We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Value, Great Service and Location”
Review of Napili Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Village
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Napili Village. If you are like us and need a nice place to crash when going on daily adventures in Maui this is the place to stay. The best part about this place is the management. Rick is very friendly and personable and so helpful. He made us feel at home. He also saw we had a little one and brought us beach toys and a boogie board for us to use while we were there. He also was great for recommending restaurants and activities for us. The location of Naplil Village is wonderful. The walk to one of my favorite beaches on the island is less then a block away. On one side of Napili Bay is a nice calm ocean that was great for our 15 month old on the other side of the bay is a place with rocks that is great for snorkeling with turtles. Just beyond those rocks on the beach is Gazebo restaurant which is good for lunch and breakfast. Starting right at the condos next door is a long trail along the ocean which leads you though lava fields, dramatic cliffs and great surfing and snorkeling beaches. The room was clean and had everything you need to make food at the condo. The pool was nice, but with the ocean right there we didn't get a chance to use it. The grounds was so dotted with pretty pulmeria trees with orchids growing on them. It has a great feeling of being laid back and at home. If you looking for a place to stay while you explore Maui this is the place. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel to spend all your time in this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artbyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

The caretakers are a family that live on the property, so they treat it as they would their home. They are the ones always helping you, answering your calls, giving you free use of snorkles, body boards, fins, beach chairs, surf boards....everything you could need that everyone else charges you to rent. They are what makes this place special. The bay here is AMAZING. we paid $200 plus to snorkle and we saw more in our bay (turtles, millions of fish, eel, squid...etc) for free. If I go back to maui, this is the only place I will stay. Especially since alot of the hotels are having bed bug issues....Napili Village is 100% bed bug free, they even have papers to show it. I am sooo afraid of bed bugs, and with this place you can be sure. Just a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saralsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have stayed now at Napili Village 4 years, and have been coming to Maui for 9. I don't know why, but we keep trying other places...and we always like this one the best. Now I will no longer try other places. I have stayed at: Napili Shores (great views, only rock beach, expensive), Westin Kaanapali (my 9 year old daughter hated it and that is why we stayed there), Westin Kaanapali Villages (what!!!! you put me up at a unit with NO BALCONY and right by the road!!!! OMG), Kihei Akahi (fine for the low $$), Maui/Makena Prince (did like this but not cheap and no kitchen), Norwegian Cruise Line (forget this one, terrible, horrific service!), The Mauian (nice karma, liked it, but not worth the extra money and not a great ocean view). And my cousins always stay at the Hale Napili, great, right on the beach but no pool and an older crowd vs those with kids stay there.

Net net - who would like this? Value conscious people, those with kids (great beach and nice low key pool), those who care more about Maui and the beach vs the resort and pools, people who want it easy and laid back. It is not right by the beach, but it is closer to the beach than when we stayed at either Westins, beach front resorts! I can easily afford to spend more, and keep doing so, but we keep liking this place the best. Great sunset views by the beach, my favorite beach in the world (more fun per square inch per Maui Revealed), good not great (but close to great locations) for snorkeling, turtles, safe and fun beach surfing/playing for everyone including kids, nice friendly people both staff and guests. They do not have the "Westin Heavenly beds" but they are OK, the pillows were a bit lumpy but OK, the maintenance is not perfect, but well worth the price, $139 per night vs you now what the bigger, more impersonal resorts are.

What more can I say, I love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anniemoltchanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed there 5 days in February 2007 and two weeks in 2010. Units were typically occupied by individual owners or guests returning year after year. Excellent value. With only 24 units condos, you are not an anonymous number. Relatively quiet. A short walk (50-metres) from the beach. A 5 minute drive to a small shopping centre. Friendly and most helpful managers (Rick and Alissa). High-speed Internet $2/day. On site Snorkel Bob’s shop with helpful and knowledgeable staff. Also on site a general store with all the essentials from suntan lotion to milk to liquor. Highly recommended to those who don’t need luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fgingras47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We spent a week in #19 at Napili Village and loved every minute of it. From the time we drove into the very cute complex, to opening the door to our adorable studio, my husband and I felt totally at home here, and so did our 2 year old daughter. We are well-traveled and though we don't require anything fancy, I do enjoy a place with a good vibe (can't think of a better word), and this place has it. Lots of lush foliage, a pretty and sparkling clean pool, a fun little general store with lots of Hawaiian tchoctkes and other stuff you need (wine, sunblock, etc). Plus, the very short walk to the lovely beach was a great part of our day, my daughter loved the outdoor shower on the walk home every day. At $139 a night, with no hidden fees or mystery taxes, I think this place is the best deal in Maui.

For us the distance to Lahaina was no big deal. We made the trip into "town" every day to go to Safeway or Starbucks, or just to get out and see other places, and it was a fun, easy drive. I never noticed much traffic. It was always great to get back to Napili and our own lovely little beach.

I totally recommend this place to budget-conscious travelers who want something fun and homey. The owner/managers are helpful but unobtrusive, and you have a lot of privacy. We made our own coffee and the Sat. breakfast was just okay (pastries from the local market) but a nice way to chat with the other guests. We met a lot of nice people, many of whom were return guests, and even condo owners.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SFgal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Our family of four stayed in unit 6A, which had a great view of the garden / pool area and peek-a-boo view of the ocean. The unit is a small basic apartment that is adequately sized if you're not planning to spend a lot of time in the unit (which should be the case - you're on Maui!). The unit is at the far end of the building so you don't have people walking past your door. The laundry unit is two floors under 6A and you'll find a book exchange there too. The breeze was good and cooled the room sufficiently so A/C was not needed (though is available). The housekeeping service and management were very nice and helpful.

The three beds were decent with adequate sheets. The kitchen is very small, but usable, and is supplied with basic utensils and dishes, and here is no dishwasher.

The birds chorus from 4 to 6 AM: a very tropical ambiance. A community breakfast is served weekly, usually on the busier days. The road was nearby, but noise wasn't too bad because of a large hedge, there isn't much traffic, and traffic isn't usually very fast.

The pool was nice and Napili Beach is world-class and particularly family friendly -- the best I've been to on Maui or Kauai. Some pool and beach accessories may be available from the front desk for the asking.

A Snorkle Bob shop is on site and has decent rates, particularly given the convenience. There is also a beauty salon and a general store.

Be sure to take a trip north to the Nakalele blow hole. Also be sure to have "to die for" ice cream at the natural food store (the name I have forgotten), which is around the 3600 block of Lower Honoapiilani Rd, on the west side.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We just returned from another great trip to Maui and Napili Village. The location is perfect for us. It's 50 yards from beautiful Napili Bay where you can hang out, boogie board and snorkel. Napili Village will provide you with both beach chairs and beach towels. The managers, Alissa and Rick are very accommodating. Amelia, the housekeeper in Building B, is the best. She has taken care of us for 10 years and she's always one of our favorite parts of our vacation.

It's a 15-20 minute drive to Lahaina but that is part of the charm. We stayed in Unit 19 this year and it was nicely decorated. The owners for Unit 18 were staying at their unit and showed us the remodel they had just finished. The new showers in both Unit 18 and Unit 19 are nice and spacious. The units are studios with a pullout divider to divide the room if you want to seperate the room. Having daily housekeeping (except for Sunday) is a favorite of mine. As a mother, it's nice to have someone take care of me on my vacation! But if you do need laundry facilities while you are visiting they have a laundry room on site.

Don't miss the farmer's market on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. The Coffee Store in Napili Plaza makes a latte that is one of the best I have ever had. Or if you want coffee at your unit the Ohana (family) room has coffee available from 7am-10am. If you have kids, don't miss the local craft show at Napili Plaza held three times a week. Napili Market also has great souvenirs at very reasonable prices. Sometimes even less than Hilo Hattie and the ABC stores.

While Napili Village isn't the Ritz they don't market themselves as the Ritz either. It's definitely a nice relaxing location with beautifully kept gardens and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TahoeTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.3 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
8.4 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 31 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.1 km away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
0.4 km away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#23 of 31 in Lahaina
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Village

Address: 5425 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napili Palms is one of the best kept secrets on Maui. This privately owned condo is only a few steps from the famous Napili Bay Beach. This property is a garden setting with local orchids, plumeria, hibiscus, bananas, mangos and papayas. Relax by the pool viewing the gracious palms. Dine on your private lanai or poolside. Stroll to the beach and enjoy the breathtaking sunset at Napili Bay between the islands of Lanai and Molokai. Napili General Store is on site to meet your every need for an island vacation. Snorkel Bob's is also on site to arrange all your island activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Napili Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Village Hotel Lahaina
Napili Village Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing