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Our family always enjoys the rooms on the ground floor. That way your walk out you door, and are alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durangotang911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 km away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
391 reviews
0.4 km away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
885 reviews
0.2 km away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#21 of 43 in Lahaina
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $156 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing