We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lahaina Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$331
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$687
US$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$420
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$459
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$270
US$249
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,362)
Filter reviews
4,362 results
Traveller rating
1,703
1,584
581
284
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,703
1,584
581
284
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagestower roomgarden cottagepineapple waterroyal scoopocean viewblack rockour honeymoonwhalers villagemain towerbreakfast buffetfree trolleybeach barwelcome homekaanapali beachbeautiful beachmai tais
Filter
Updating list...
2,586 - 2,591 of 4,362 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our stay at the Royal Lahaina was great!! The tower rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a garden view room but it still had a partial oven view. The only two things I wouldn't recommend at this hotel is the restaurant for lunch or dinner. We ate the breakfast buffet that was $20 a person a it was amazing but the lunch and dinner food wasn't good. Also the Luau they offer is overpriced. They aay open bar and all you can eat food at the luau but the drinks are very watered down and the food isnt that great.The beach is right off the hotel and the grounds are amazing. They offer free morning yoga overlooking the ocean. It was a true Hawaii experience. I would definitely stay there again, I would just eat somewhere else and do a luau at another place. Wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rj1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed in a partial ocean view room which was fine and actually had a good view of the ocean (non golf course side). The room was clean and we always had plenty of towels.
The hotel pools are very basic and ordinary and there was no spa however the ocean directly out the front was clean and safe (one of the nicest beaches I've ever been to).
The car parks are super skinny so a compact car helps (it's also $10 a day).
There is no free wifi which was annoying too.
I'd also recommend booking any activities directly through the company eg helicopter tours as the staff at the hotel quoted way way more than what we actually paid.
Was overall good value... Obviously there is much nicer places available but you have to pay way more for them.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Loved waking up in the morning and watching the whales from the shore. We stayed in a ocean front cottage which was quiet and nice. I recommend valet parking so you get the welcome home at the gate and enjoy a glass of water with the pineapple slices while they go get your car. Only $5 more for valet well worth it. Friendly staff. Coconut pineapple cheesecake was fantastic. Favorite meal we had was on the patio off our cottage, we ordered room service and it was great. Great location and the trolley runs often. Close to Whalers village and it has a wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASJ146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent 7 nights here recently and it was wonderful. I had read some reviews and was a little concerned, however, it exceeded expectations. The service was stellar, the room was clean and modern and the grounds were beautiful. It's right on the beach for easy access and has a great location right in the middle of Kanapalli beach. It works for couples or families! Drinks and food are overpriced and watered down but that was our only complaint and minimal at that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I got the Costco Package to Maui and we stayed at the Royal Lahaina. The package included daily breakfast, $200 food credit, a luau, a dinner cruise, a rental car, and free self parking.

Costco Package Review
We used everything included in the package.
Room 1124 that we got had an amazing view.
The breakfast was buffet and its pretty good. If we had to pay for it we probably wouldn't have since $40 for 2 people is pretty expensive.
They used the $200 food credit at the restaurant and at the ice cream shop. Keep in mind that you can use it towards a picnic basket you can order from them a day before. The picnic baskets are between $30 to $45.
The luau was really good and I would totally recommend it.
We opted for the dinner cruise instead of the dinner show and it was the highlight of our trip.
The rental car we got was a compact car that we valet parked the first night we got there but we self parked afterwards. There is plenty of parking if you come back before the luau.

Hotel Review
The pools were pretty small but who needs one when you have the ocean right in front of your hotel.
The hotel is a short walk from Black Rock a great place to go snorkeling.
Chris was the nicest person at the front desk.
The vanilla macadamia ice cream is really good.
The ham and cheese sandwiches are decent.
The ahi tacos are yummy.
The breakfast buffet is great if you get it included in your package.
Self parking is horrible during the luau.
Whalers Village is a short walk away.
The hotel is clean.
They have guest relations center where you can use the internet for 15 minutes and print out stuff that you might need.

Overall if we were to go back to Maui we would definitely stay at the Royal Lahaina.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower in room 1124 on the 11th floor and it had an amazing view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mamayo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews