We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing resort with true Hawaiian ambience..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great relaxing resort with true Hawaiian ambience..”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights at this resort (March 11 - March 15, 2012).

Coming from Las Vegas, we arrived by shuttle (Diamond Head Vacation Tours, exceptional service by the way) at around midnight!

We felt relaxed and excited at the same time!

The resort is what you expect for Hawaii,lots of timber (check out the timber ceilings), open and fresh. Our room (fifth floor) had ocean views. The decor was timber and modern, yet tropical! Happily for us there was a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities (although no milk, only packet whitener)! Having come from Las Vegas withvno fridge and no tea/coffee making facilities in your room - this was just great! Although, they do not use a kettle in Hawaii, they use a coffee percolator to boil water (odd, and we only could boil one cup at a time!) They should invest in a small kettles for each room (just for us Aussies) and maybe some small long life milk!

The next morning we awoke to a beautiful view (incorporating villas and part of the the huge golf course that winds through the resorts of Lahaina below)! We dined on the buffet breakfast downstairs (around $20 each), however we did have to wait about 10 - 15 minutes to get a table! The next day we came down earlier and the day after ordered room service!

The staff were all great, except for one bartender (from Colorado). He was a pretty miserable guy, only cheered up after we left a good tip! On that day, we (my sister and brother-in-law) sat at the bar for quite a few hours that afternoon (plenty of pina coladas in the actual pineapple cocktails and champagne were had), we all had a bite to eat for dinner and even got charged for an extra meal (about $12) that wasn't ours! However, our favourite bartender still didn't warm up until tipping time! The only reason we tipped good, was because there were other bartenders that assisted throughout the day and they were great, even ready to give us a bottle juggling show at one point in the day!

We took the free trolley (tipping recommended though) to the Whalers Village. There is a trolley timetable, but after a while holidaying in Hawaii, you will hear the term 'Hawaiian time'! The driver was about half hour late, but he made up for it in his humour and kindness on the trip! Whalers Village has some good shops and eatery places - a good day!

We hired a vehicle for two days (suggest you get in early to book a car, as they go very quickly). We drove the northern road into Kahului (worst road ever!), but best views ever. We drove up to the Haleakala Crater (National Park) about 10,000 ft above sea level. Great road, takes a few hours, scary at times (especially if you are used to driving on the right hand side of the road), not many road barriers - but definitely worth it (even the mild headache you might get from the elevation)! Hoping you get a good day, not much cloud like we did!

The next day we drove to Hana. There is 35 miles of winding road, and it takes about 3 hours to get there. We were disappointed with Hana (not much there, food was lousy too!). It only took about an hour and three quarters to get back, very windy roads and if you get motion sickness, suggest you take plenty of travalcalms! Lots of waterfall stops along the way and interesting lunch stops!

We were told the next day we should have kept driving past Hana back through the Haleakala National Park and that this drive was much better! Maybe next time...

On the way home to Kaanapali shores, we watched whales breaching in the late afternoon sun..amazing!

My husband and I loved Maui, we hope to return in a few years with our children. We both would love to retire there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dric3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,530
    1,421
    516
    264
    195
See reviews for
734
2,068
88
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our stay at the Royal Lahaina was great!! The tower rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a garden view room but it still had a partial oven view. The only two things I wouldn't recommend at this hotel is the restaurant for lunch or dinner. We ate the breakfast buffet that was $20 a person a it was amazing but the lunch and dinner food wasn't good. Also the Luau they offer is overpriced. They aay open bar and all you can eat food at the luau but the drinks are very watered down and the food isnt that great.The beach is right off the hotel and the grounds are amazing. They offer free morning yoga overlooking the ocean. It was a true Hawaii experience. I would definitely stay there again, I would just eat somewhere else and do a luau at another place. Wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rj1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a partial ocean view room which was fine and actually had a good view of the ocean (non golf course side). The room was clean and we always had plenty of towels.
The hotel pools are very basic and ordinary and there was no spa however the ocean directly out the front was clean and safe (one of the nicest beaches I've ever been to).
The car parks are super skinny so a compact car helps (it's also $10 a day).
There is no free wifi which was annoying too.
I'd also recommend booking any activities directly through the company eg helicopter tours as the staff at the hotel quoted way way more than what we actually paid.
Was overall good value... Obviously there is much nicer places available but you have to pay way more for them.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Loved waking up in the morning and watching the whales from the shore. We stayed in a ocean front cottage which was quiet and nice. I recommend valet parking so you get the welcome home at the gate and enjoy a glass of water with the pineapple slices while they go get your car. Only $5 more for valet well worth it. Friendly staff. Coconut pineapple cheesecake was fantastic. Favorite meal we had was on the patio off our cottage, we ordered room service and it was great. Great location and the trolley runs often. Close to Whalers village and it has a wonderful beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASJ146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent 7 nights here recently and it was wonderful. I had read some reviews and was a little concerned, however, it exceeded expectations. The service was stellar, the room was clean and modern and the grounds were beautiful. It's right on the beach for easy access and has a great location right in the middle of Kanapalli beach. It works for couples or families! Drinks and food are overpriced and watered down but that was our only complaint and minimal at that!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I got the Costco Package to Maui and we stayed at the Royal Lahaina. The package included daily breakfast, $200 food credit, a luau, a dinner cruise, a rental car, and free self parking.

Costco Package Review
We used everything included in the package.
Room 1124 that we got had an amazing view.
The breakfast was buffet and its pretty good. If we had to pay for it we probably wouldn't have since $40 for 2 people is pretty expensive.
They used the $200 food credit at the restaurant and at the ice cream shop. Keep in mind that you can use it towards a picnic basket you can order from them a day before. The picnic baskets are between $30 to $45.
The luau was really good and I would totally recommend it.
We opted for the dinner cruise instead of the dinner show and it was the highlight of our trip.
The rental car we got was a compact car that we valet parked the first night we got there but we self parked afterwards. There is plenty of parking if you come back before the luau.

Hotel Review
The pools were pretty small but who needs one when you have the ocean right in front of your hotel.
The hotel is a short walk from Black Rock a great place to go snorkeling.
Chris was the nicest person at the front desk.
The vanilla macadamia ice cream is really good.
The ham and cheese sandwiches are decent.
The ahi tacos are yummy.
The breakfast buffet is great if you get it included in your package.
Self parking is horrible during the luau.
Whalers Village is a short walk away.
The hotel is clean.
They have guest relations center where you can use the internet for 15 minutes and print out stuff that you might need.

Overall if we were to go back to Maui we would definitely stay at the Royal Lahaina.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower in room 1124 on the 11th floor and it had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mamayo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orion, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our partial ocean view room, which also looked out over a golf course, was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff, though friendly, seemed to have trouble getting the amount of towels and wash cloths correct. The lanai was not very private and was noisy because we were situated several floors up above a roof air conditioner. There was no screen in the door wall, even if you wanted to leave it open. The breakfast buffet was good, but pricy. We cut the cost in half by taking it for your entire stay, four days. I'm not sure why resorts like this feel it necessary to nickel & dime their guests with costs for WiFi internet and parking. There are 2 average pools with surrounding lawn space. The ocean beach area was not condusive to recreation with its posted warnings and heavy surf.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveDutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
0.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
1.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing