We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover spot for a few days on way to Hana and beyond”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We LOVED this spot! Clean and pretty rooms with just enough amenities, pleasant courtyard, close walking to wonderful shopping! Close to nearly deserted beaches too. I got outfitted with new swim suit, flipflops, excellent seafood dinner and yoga, all set for the rest of vacation. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitnfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Paia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Likewise as other recent reviewer, we stayed in room 9 (mini suite). Would love to give a great review as we really liked the people and they try very hard to make the stay wonderful. However have to agree with all that the other reviewer said - many areas not very clean, no counterspace in bathroom, terrible Internet connection, etc. Plus the cushions on the loungers by the beach were covered and stained with bird doo-doo and we needed a towel to cover them. On a positive note, liked the fact that it wasn't cookie-cutter style accommodations, had character, very comfy beds, very nice people, great location, nice touch to have towels and cold beverages down by the beach area. The omelette was delicious in the morning but would have liked to have our complimentary wine the night we checked in in a wine glass, not a plastic cup (small detail). Overall was a neat experience but rather pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent a week in Maui, we did the Kaanapali resort experience the first part of the week and enjoyed that, but the human touch that this inn provided was what made the second half of our week. We had a junior suite with the town view. Super nice room with a great bed, a nice shower (with great hair care stuff) and an extra room to just hang out in (with pull-out). The street view would have been a bit much since it has it has street noises that accompany it, but they had thought ahead and had a sound machine in the room which was great. The private beach entrance and the chairs and boogie board, you could borrow, were great. We really enjoyed this Inn, the town and the staff.

Room Tip: I would pick the same room again.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The location of this hotel is great for exploring Paia, and there is nice access to the beach.

It pains me to write a poor review, so please understand I am not a bitter or picky traveler. The owners and staff seem like great people with good intentions. There are unfortunately some shortcomings with this property, which I hope are addressed. I do my research and most of my reviews are positive.

The room we had was a letdown. The bed and furnishings were wonderful. We were in room #9, a junior suite-garden view. The entrance is uninviting. There’s storage and an ugly hose right in front of the entrance. The bedroom window also looks right into the storage unit (weird). No garden view here. The room has a full kitchen, which was nice but in need of upgrading. The bathroom was a strange layout with no counter space and a cheap tiny shower stall. Not what you would expect in a hotel marketed as funky and upscale.

The patio for this room was also an afterthought. It was dirty and run down with a missing screen on the door to the bedroom. The door itself also stuck, so was not easy to open. In the patio area were two metal chairs and a table with peeling paint, a broken fountain, dying plants from the lack of light, and exposed utilities.

WIFI never worked right either. It got annoying to complain about every day.

To the hotel’s credit they were open to our suggestions and feedback through an on-line survey. They even gave us a token credit as they agreed with the shortcomings of this unit. It was not worth the money we spent unfortunately. Hope to see the remodel and more accurate photos of each room on their site.

Room Tip: Ask for specific details about your room. Do not select room #9, unless there has been a major remo...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravelerKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We actually own place on Hana Hwy - but stayed one night here before flying home...love love love it....we have recommended to people based on other peoples word and now know what they mean. Beautiful Tina, beautiful room, amazing beach, beautiful property, delicious breakfast,
Great computer, lounge, reading room. Felt completely taken care of. Room decorated very nice. Bed super comfortable. Woke up to the smell of Flatbread pizza ovens warming...great place to eat btw...we love this area (obviously) and highly recommend to stay here...I know we will treat ourselves again!
Try Fish Market accross street. Great shopping too! Sophia Grace for handmade jewelry.
Visit the prayer wheel blessed by the Dalilama...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missmarthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Loved this Hotel!! It was our favorite hotel during our stay. The staff was amazing and our room was magical. The beach was easy to get too and we had calm waters. Paia has the best food and atmosphere for our style and this place extended everything we loved about the city. It is a little expensive but after comparing to the other hotels, it was worth every penny. Our friends went after our trip and it was their favorite as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Paia Inn for just one night on the way to Hana on Maui. This is a small boutique hotel that just sounded so quaint online that we decided to try it. We got their least expensive room because it was the cheapest, even though it looked quite small in the photo and the hotel itself suggested we might want to upgrade to a slightly larger room. But we figured for one night it didn't matter.....and it didn't! This little hotel was delightful! Paia is a tiny town known for its "hippie", laid back style, and is a tourist draw so it is always very crowded. That was true at the hotel also. I think they only have 6 rooms in total, and very little space to park in back so it is OK to park behind the person who got there before you, and you just give your keys to the person at the desk so they can move the cars around if need be. The room was small but just fine for the two of us. Tiny little bathroom, just big enough for a toilet and shower. Bed was probably just a double but fine for the two of us and VERY comfortable. Little touches everywhere, from the classy furnishings to the paintings on the walls everywhere. Tina, the beautiful young lady at the desk (in the back of the building, not the front) helped us with our bags and made us feel right at home. It is just a short walk out the back of the building down to the beach with its spectacular views of the north shore of Maui and we even saw a whale spout off in the distance. The next morning in the cute little patio out back, the good-looking chef cooked up a great spinach omelette for us before we hit the road for our two day trip to Hana. This hotel is not cheap, but nothing in Paia is cheap, so I would splurge a bit and try this out.

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms, but I believe ours was the smallest available.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
44.9 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
30.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
27.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,146 reviews
27.2 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,005 reviews
25.7 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range: $264 - $1,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing